Reviews

Average User Rating
4.4/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 21
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 26 Reviews
Stephen Kirby   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 24, 2022

Email Stephen Kirby  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Sunway Safaris make dreams a reality
5/5

Superbly organised safari.
Great interaction with our guides,fabulous knowledge of animals etc.The wild camping was a
terrific experience sitting around the fire at nights hearing the animals and
seeing the star filled skies.Food prepared was extremely good,catered
for all tastes.Everyone helped each other.To see wild animals in their natural habitat and absorbing the
grandeur of the landscape was a dream come true,thank you Sunway.
Value for money 10/10
BT14 tour,28th August-10 September

Nancy and Michal Bardecki   –  
Canada CA
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2022

Email Nancy and Michal Bardecki  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Awesome; everything we had hoped for and more
5/5

We took the 16 day accommodated Game Tracker through South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana. We enjoyed every day of our trip. It was our first safari and so everything was new to us; we never tired of seeing the birds and animals and even just driving though the countryside.

Our guides Chris and Joseph were outstanding. They always gave us a briefing about what to expect the next day, after dinner in the evening. They provided a wealth of information about the birds, animals, the culture and the landscape and even the economies of the countries we visited.

We had a nice mix off meals in lodges/restaurants and meals made by the guides. Everything was delicious and by and large very healthy as well. While we were in Okavango, we had koodoo (farmed, not wild) stew.

The lodges selected by Sunway were great- very comfortable and they usually had very nice grounds that were good for bird watching.

Some of the restaurants are still learning about the logistics of serving customers and getting them their bills. But the guides are aware of this and so we usually placed our orders ahead of time so there were not long delays getting our meals.

We absolutely detest camping, so we were not big fans of the accommodation in the Okavango Delta. If you like camping, it would be great. But anyway, we loved the whole Okavango experience. It was definitely worth any shortcomings with the accommodation.

The local guides selected by Sunway for the most part were excellent. for example, our guide for Thebes River in Botswana seemed to know exactly how to position the boat and the safari vehicle to get the best pictures.

Our favourite parts of the trip were the Thebes River cruise and game drive and the salt pan (for the birds).

The vehicle we used to get from venue to venue was called the red elephant. It is a custom designed truck. The seating was comfortable and you got good views from the windows. We always had snacks available, mostly local fruits.

Of course what everyone goes on a safari for is the animals. We got great views of lions, buffalo, hippos, elephants, rhinos, giraffes, koodoos, impala, monkeys and much more in many of the places we visited.

The Sunway trip was great value and we would definitely consider another trip with Sunway

James   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2012 Reviewed: May 8, 2021

Email James  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Good Company
5/5

Hint: other travelers will love reading about your experience of the communications, service, value for money, reliability and the tour itsel

Lorraine   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 14, 2020

Email Lorraine  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing adventure across South Africa
5/5

I did the rainbow route and it was amazing! Our tour guides Jeff and Norman were the best! They should really be chefs, as their cooking was fantastic! They always did everything in their power to ensure everyone was happy

Jens and Anett   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Nov 28, 2019

Email Jens and Anett  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Not again in this way !
3/5

1.Vehicle:
"The vehicle was more suitable for a short-term off-road tour. Definitely not for a longer tour! Seats as in a 3rd class rail wagon – plastic cover (very suitable for sweating at outdoor temperatures at 40 °C and without air conditioning (defective from the beginning/–no armrests/-no adjustable backrests! With up to 10 hours in the vehicle you can already get problems with the intervertebral discs. We have seen the same design equipped in a different way! Furthermore, the vehicle was very under-motorized, which was very noticeable on mountainous routes! Temporarily defective freezer box! Cleanliness left a lot to be desired. I personally took the brooms in my hand! Discs were not cleaned throughout. "So there can be no question of comfortable travel here.

2.Supply
"We are proud to offer our travelers high quality, tasty and healthy meals three times a day." –Statement from Sunway Safaris in the travel text!
One of the most disappointing experiences of the trip was the supply. Unfortunately, only finished products packaged in the supermarket were purchased on a low-cost basis. (e.g. canned vegetables and canned fruit) Lots of pork products! I tried to shop with myself. It worked out sometimes. If there were fresh bread rolls instead of pre-packaged toast bread, the baker bought them and then what was not eaten was also given away. But then in the same breath bought in the supermarket cardboard packaged toast bread. Fresh fish was supposedly bought from the boat in front of our nose for us, but we haven't seen it! Repackaged marinated fish from the supermarket was served! Fresh fruit from the village farmer was basically not bought! Why always? Better supermarket products again! We did so ourselves in part. We then tried to buy some decent beef steaks/kudu or impala in private shops of the reserves. Then we realized what we wanted. It didn't help much. It is important to think more healthily and, above all, to buy higher-quality products as described above all. We have experienced and seen directly that it is possible and there is everything. It may not have been due to the costs either, since the prices were quite reasonable. Maybe everything has to go fast. "Furthermore, the great loss of time due to constant shopping in the supermarkets was not comprehensible to us! 1-1.5 hours, sometimes almost daily. If I know that long distances have to be driven, then I get my things in time and leave accordingly earlier! Conclusion: The care was like a camping holiday corresponding to a youth trip. But it shouldn't be like that. They were all adult people!

The country has so much good and, above all, tasty things to offer. We could not understand and accept this approach on the part of Sunways.

3.Itin' itinerary - Sunway Safari hasn't been able to get the organization of the Soweto tour for us! Started in Johannesburg, where the start was to take place at 6:30 a.m. We were especially rather there to accept the desired briefing in time. After more than 1, 5 hours later, the departure took place. We should feel the loss of time. • Very long journey to the 1st accommodation Zululand. Unfortunately we couldn't do anything there anymore, because we arrived very late! (The loss of time from the morning) Actually very bad, because this accommodation and surroundings was very nice. Why we had to drive around the next day again in order to get to a supermarket remains a mystery. About 1.5 hours stay at a gas station to shop in the supermarket. Again a loss of time and unusable time of our holiday. This went on almost every day! Very late breakfast and late departure to the next station. • Arriving in the direction of Kosi Bay, there was no way to do anything, as the darkness had already arrived. What a pity! E.g. kayaking was not possible. Also in the direction of Swaziland we left very late in Kosi Bay and arrived late in the accommodation despite fast border clearance. Again, no time to do anything else. Beautiful accommodation, but no use! Very nice environment. Highly recommended for follow-up tours. Again a very late departure (8:30 a.m.) the next day. •
In Maputo again late arrival! There was not much time left to see something of the city. Quick sightseeing tour with the tour bus! Then to the Hotel Cardoso which should be kept in any case! Very good level and above all a very good breakfast. We organized a taxi and drove to a restaurant on the beach! Highly recommended! We also had no concerns about any problems with locals or criminals! Even during the night tour in the area, we did not have a negative experience. (certainly it always depends on the area) We felt everything very safe and got to know very friendly people. "Take back, relax and enjoy the warm sea water and the wide white beaches. Boat tour in the Dhau, a traditional wooden sailboat of Arabic design, fishing, snorkeling, surfing or diving between paradisiacal coral reefs are also possible (own cost)". This is such a real advertising slogan! There can be no talk of relaxation and enjoyment! Boat tour with Dhau? Not a chance! Good accommodation- Yes. But nothing more. Going far too far - benefit - effort-ratio was just not right. • Again the whole route back towards Bilene. Attention! Bilene with lagoons description was not approached -First in the tour bus we were told that we would stay somewhere else! Sand dune landscape very nice! Accommodation good! Restaurant very good! But there was nothing to do with swimming! Not a calm lagoon, but very high waves in the sea! Again nothing as it was actually described! That's it with the beach tour-without swimming! Because this stretch of coast is something for surfers and anglers! You could have used the mini pool for a short time! But take on these hardships? So the disappointment took its course. In addition, my wife
because of your injury had been looking forward to the lagoon to go into the water. Joy there!
Then continue towards the South Africa border to Kruger NP. Unfortunately, without looking to the right or left, it was really snapped to reach the next destination (border) as quickly as possible. There was something to photograph on the left and right (LandscapeNative bush hut dwellers and so on. But both (driver and guide) lacked the sensitivity that could be interesting or you just didn't want to stop in some places. (Safety concerns ?– we can't imagine) " In the Kruger itself we arrived again very late in the Letaba camp (by the way the worst and smallest accommodation). It was again just a quick quick – process until the night safari! Making food (I helped yourself otherwise it would have become very tight) in the dark! Showers and go! Rest and relaxation - out of place! The next morning on to the nearest accommodation Makuwa Lodge. Driving and driving! Surely we have also seen animals! Luckily! • Arrival also late! No more activities possible! Makuwa Lodge is highly recommended and also has a decent level and very friendly operators. Last day – without the planned activities - just didn't happen-Just go back to Johannesburg!

4. Driver and Guide
Driver -JoJo: - very good attentive, safe and friendly driver-very helpful
Guide – Ferell:-- a lot of knowledge is available - not always easy to understand - should work on its exterior - partly very dirty clothing - should deal with time management. When shopping, take a more thoughtful approach and shop more health-consciously! Especially not at the time of the travelers, who then only sit around at parking spaces and petrol stations! Maybe camping is closer to him. He had already made this known in person.

Overall conclusion:
The journey wasn't the hit. For the fact that you are sitting almost only in an uncomfortable vehicle and actually have very little of the destinations reached, we would not want to do this tour again in this form. The price-performance ratio just wasn't right. Neither from the course of the tour nor from the supply. In hindsight and the current findings, a self-driving tour (even with a driver) would have been possible without hesitation. (Have hit some on the way) You would also have coped very well in terms of price! The road conditions definitely gave that away. For us, it was like a Paris-Dakar rally. Reach intermediate destinations as quickly as possible and then continue. Just to say I was there once? That was not our idea and it was not really intended and, above all, not described.
In addition, my daily help, with breakfast, packing and tidying up, didn't really help anything. The Routine has been retained! Very annoying!

Anna and family   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 18, 2019

Email Anna and family  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful safari, perfect organization, knowledgeable guide
5/5

We recently returned from a safari through South Africa and Mozambique, including stops in Zululand and Swaziland. This was our first trip to South Africa, so it was not without some trepidation. Well, our holiday was up to, and actually exceeded, all our expectations. The places visited, accommodations, activities, food and general organization were excellent. Our guide, Clinton J Venter, did everything to make this trip amazing. He was really professional and knowledgeable of wildlife, and at the same time friendly and good humored. A perfect driver. We've always felt safe! I would highly recommend this trip to everyone. Thank you Sunway Safaris for excellent organization, we'll travel with you again.

Ulli and Thomas from Austria   –  
Austria AT
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 2, 2019

Email Ulli and Thomas from Austria  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great safari, bush walks and hiking!
5/5

Our hiking tour through South Africa, Swasiland an Zululand was wonderful. Our guides Colly and Cloud from Sunway did a fantastic job spotting moving rocks as animals from far away, sharing all their huge knowledge about wild animals, history and living conditions with us and showing us very beatiful scenery on our hiking tours. They are very kind guys, well organised, excellent cooks and deal with all upcoming questions in a way everybody can feel well.
The accomodations were fine, it´s a good idea to stay two nights and than move on to the next. The small group of five made the bus to our mobile living room.
Thank you so much for the gorgeous experience!

B.N.   –  
Germany DE
Visited: April 2019 Reviewed: May 11, 2019

Email B.N.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

First time and very recommandable !!!
5/5

Just back from an unforgettable Sunway-Safaris Tour to Okavango Delta and Victoria Falls with German speaking, perfect guide Wouter („as almost a part of the group“, always available and left no questions open) Driver William also a very experienced, carefully driver.
Because both of them, we have discoverd the „Big Five“ at the first days already.
Our „Red Elephant“ (Safari Chariot) was perfect suited for all "challenges".
Thanks for the great time, will recommand to others !

Sybille   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Dec 4, 2018

Email Sybille  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Authentic wildlife adventure - over expectations!
5/5

At the beginning of November, I joined the Botswana Wildside Camping Safari (14 days). It was a magnificent trip starting in Johannesburg, passing some of Botswana’s national parks and ending in Livingston to visit the Victoria Falls. It was a well-organized and divers program – game drives and camping in remote areas as well as cultural interaction in the cities. One of my favourite points was the journey in a traditional makoro (narrow dugout canoe) to an island in the Okavango Delta, an enormous wetland area with pristine wilderness. Traveling in small groups was a major benefit to simplify the processes – it was more like a family than a group.

8 of 14 days we did some wild camping in the national parks. This was an authentic wildlife feeling with extended game drives in the morning and evening (siesta in the afternoon due to the heath). We were very lucky that we saw a big variety of animals and got plenty of time to observe them in detail. Please note that there is quite a bit of time spent in the vehicle (game drives, travel time…) but the seats are comfortable and the landscape is varied. So time is running fast. The meals made on the campfire were delicious and contained many fresh ingredients (tasty alternatives for vegetarians). Even in the outback, we had simple facilities (bucket shower every second day and bush toilets). Camping equipment, cooking tools and vehicle were in good conditions.

Local and experienced guides make a huge contribution to the success of a trip. Our guides/drivers were outstanding and complemented each other. Farai and Moses, our lovely guides, have profound knowledge in the field of wildlife, country-specific features and African traditions. They took care of us and showed us their countries from the best side. Farai was responsible for the overall organisation and the cooking part whereas Moses drives us through the landscape. Moses is a professional Botswana guide with big experience and true hospitality. Besides reliable driving, he showed us the (hidden) spots where we could track games and give in-depth background information. ET was the driver of the backup track with the kitchen and our baggage. That’s a responsible task as well. With his friendly manner, he was part of the group and helped to set up the campsite or to break down before leaving.

Thanks to the people that make this trip amazing! I’m looking back to great trip and an unforgettable experience. It was an authentic wildlife experience - this sounds like an advertisement but it’s the truth. I would highly recommend this tour to my friends.

Silke   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2018 Reviewed: Aug 13, 2018

Email Silke  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Botswana Wild Side
5/5

We had an absolutely amazing camping safari in Botswana with Sunway Safaris. It was extremely well organised and run very smoothly. Our main guide, Petros, was outstanding. He was extremely knowledgeable about the wild life and enabled us to have some interactions with wild elephants that were amazing. I felt safe and looked after all the way along. The time in the okavanga delta with the locals there was really special. I was very glad that we had Jame with his superb driving skills on these difficult roads. Food prepared by Petros and Dineo was delicious and I was very surprised about what you can cook on a campfire! The wildlife was wonderful - it's easier to list what we didn't see (a cheetah) than what we sae - we even saw a pack of wild dogs! We returned with many many magic memories. Thanks!

Average User Rating
4.4/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 21
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Sunway Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Sunway Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions