Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 25
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 28 Reviews
Karen Hesselberg   –  
Angola AO
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2022

Email Karen Hesselberg  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Super tour in Okavango delta, southern part
5/5

As living in Angola, which provides 94% of the water in the Okavango delta, it was a great experience to see the "results" and be even more aware of our responsibilities as a country to take good care of the water ways in Angola.
As for the tour itself, we enjoyed to be IN the nature, WITH the nature and taken very good care of by the team. We experienced so much, the elephants in their life and great impact on the nature, the hippos, the girafs, zebras and many different antelopes. We had our own competition mostly about how many different birds we could see and identify.
We experienced hot summer days, thunder and rains - we swam in clear water - and enjoyed rowing in the mokoros.

We enjoyed good education for city people like us - in looking, listening, be aware, train the eyes - from our good guide (and the rest of the team).

All the best from us
Agneta and Karen


Shlomit   –  
Israel IL
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2022

Email Shlomit  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

NIce people but really poor equipment
3/5

We took a 3 day Central Kalahari Game Reserve trip with Shipungo. The three people that came with us, Kem the guide, Kem the chef and slo, were very nice and helpful. The food was excellent, and the tent/camping was fine.
However, the vehicle was old and bad un condition. The roof rattled horribly the whole time. It was not suited to pull the trailer, so we got stuck in the sand, and then the trailer kept falling off. On the way back the main tank ran out of petrol and the driver could not switch to the second one, so we waited 2 hours for them to bring petrol.
Since the team was really nice, if you are considering them, ask about the vehicle. They may/should have replaced it.

Fernando Pegado   –  
Mozambique MZ
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 10, 2022

Email Fernando Pegado  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Traditional Grassroots Safari Experience
3/5

If you’re looking to rough it out on a Safari, Shipungo Safari and Tours is the company for you. Tough to beat from a cost benefit perspective, but there are still opportunities to improve the overall service. They provided a great support team for photo Safari, with experienced guide. The vehicle is fine, although demonstrating some age. The food prepared met expectations. The purpose of the trip was wildlife photography, the mission was accomplished. Strongly recommend that they install radio in the vehicle to communicate within the local guide network, this would go a long way to finding animals, but above for safety concerns, in the event of an emergency situation in an isolated or remote location

Jeff Humphries   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 4, 2022

Email Jeff Humphries  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The Sunset Cruise and Moremi Day Safari arranged directly from the UK were superb.
5/5

Everything promised by Shipungo's agent Mark became a reality with our driver and guide, Cam, being extremely well versed in fulfilling our need to discover and photograph the varied wildlife often hiding in the Okavango Delta.

Tony & Marissa   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 30, 2022

Email Tony & Marissa  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Simply Amazing
5/5

My fiancée and I booked a two night, three day tour w/ Shipungo and were happy we did. Jack was an amazing tour guide. He had an intimate understanding of Moremi and its flora and fauna. He indulged my nascent interest in birding with patience, and had in-depth answers to all our questions. The support staff (Simon and KG) were talented, responsive, and kind. Simon was an excellent cook and went above and beyond with food presentation, flavoring, excellent portion sizes. We were never hungry nor thirsty. We saw 4 of the Big 5 and so many other animals. It was truly a visual buffet. Not sure we would've seen so much if it had not been for these gentlemen. If you go to Moremi, book with Shipungo and ask for Jack. And if you're a foodie, make sure to request Simon. We'd hire him to cater our wedding if we could.

Cassie Ngai   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 12, 2022

Email Cassie Ngai  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Would recommend
5/5

The company was Very responsive from the start and willing to be flexible to accommodate our preferred itinerary ( Kasane to maun one way, passing Chobe, savuti, delta and moremi) so went with them.

Arrive early on day one, easy communication on WhatsApp and email throughout. Cam our tour guide was amazing and we saw lots of animals thanks for his expertise in tracking, the big 4 (no rhino in Botswana) , and many more. He also have a fun personality to spend the next few days with. 5 of us learnt a lot.

Camp site set up was great, we were taken care of by the other 3 staffs Blue, Dicks and Rasp, our talented chef who cooked all the delicious meals.

Unforgettable trip overall!

It’s the natural so might require some luck to see animal and actions but Cam really knows what and where to look for, meanwhile we passed lots of self driving tourists who didn’t get to see anything, so definitely hire a guide.

jacques Roy   –  
Botswana BW
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 24, 2022

Email jacques Roy  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Friendly, kindly and well organised team
5/5

At first, the team manager Marc know very well his country and explain what to do for enjoy the Safari. We plan together according to our budget to make sure we succeed our safari well and Marc is very good and is very much listening. in addition to, his team, guide and cook were great. we have seen everything you can see and all this in great comfort at night at camp, that’s why I highly recommend Marc and his team Keem and Raps.

Annika   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Jun 20, 2022

Email Annika  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great tour with more luxury than we had expected
5/5

We really enjoyed our 3-day tour in the Okavango delta with Shipungo. We had special dietary requirements that were met excellently by their chef Simon who made delicious food for us 3 times a day. All our needs were taken care of during the trip and we had a wonderful time. We were doubting whether this tour would be nice considering the significantly lower price compared to other tours. We do not regret chosing Shipungo though and can definitely recommend if you're also looking for a more budget trip in the Okavango delta.

Sego Megano   –  
Botswana BW
Visited: April 2022 Reviewed: May 14, 2022

Email Sego Megano  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Awesome
5/5

Me and my crew went on a boat ride with Oarabile, what a beautiful ride we had. We couldn't get enough and he even gave us a discount on our second ride. He made us hats and necklaces with a water plant called tswii. What an astonishing customer service, I definitely recommend.

Bill Heidler   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Apr 19, 2022

Email Bill Heidler  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful, enjoyable tour on short notice
5/5

Our bike tour group had a layover day in Maun and seven of us decided, most on the day before, to do the mokoro boat overnight. Shipungo was able to accommodate all of us, on our schedule (we had to ride to Maun that morning). All transportation and other details went very smoothly. The mokoro ride through the delta is beautiful, we highly recommend it especially for first-timers to the Okavango. There were a number of boat pilots and other staff, they cooked very nice meals even though it rained hard part of the evening. The next morning we did a two hour hike looking for wildlife, we saw zebra and buffalo (giraffes and lions took the day off); saw a LOT of hippos in the water.
Price was quite reasonable. I highly recommend this trip.

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 25
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Shipungo Safari & Tours, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Shipungo Safari & Tours are subject to their terms & conditions