Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 217
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 16 Reviews
Alison Renfrew   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 28, 2023

Email Alison Renfrew  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The operator went out of their way to ensure we were happy clients.
4/5

I'm grateful to have had the experience of visiting Rwanda and Uganda. My husband and I live in NZ while our friends we travelled with were from New York. Our view is that a safari should last for about 3 hours. Then we should either return to a lodge and food, or, have a picnic that includes good food. Our friends from New York didn't care about food. They wanted the safari to last all day and go into the night. Some days the safaris lasted 7 hours. No food! No pee stops! I wasn't happy about this. Itn would have been tough to keep two entirely different couples happy. The guides were excellent. My husband and I were diagnosed with Covid and missed seeing the Chimpanzees in Rwanda. We tested again 24 hours later and were negative. Covid is another challenge. We were anxious about our fitness levels but a porter kindly hauled me along (for $20 US). Our hikes to see the gorillas and chimps in Uganda (after Rwanda) were short and manageable. The guides in both Rwanda and Uganda were very, very good people and would have done anything to ensure we had a memorable experience. I would have preferred a newer Toyota Land Cruiser and also morning and afternoon teas. Leaving a lodge at 6:30am, or earlier, and not returning until 1pm from a safari just doesn't fit with my blood sugar levels. I like to eat every 3 hours. There's more to life than searching for elusive lions and leopards. The lunches provided by the lodges were depressingly unpleasant. The evening meals were usually quite nice. Don't expect good quality wines. Sometimes I was offered 'box red dry or sweet, or box white dry or sweet. The lodge staff were magnificent. All the people we met were just delightful and no doubt marvelled at our petty little issues.

Andrea   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 22, 2022

Email Andrea  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Homes to Africa put the customers needs first.
4/5

Homes to Africa were recommended to us by a friend who had previously used them and they did not disappoint. From first contact they were efficient in responding and answering any questions we had.
On the tour we had Balam who was awesome! He catered to our needs and went that extra mile. His knowledge of the animals and locations was excellent.
Food and accommodation on the tour were excellent. Even with dietary requirements, they met all of our needs and more!
I would definitely recommend Homes to Africa for anyone in the future.

Pradeep   –  
India IN
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Jun 22, 2022

Email Pradeep  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Had a Fantastic trip
4/5

I had an amazing trip to Uganda.

The trip was planned in detail to perfection by Derrick.

I started the trip under the guidance of Balam .He was very knowledgeable and knew intricately the details of parks I had visited. He guided me to make the trip memorable. The accommodation selected was very good and I had a comfortable stay. My requirement of Vegetarian food was also met to my complete satisfaction.

I would like to thank the Home to Africa team to make my trip memorable.

The trip started with Ziwa Rhino sanctuary . Had a amazing Bird walk in Lugago swamp where we saw about 30 bird species. Then we had Rhino walk to see Rhinos at close quarters.

The Murchison Falls was amazing. The Water fall view at the Top of the falls should not be missed. We saw Lion, Leopards, Herds of Elephants and Buffaloes and many Antelope species. The highlight of the Trip was plenty of Giraffes. We also did a boat ride in the River to see many Hippo pods, crocodiles and animals coming to river for water. There is also plenty of Bird life.

I had chimp trek in Budango. It was a 4 hour trek in Dense jungle and the feel of we ( me and my guide ) surrounded by about 10-20 chimpanzees were amazing. The chimp on trees, walking around us, making prank at us was a life living moment.

I also had chimp trek in Kibale where the chimps are very closely habituated and came very near us. There were 3 chimps and we took plenty of photo of their antics.

This was followed by amazing the gorilla trek. We hiked in the dense rainforest amidst thick bushes, flowing streams, waterfalls. The hike was steep in the mountains and it was a very tough terrain. It was well worth it and we saw a family of 12 gorillas and spent about an hour with them. There was the silver back, some female gorillas, baby gorilla and adolescent gorillas. It was amazing to see them play, cuddle, reprimand, jump in trees, communicate with each other. It was one of the biggest moments of my life and feel blessed to see our close cousins in such close quarters.

On the same day night, I had Night safari in Lake Mburo. I saw two leopards hunting in the night. I also saw the glowing eyes of bush babies, Civets on the prowl, Hippos grazing along the Lake. It lasted about 2 1/2 hrs and we were back to the lodge for good night’s sleep.

The next day was a amazing bush walk into the jungle with the armed forest ranger. We first encountered a herd of buffaloes which my ranger said is dangerous and we moved into other direction. I saw bush bucks, Water bucks and Zebras in very close range and took many photos. The highlight of the trip was my coming close to giraffe family and seeing in close quarters the baby and adolescent Giraffes .The walk was for about 5 hours and I felt very refreshed.

Over all, the trip was very good and kudos to home of Africa Team for such a lovely trip

Charles   –  
Australia AU
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Apr 8, 2019

Email Charles  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Generally very caring personalized service provided by knowledgeable driver/guides and admin.
4/5

Home To Africa promptly provided answers to all our initial inquiries. They provided a personalized itinerary to meet our safari expectations and goals.
At times it felt like one of our driver guides was "clock watching" which meant we had to leave Ngorongoro Crater earlier than we would have liked in order to cope with the long drive to meet our time schedule.
Throughout the process, the communication was very good, the service excellent and the safari in total lived up to expectations.
I would recommend HTA as they try very hard to provide an experience that is memorable and achieves the clients' needs. Choice of accommodation was excellent and the food plentiful.
Thank you Elias and staff and our wonderful guide in Uganda - Karim - a real gentleman!

Niazi   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Mar 17, 2019

Email Niazi

Good
4/5

Uganda and Rwanda are amazing countries. Great people and good food and very affordable. Amazing landscapes, nature reserves and parks. We even saw the most elusive green breasted African pitta in kibale Forest. That was stunning. The holy grail bird for birders. As she is hardly ever seen even by ardent hardcore bird watchers. What luck we saw one and even took pictures. We had a blast with gorillas and even saw a leopard let alone lions and all. Time of our lives we had. And Rolex. Best food item We have ever had. Our guide Alex was lovely and tried very hard to accommodate anything we wanted and he sure did. Lovely experience.
Only drawback and was a MASSIVE ONE was that our car was a Toyota hiace wagon that was in shambles with no air conditioning and very uncomfortable so please in the future do ask about the car you will be provided with. For us it was a learning experience for sure so please make sure your future ride is a Toyota Land Cruiser minimum with working air conditioning.

Karen   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Jul 24, 2018

Email Karen  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

can’t in one sentence
4/5

Service: my tour guide, Karim, was terrific.. he absolutely became my friend.. and took terrific care of me to be sure everything was perfect as far as he was concerned! Above and beyond!

Home to Africa: disappointed in the stupid and ridiculous flight they booked me on to come home.. I had basically NOTHING to do in Entebbe for 30 plus hours /. I should have been on a one day earlier flight
And to tell me, the travel department thought I needed a day to rest.. that should have been my call especially since there is NOTHING to do in Entebbe.. the owner said he would check on why that happened.. still awaiting that response , even though that is 30 hours totally wasted and lost

It’s things like that that aren’t properly executed to leave a bad feeling

Michael   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Jan 13, 2018

Email Michael  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Well organized trip with friendly driver and friendly office staff.
4/5

Communication was excellent. Planning of the safari was easy. Money transfer however not very smooth.
Service during safari was excellent. Itinerary could have been improved. Visit to Pian Upe was not rewarding. Accommodation was good.
Tyres of car were old leading to flat tyres.
Wildlife sighting was good, Guide gave good explanations especially on birds.

Dario   –  
Italy IT
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Jan 9, 2018

Email Dario  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Good assistance, hlpful and available.
4/5

All booked services have been provided promptly. Driver worked hard and cooperated with us on the logistic issues we had.

Urai Chiramongkolgarn   –  
Thailand TH
Visited: October 2017 Reviewed: Dec 11, 2017

Email Urai Chiramongkolgarn  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It is OK.
4/5

Communications is OK. and your service is very good in my expectations. It's a good safari trip for everyone who like animals.
Thank you for your take care and service.

Chenwalee Tantikarn   –  
Thailand TH
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Nov 16, 2017

Email Chenwalee Tantikarn  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The driver+guide are professional, and nice hotel choice
4/5

I found that the guide are so friendly and have a really professional service mind. Karim gave us so many information about safari animals and other thing too. For the hotels, the staffs in every hotel are really nice and kind. The hotel are clean and nice. Hotel food are fine too. I feel like this is quite beyond my expectation. Only some facilities in the hotel like warm water and electricity there are not the best but acceptable since they are in the park.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 217
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Home To Africa Tours and Travel, not SafariBookings