Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 156
  • 4 star 9
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 156 Reviews
Connie Pender   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 20, 2022

Email Connie Pender  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Adventure Travel
5/5

Speke Uganda Holidays made my trip worry free. Everything was well organized and professional. My guide and hotel were four star service. I recommend this company for gorilla trekking in Uganda. It was a spectacular adventure.

Andreas   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2022

Email Andreas  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect tour guide and knowledge about the animals
5/5

Communication and service could not be better during our trip in Uganda!

Roxy and Cy   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2022

Email Roxy and Cy  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Unforgettable experience with incredible guides
5/5

We went to Uganda for our honeymoon to see the Gorillas, Chimps, whitewater raft the source of the Nile etc. We have travelled to many countries due to working on a yacht however Uganda was one of our favourite holidays ever, made even more memorable by the knowledgeable, friendly guides we had from Speke Uganda Holidays. Our main guide for the trip was Nelson and he was a wealth of knowledge! He made us feel welcomed and nothing was ever too much to ask. We would highly recommend Speke to anyone looking to go to Uganda!

Michael   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 8, 2022

Email Michael  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Everything was done as good as possible.
5/5

The tour gives a perfect overview of the landscapes and wildlife, that we wanted to see in Uganda:
Ziwa-Rheno-Sanctuary, Murchison Falls N.P. with elephants, giraffes, buffalos, hippos, crocodiles and lots of antilopes and different birds,
Kibale N.P. with a fantastic visit to the chimpanzees, Bigodi with a very interesting visit in the extraordinary friendly community and the fantastic swamp with red-tailed monkeys, the beautifull landscape at Lake Bunyonyi, the Bwindi N.P. with the really amazing Gorilla-trekking and finally in Ruanda the wonderfull landscapes of the volcanoes and Lake Kivu.
All chosen lodges were very nice with perfect service and good meals, including vegetarian food.
Communication was very easy, especialy because our guide Robert speaks very good German and knows a lot about culture, nature and wildlife in Uganda and Ruanda.

Ken and Tim   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 4, 2022

Email Ken and Tim  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Africano, our guide was excellent and Speke Uganda Holidays was exceptional in service and value!
5/5

From our arrival at Entebbe International Airport, we were greeted with warmth and kindness by the Speke Uganda Holidays staff. This was our first visit to the "Pearl of Africa" and our guide throughout the tour, Africano, offered us so much educational support in understanding the culture of the people and the beauty of the wildlife. We visited several savannas at National Parks (i..e. Queen Elizabeth, Lake Mburo, Murchinson's Falls) and two rainforests (Kibale and Bwindi) where we were able to see up close and personal the various animals that roam freely in their natural habitats. Africano provided us details about each animal and the ecosystems, and since we were primarily intrigued by the Chimps and Mountain Gorillas, we felt blessed to learn about his many years of working as a park ranger at Kibale. We also thoroughly enjoyed being able to eat at local restaurants while on the road and Africano went above and beyond to introduce us to a variety of regional cuisines and even one of the freshest "Rolex" (rolled eggs) breakfast treats along the way. The eco-lodges did their very best to provide reusable resources so we rarely saw a plastic bottle of water and even used cloth napkins at our meals. The places we stayed along the way either grew their own food (tours of the lodge's gardens is a hidden highlight!) or purchased food from local villages, and the food was over the top delicious every step of the way. I finally had a lifelong dream of experiencing gorilla and chimp trekking and Africano shared the populations of these endangered species is increasing (in part, thanks to a lull in tourism during the covid pandemic) due to ongoing conservation efforts. I highly recommend Speke Uganda Holidays and if you are a conservationist, an animal lover who wants to see these beautiful creatures somewhere beside a zoo or sanctuary, this is the place to visit and Speke Uganda Holidays is the tour company to hire.

Birgit   –  
Austria AT
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 3, 2022

Email Birgit  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A perfect tour operator for the Uganda experience
5/5

We chose to travel to Uganda because about 20 years ago we were in Borneo and saw wild orang-utans. This was a very impressive adventure. Therefore we decided we want to see other primates, too. Uganda is the right spot because it has not only chimpanzee and gorilla trekkings but it is also rich of other species such as giraffes, elephants, rhinos, lions, leopards, hippos, other monkeys, uncountable types of birds and much more. In addition, the people are friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed seeing farmers and villages but also the bubbling markets in the larger cities.
Communication is easy in English, though some guides even speak excellent German. We found it important to know that you should have some smaller bills in Uganda shillings and in US dollars because you often tip people and not everybody is happy about one or the other.
We never had a moment when we felt unsafe. Our guide Isaac is an excellent driver and very eager to care for every comfort that is possible. I had the idea to buy raw, unroasted coffee and he made it possible. We wanted to visit a market and see the products people sell - he made it possible. I said that I do not like fellow tourists who are noisy and shy away the animals we want to watch. Magically, we had very quiet nice fellow tourists in our trekking groups ...
There is simply nothing negative I could say about our Uganda experience. It is a great country with wonderful people and an unbelievable variety of animals.

Prof. Dr. J. Michael   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 29, 2022

Email Prof. Dr. J. Michael  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Smart and great
5/5

Great journey starting with planning a fantastic tour to Uganda by DIAMIR Erlebnisreisen Germany und Speke Uganda Holidays while feeling comfortable with the program, especially the Chimpanzee and Mountain Gorilla tracking. All over awesome impressions to the wildlife, nature und culture of Uganda, the tour guide supported exceptionally our trip.

Hans -F. Schoeneich   –  
Germany DE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 11, 2022

Email Hans -F. Schoeneich  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very friendly people in Your country and Nkuringo lodge and the national park and Speke tours
5/5

We were very happy with the guidance and help of Speke tours especially with your excellent driver

Taylor   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 31, 2022

Email Taylor  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

My #1 Choice
5/5

I have traveled to many countries, and my biggest concern is always being taken advantage of (financially) or getting incredibly lost from one major location to the next. Speke Uganda allowed us to truly experience our trip with no concerns regarding the nitty gritty. We could enjoy each day with the confidence we would get where we needed to be, learn what we needed to learn, see some incredibe things, and become immersed in the culture. Every employee we interacted with was knowledgeable, friendly, and created a safe and inviting atmosphere. I loved being able to sit back and just enjoy this amazing trip. Thank you to Africano and the crew!

Simon and Maxine Ward   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 28, 2022

Email Simon and Maxine Ward  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Speke Uganda: reliable, excellent choice for the best safari experience, top guides too!
5/5

We booked our trip with Speke Uganda for 2020 and finally made it in 2022! All the park permits booked for 2020 were honored in 2022. Our itinerary ran smoothly, and our excellent guide Africano briefed us each night on the plan for the next day. Africano worked very hard to ensure that we saw the animals we planned for. Special thanks for a close up encounter with a leopard! The accommodation was good, the food excellent and everyone we met very welcoming. Getting close to Gorillas in Uganda and Rwanda was a special couple of days, but each day brought a different experience. When we had spare time a local guide was found to take us on some really interesting long walks, the Nile Congo way was especially memorable. Overall the trip was excellent, really good value for money and a very special experience, thoroughly recommended.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 156
  • 4 star 9
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Speke Uganda Holidays, not SafariBookings