Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 26
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 28 Reviews
Yaar Levy Haran   –  
Israel IL
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Oct 1, 2023

Email Yaar Levy Haran  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Perfect attention to customer experience!
5/5

I went with Mambo Gorila to Gorilla trekking for one day. As I requested, and althoue very unusual, they managed to arranage a tour for only myself with the gorilas for the same price!
The price I got from Mambo was the best offer by a hundreds of dolars from other companies.
All the staff of the hotel and the company are so nice and helpful especialy Nicholus who took amazing care of me from the minuite I conacted Mambo and even helped me long after with other activitis in diffarent country (which were not paid to Mambo).
I recomend this company with all my hurt!

Glyn   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2023

Email Glyn  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

A trustworthy company who do their best to make your trip the best
5/5

From start to finish everything was fantastic about this trip. Communication was great beforehand and everything was well-handled.
Didan and Zedius made sure we saw everything we were due to see and went everywhere we were due to go, even changing our itinerary for us when we were there so we could add in more of what we were interested in.
We had some amazing experiences. some fantastic food and stayed in some super accommodation all for a reasonable price.
Highly recommended.

Kelsey   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 27, 2023

Email Kelsey  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Would 100% recommend!
5/5

I was a solo female traveler and a bit anxious so go on a tour by myself. Didan made me feel so comfortable and it was such an amazing time! He gave me so many options of things to do and tailored the tour to what I was interested in. It was absolutely amazing and I couldn’t recommend this tour enough! If you’re thinking about going with this tour company, don’t hesitate! It will be the most amazing trip!

Luke L   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2021 Reviewed: Jul 16, 2023

Email Luke L  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Not a better tour operator in Uganda! Dedin is loving, responsible, and tons of fun!
5/5

My wife and I spent our honeymoon on an 8-day safari with Mambo Gorilla Safaris. The experience did not disappoint in any way.

I have been to 50-something countries and all 7 continents, and never has my choice in tour operator had such a profound impact on my trip. Dedin and Mambo Safaris are the reason that our trip was so perfect.

My wife and I both fell in love with all of Uganda – the wildlife, the landscapes, the natural beauty, and especially the people. Of all these things, our experience with Dedin, his family, and his Mambo team is the thing we remember most.

Let me say this – Uganda is a beautiful and safe country. That said, who you choose to travel with is important. There are things that can come up and the best decision you can make is to travel with someone who is well-connected, responsible, and accountable. The first lodge that we stayed in had made some changes and we did not enjoy the experience. We mentioned this to Dedin and he immediately made some calls and had us in a new – much improved – lodge. He knows everyone in the national parks, in the lodges, and seemingly everywhere in the country. This allows for a more relaxed and interesting experience knowing that you’re in the hands of who I believe must be the best-connected man in Uganda.

Dedin also has a giving heart. Proceeds from Mambo Safaris go toward supporting his orphanage and school, Loving Hearts Uganda. We got to meet the kids in Dedin’s hometown which, by the way, is an absolutely gorgeous village overlooking the most beautiful lake I’ve ever seen.

While in Queen Elizabeth, we got word that two local children had drowned while swimming. Their families were very poor and without search resources, and it was a very sad situation. Dedin went out of his way to go to the village and ask the family and villagers what he could do to help. He ended up giving the family some money and bringing them large bags of food to feed the search parties while they were looking for the children. Needless to say, Dedin is a good man.

Let’s talk about our trip. We started in Entebbe and Dedin picked us up at our hotel near the airport. We had a delicious lunch on our drive, and stopped to see Rhinos on our way to Murchison falls on the Nile. Murchison falls is beautiful, and I definitely recommend the river cruise to see the falls. We did a number of game drives in this area, and saw plenty of awesome African animals. We stayed at a lodge on the Nile, which was a wonderful experience. At sunset you could see crocodiles swimming across the river and hear and see hippos grazing at night.

From there, we went to Queen Elizabeth National Park. We stayed at a lodge called Kazinga, which was an absolute blast. The lodge is in the park, and we saw all sorts of wildlife right from our room. We had a great experience watching some Lions in the park, and saw plenty of elephants as well. We took a river cruise in this area as well, which was fantastic.

We had a great time on our Chimpanzee trek. The chimps were high in a fig tree for the first 30 minutes or so, and then they descended from the trees right in front of us. It was an incredible experience watching these animals move from to the trees and come down right in front of us.

From Queen Elizabeth, we drove to Lake Bunyonyi, where Dedin’s hotel is. It’s worth noting that there is a lot of driving from place to place in Uganda. Don’t worry though, as the whole country boasts such awesome and varied scenery that you never get bored looking out the window whole driving.

We stayed one night in a lodge called Chameleon Hill on Lake Mutanda. If you are able, this is a must-do. Lake Mutanda is gorgeous, and the drive there along the Virunga range is one of the most beautiful drives I’ve ever taken.

From there, we stayed at Dedin’s resort on Bunyonyi. We got to meet and spend time with Dedin’s family, who are absolutely lovely. While staying at Bunyonyi, we did the grand finale – a Gorrilla trek in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. It was everything you think it would be. The trek in was beautiful. We stopped and picked some fruit from a tree for a snack along the way. The guides also provided some snacks along the way. We spent an hour with the gorillas. They’re beautiful, mysterious, and intelligent. Spending time in nature quietly watching these animals in their mountain habitat was an absolutely unforgettable experience.

We had a lot of highlights, but I will not have time to mention all of the small moments that we enjoyed so much. Stopping along the road for fresh jackfruit or pineapple. Trying Ugandan coffee. Learning about the country and its people from Dedin along the way. Trying Uganda’s many delicious foods (we actually never had a bad meal. Everything was absolutely delicious. Don’t forget to make a stop at a Pork Joint!). Visiting the equator. Stopping to walk with some Zebras along the road. The list goes on and on.

Uganda really us the pearl of Africa. It is an incredibly bountiful country, lush green and covered with beautiful plants and crops. The people are beautiful, and we never had anything but a positive interaction. The animals, obviously, are worth the trip by themselves.

I struggle to find anything negative to say about Uganda. The best thing, however, was meeting Dedin and his family. We stay in touch to this day, and my wife and I are already planning a trip back. We met a lot of other tour operators along the way, and never once did I wish that we were with someone else. Dedin made our honeymoon unforgettable in every way. He is now my friend and my brother, and I am eternally grateful that he shared his beautiful country and home with us for our honeymoon.

Lino   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 14, 2023

Email Lino  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Didan is an easygoing guy that really cares that his guests have good time.
5/5

- The accomodations ranged from high-class lodges to medium-priced.
- Communication was always fast via Whatsapp.
- The price of the tour was a little cheaper than the ones offered by other operators.
- The tour was well-organized and everyone was really friendly.

Ayelén   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jun 9, 2023

Email Ayelén  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent !
5/5

We took a tour with Mambo Gorillas in June 2023. The trip was amazing, Didan organized everything and he allowed us discover beautiful places that were not in our original plan. Thank you for this inbelievable Trip ! We will come back

Mark Lee   –  
Malaysia MY
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 21, 2023

Email Mark Lee  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Safe and responsible
5/5

I recently took a 11-day trip to Uganda from December 22nd to January 1st and was blown away by the experience. As an Asian, I had the wrong preconceptions about the African continent, but Uganda completely exceeded my expectations. I booked my trip with Mambo Gorilla Safari, and the owner, Didan and driver Moses, ensured my safety and well-being throughout the entire trip. I couldn't be more grateful. The safari experiences were outstanding, I had the opportunity to spot various animals such as Giraffes, Lions, Leopards, Hippos, Uganda Kobs, and more. I highly recommend the Gorilla and Golden Monkey trekking in the mountains. Didan even went above and beyond by inviting me to celebrate New Year's Eve with his friends, who were all incredibly friendly. If you can afford it, I suggest opting for medium or higher range accommodation instead of budget options, for greater comfortability. Overall, it was an amazing trip that I'll never forget.

Marie-Louis   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 23, 2022

Email Marie-Louis  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing 4-day trip in Uganda/Rwanda with Mambo Gorilla Safaris
5/5

I did a 4-day trip with “Mambo Gorilla Safaris Uganda” in October 2022 including Kigali Genocide Memorial, Gorilla Trekking in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Golden Monkey Trekking in Volcanoes National Park, Chimpanzee Trekking, boat safari, and forest walk in Queen Elizabeth National Park. My main tour guide/driver was Didan (Hirary picked me up from the airport in Kigali). My experience was amazing with many unforgettable highlights (e.g., encounters with gorillas and chimpanzees). I enjoyed every minute! Both guides but especially Didan, who I spent most of the time with, were welcoming, well-organized and punctual, very flexible and open-minded, and extremely friendly. Everything went smoothly and Didan adapted the itinerary so that it best matched my individual interests and wishes (e.g., additional stops at viewpoints, activities in addition to the original schedule such as a forest walk, rich cultural/local insights). Didan was a very reliable guide (great communication, drove safely, provided me with necessary information prior to any activity) and also frequently asked for my feedback/opinion which I highly appreciated. He definitely made this tour special. I can highly recommend Mambo Gorilla Safaris for your trip to Uganda!!! Thank you so much :).

Aaron   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 14, 2022

Email Aaron  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Mambo Gorilla Safaris ran every aspect of the trip perfectly.
5/5

Didan at Mambo Gorilla Safaris is the best! He took me around Lake Bunyonyi and showed me all the cool sites. The gorilla trek itself was one of the most majestic experiences of my life. Worth every penny!

Estefania   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 7, 2020

Email Estefania  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful authentic Ugandan experience - Best trip ever!
5/5

I am beyond grateful for the experiences we had with Mambo Gorilla Safaris. They gave us the most authentic experience of Uganda! It was without a doubt the best trip of our lives yet! The safari experience and gorilla tracking were a dream. We saw elephants, lions, water buffalos, zebras, giraffes, hippos… and many more animals. The experience of walking in the jungle tracking gorillas was epic! I never thought I could feel so comfortable next to huge gorillas. These animals are so peaceful and passive. But theses experiences were small in comparison to getting to know the children at Loving Hearts School. That was for sure a major highlight of our trip. It is inspiring to see people like Didan making the difference in these children’s lives. He is the owner of the resort and also the Loving Hearts School. It makes me happy to know that part of what we payed for our trip, a really fair price by the way, went to those children at that school.

The resort views right in front of Lake Bunyonyi are incredible! And the service there is really great too. We really enjoyed getting to know Sam and the other employees. They all try to make you feel very special and comfortable.

What made the trip even better was to have a guide like Paul Turyagumanawe. His knowledge, positive attitude towards life and hard work made us want to be a better person. If you come to Uganda, you need to make sure you choose Paul as your guide! He went out of his way just to show us the most beautiful views or to get us to try tasty and safe street food! His driving skills are impressive in those, sometimes, dusty and bumpy roads. We felt safe all the time with him. We had such an amazing and fun time and we are grateful to know that we have a long-life friend in Uganda now.

If you want an authentic, unique and unforgettable experience in Uganda, Mambo Gorilla Safaris did an amazing job doing that!

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 26
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Mambo Gorilla Safaris Uganda, not SafariBookings