Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 141
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 143 Reviews
Wim   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Dec 9, 2018

Email Wim  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Wim and not that of SafariBookings.
Nice safari experience, with an organisation that has room for improvement.
3/5

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed this safari experience. We had a fun group (us and 4 others we did not know beforehand), and each national park visit was breathtaking in its own way. The organisation was adequate in some regards, but did fall short in some others.

- Our guide knew his way around the parks, and managed to make sure we saw a ton of different animals. He answered our questions but did not take a lot of initiative to give us explanations about the animals/areas we saw. He was enthousiastic and playful at times, but overall did not seem very interested in getting 'connected' with the group, with an attitude that can be best described as nonchalant: not to a problematic extent, but not very involved. Adequate, but not great.
- The camping experience was quite adventurous. The tents were ok, but it was not possible to really secure them into the ground. During a storm at night, this lead to some panic with someone's tent flying around the campsite (that had a large number of jackal and hyena visitors). Nobody got hurt in the end, but several people of the group were (understandably) scared out of their minds throughout this all, yet our guide did not seem to care very much and did not give an impression of being committed to helping out, and to keeping the group safe and at ease. "Just keep sleeping" is not an appropriate response if a scared person asks what to do incase a hyena manages to enter your tent at night.
- The food tasted good, but the way it was stored was often quite unhygienic. Of course, while on a safari adventure in Africa you need to have realistic expectations about this, but there's a minimum of effort you would expect a cook to make regarding hygiene and ours didn't always do that. The best example: the fruit and vegetables that we were to eat later on were lying on the ground in the camping site kitchen, with rats and birds running rampant through them. We suggested to the cook to put this food in a box (the least you can do to keep it protected a little better) and helped him do it, just to find the food lying around on the dirty ground again the next day for no apparent reason (once again between the rats and birds).
- On the fourth day of the trip, we were told the plan was to visit the Ngorongoro crater for just +-3 hours and then leave by noon, even though our park entry pass allowed us to stay in the park until much later. The group needed to do some negotiating with the guide to keep us in the park for the maximum amount of time. In the end we had a great day there (and after talking about all this, our guide did put in a much better overall effort in Ngorongoro), but that does not change the fact that that day would have been cut inexplicably short had it not been for the group intervening.
- The Hekima House, were we stayed our last night of the trip, was ok overall but our room was quite unclean. The food, bathroom and staff were nice though.

In the end we got the impression that the organisation was receptive to our feedback and willing to improve, which is definitely a positive aspect worth mentioning. We believe Hekima is a young organisation capable of giving many people great safari experiences in the future, but also that they need to improve in the aspects mentioned above. Even though these things did not ruin the entire experience for us, they very well might for other travelers.

About the parks:
- Tarangire: various types of vegetation, many hilly parts so beautiful viewpoints, lots of animals.
- Serengeti: more flat open spaces, less vegetation, many animals yet more spread out from each other, lots and lots of lions.
- Ngorongoro: unbelievable setting, many different animals close together in a breathtaking volcanic creater, no doubt the highlight of our trip.
- Lake Duluti: definitely not a 'safari' day, more of a relaxing experience on the last day, enjoying some peace and quiet (and birds). A nice day but not comparable to the true safari experiences in Tarangire, Serengeti & Ngorongoro.

Reply from Hekima Safaris
Reply from Hekima Safaris
Posted on Dec 18, 2018

Dear Wim,

thank you for your review. We would like to take this chance to apologize for all the inconvenience and we are sorry to hear that you were less than fully satisfied with the service. We used the chance to talk to you in person directly after safaris as the owner of the company found you at Hekima House and tried to clarify some details.

We pride ourselves on our customer care so it came as a surprise, and we would like to explain as follows!

We make sure that our guides are competent and knowledgeable. As far as we understand some people love fully enjoying the nature. The guide makes his best to find his way to find animals for you and provide you some information. Than, without questions, he can stay quiet in order you can enjoy yourself watching the nature. It is his part of the job to replay questions as they appear and we do hope you found it satisfactory when you had some questions.

We do understand that camping experience can be quiet an adventure for some people. We make our best to prepare tents and all the equipment in order you can enjoy it. We always explain the difference between camping programs and luxury lodge programs. Yes, there are some animals around the national parks. Some people find it exciting, some a bit scaring. Yes, some unexpected situation may happen during the camping eg becose of weather conditions. Yet we always do explain to you the real situation and try to react on time. Please take our apologies if you didn't have an impression of your guide being committed enough to comfort you when you get scared during the night time. As our team get used to with animals around, maybe the guide didn't understand how big impression this situation made on you and was not sensitive as he suppose to.

Thank you for bringing the issue about food to our attention. The safety and security of our guests is always our top priority! As we do receive people from all over the world the quality of food and water provided is very important issue. Our team do everything possible to keep people safe which sometimes is hard due to diffrent bacterial flora in Tanzania. We are sorry if you had diffrent impression. First of all, the food kept for guests is store in diffrent conditions than food kept for the team (guide and cookers themself). Secondly, on campsite there are some places especially prepared for storing food - it is the governmental requirement and foreigner guests are not allowed inside those places. Maybe you didn't understand well the situation and due to some language differences didn't understand each other well with the cooker. At the end, we are really happy that the food itself was tasty.

If it cames to the itenary of safari, you are provided of it before the experience. Time spent in Ngorongoro depends on two circumstances - first, the permit is limitited of time becose of Conservation regulations and second, it depends on your itenary. Guide do not decide himself about the time spent in crater but is strictly instructed from the company. Please remember, doing gamedriving genarte costs eg like fuel for the car you use. We do our best to provide for you the best possible experience and sometimes we try to go an extra mile in order to create amazing memories for you.

We do appreactie your feedback about Hekima House and we take it in serious consideration to improve the facilities. We are on process of changes inside the property and you are welcome any time to be back and see how the positive improvements may suprise you!

Last but not least, we do hope that you will keep good memories only from your stay in Tanzania, thank you for traveling with us.

With kind regards,
Magdalene,
Hekima House

Hasan Bugra Akcan   –  
Turkey TR
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Sep 3, 2018

Email Hasan Bugra Akcan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful Safari , Trustworthy Operator, Friendly Staff
4/5

With Hekima, we did a 4 day safari (Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro) and 2 day trips to Kikuletwa Hotsprings and Kilimanjaro.

Safari experience was really good. Our driver/guide Moses was really experienced and friendly. He knows where to drive and when to start the game drives. In Serengeti, we started the game drive at 6:00 and saw a kind of conflict between a lion and hyaena clan just at the beginning. Many safari cars came half an hour later and missed the whole show.

The food in safari was above my expectations. If protein is important in your diet, you must bring it for yourself. Meat amount was little as expected.

The sleeping bags and tents are taken from a place in Mto wa Mbu. I guess most operators do the same since I saw similar tents in campsites. Tents were a bit smelly at first night. Sleeping bags have different models and conditions. Some of them are not suitable for the night at Ngorongoro especially for the girls (5-10 'C). But wearing layers during the sleep can suffice.

The only problem in our experience with Hekima was in Kilimanjaro Day hike. We started the day nearly 2 hours later than suggested time and we needed to rush a lot for completing the hike before 6pm (after 6 hiking is prohibited). Because of this we could not see Maundi Crater and did not enjoy the hike since we did not give breaks and need to complete the whole hike in 4 hours (nearly double speed). They must be more careful on this kind of arrangements and must consider the traffic and park rules.

Reply from Hekima Safaris
Reply from Hekima Safaris
Posted on Sep 3, 2018

Many thanks for your kind review! We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent with us during the safari! It's very important to us!

Thank you for your feedback about a day Hike at Mt Kilimanjaro !

“We conducted the promotion in our social Media about to get free Activities with us and they won free day Hike at Mt Kilimanjaro .And after Kikuletwa they overnight at Arusha due to the time and periodicity “A day Hike”from Arusha to Kilimanjaro for starting point of Marangu root we did the best to meet they expectation “
for this reason we apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations. Environment conditions of day Hike could make it not that easy, but we will take this observation to still improve our service!
Hope to meet you again soon around this small village called “World “

Sincerely

Hekima Safaris

Bella   –  
Poland PL
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Apr 20, 2024

Email Bella  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Me with my friend we travel with Hekima Safaris, our tour operator in Tanzania, and our tour guide w
5/5

Me with my friend we travel with Hekima Safaris, our tour operator in Tanzania, and our tour guide was Juma is very knowledgeable and friendly they show us a lot of animals and close
Thanks a lot for Hekima Safaris and our guide, Juma. I will come back for sure.

Osward   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 20, 2024

Email Osward  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Excelent
5/5

Our guide, Patrick, was exceptional! He was extremely knowledgeable about the animals and plants. He was very easy going and friendly. The office staff, Ambrosia, Safiness and Richard, were very responsive and helpful during the booking process. I feel that we got more than our money's worth. I would highly recommend this company.

Tony A   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2024

Email Tony A  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

This was an experience of a lifetime thanks to Richard!
5/5

My group and I came to visit for a week and from the airport pickup to drop off on the last day we enjoyed. Richard was very pleasant and knowledge. We had many things we wanted to experience and he was patient with us and made provisions for us to see everything. He communicated well and made sure that we were safe. It felt as if we had known him all of our lives. He provided us excellent customer service and always made sure that we were please. We definitely will be back and we would not travel there with another else but HEKIMA Safaris!

Cordara   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 12, 2024

Email Cordara  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Richard is knowledgeable, patient, and communicates very well.
5/5

Hekima Safaris did not disappoint. Richard ensured we had an amazing experience from beginning to end. From pre-planning, transportation, carrying luggage, effectively communicating, scheduling, and going to the best places for food, shopping, hanging out, etc….they showed us an amazing time and made our experience enjoyable and memorable. They are reliable, patient, and provide outstanding services. I highly recommend Hekima Safaris for your next adventures.

Phile   –  
Poland PL
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Mar 25, 2024

Email Phile  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Beyond expectations
5/5

Hekima Safari exceeded all expectations. Their exceptional service and knowledgeable guides made every moment unforgettable. Witnessing the wildlife in their natural habitat was truly awe-inspiring. Highly recommend for a memorable adventure.

Zack   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 23, 2024

Email Zack  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent
5/5

I just finished the tour with Hekima Safaris! Everything was excellent and i can recommend this company to anyone wishing to visit Tanzania, Kenya or Uganda

Joe   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 13, 2024

Email Joe  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The best
5/5

Hekima Safaris, Thank you for a everything’s and see you next for Mt Kilimanjaro

Maria   –  
Uganda UG
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 19, 2024

Email Maria  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Kind, wonderful amazing friendly and informative
5/5

I had a very good time. The journey was all vibes
Our tour guide Patrick was so engaging, informative and funny
We had a very nice experience touring

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 141
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Hekima Safaris, not SafariBookings