Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 88
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 93 Reviews
Bijal   –  
India IN
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Dec 24, 2017

Email Bijal  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Bijal and not that of SafariBookings.
unprofessional
2/5

Very poor service.
I had talked on the phone with their Delhi office.
This was an inquiry for a trip I was planning.
But they didn't bother to even reply to the email.

Reply from Chalo Africa
Reply from Chalo Africa
Posted on Dec 28, 2017

Dear Bijal,

We were very saddened to read your review on Safaribookings. It was never our intention to ignore your email, but it so happened that we received your enquiry on the very day that we welcomed Tanvi's new baby to the Chalo Africa family, and the enquiry seems to have fallen through the cracks in all the ensuing excitement.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the oversight, and should you still be looking for help with your trip to Kenya, we will do our best to make it up for you.

Best wishes,
Team Chalo Africa!

Sanjeev Nambudiri   –  
India IN
Visited: November 2015 Reviewed: Dec 11, 2015

Email Sanjeev Nambudiri  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The architects of our truly memorable Africa experience
5/5

My family & I had the most incredible trip to Tanzania & Kenya and we have Chalo Africa to thank. We are extremely picky about where we stay, what we do and the overall experience and this has sometimes made our holiday planning hard for the travel agencies we talk to. Right from the start Smita & her team were very helpful - gave us great advice and took onboard our specific requirements. In the end the plan they out together for us was absolutely fantastic - the places they booked us into, the instructions left for our care at those places and the overall tours were impeccably managed. Africa is spectacular anyway - the way our tour was put together with so much personal care made the vacation even more so for us.

Jon   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2016 Reviewed: Jul 18, 2016

Email Jon  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Brilliant Uganda
5/5

Chalo Africa organized exactly the trip we desired. There was quite a bit of driving, but that was by our request. We started by visiting the Uganda Wildlife Education Center - UWEC - a great introduction. We were quite awake after arriving despite the long journey. The first day involved birding on Lake Victoria and Mabamba Swamp. Fantastic. Shoebill and many others. Water lillies. Then days of chimp trekking and gorilla trekking. The walks were a bit strenuous but very satisfying. Everyone should have an understanding of these proud, intelligent creatures. We also had a wonderful wildlife drives with elephants, lions, hyenas, cape buffalo, zebras.... We were taught a great deal about botany, butterflies, birds, plant medicine, cultural life of Ugandans, as well as animal behavior. I really loved all the places we stayed but particularly the rustic ones. I would not hesitate to go again.

Kehkasha sehgal   –  
India IN
Visited: May 2016 Reviewed: Jun 18, 2016

Email Kehkasha sehgal  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Two weeks of perfection
5/5

We had a brillaint time. Apart frm it being a beautiful place we had lovely accomodations where we were put up. The best thing about chalo Africa was the like mindedness with Smita! It made all the difference while organising and planning and especially beacuse everything was perfect and suited us. The support we recieved was great! And they just understood us every step of the way!

Manu   –  
India IN
Visited: April 2016 Reviewed: May 2, 2016

Email Manu

A wild experience in heart of Tazania
4/5

The trip was arranged very well. We received information before the trip which helped us pack, and plan the luggage contents. Everyplace the driver showed up on time and were courteous. Over all we had a great time. Price for the trip was higher than our expectations.

Chhot Kumar   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Oct 8, 2015

Email Chhot Kumar  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

They made paradise a reality! It was all perfect!
5/5

When you do a trip to East Africa, one has to be very particular as to which agent you go through, as a lot could go wrong. Chalo Africa was the perfect choice, as everything was superb. The accomodation, the food, the personal care, the guides and ofcourse they made certain that it was all worth every penny, as we saw a wealth of wildlife. It was an experience of a lifetime. I would like to say, our guide, Fredy was excellent. My advice to everybody is, if you want a good introduction to East Africa, make sure you go through Chalo Africa, who did it via Asilia. It was a trip of a lifetime. Thank you!

Ed Dugan   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2015 Reviewed: Apr 17, 2015

Email Ed Dugan  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

In a word: Outstanding.
5/5

If you don't want to read a positive review don't read this. The three ladies of Chalo Africa went out of their way to make sure that I got every consideration on this safari. Having never been to Africa before I really didn't have any idea what to expect. I went to four camps run by the Massie tribe. I saw all of the big five, and the ugly five and several of the little five. I took over 2,500 pictures (probably close to 3,000) in my eleven day safari which I finally got down to just 533 pictures. The camps (tent) were well maintained, clean and the beds were certainly comfortable. Hot water bottles in the bed every night while we dined. Dined is the correct term, as the food was wonderful. My guides were extremely informative and bent over backwards to show and explain flora, animals and whatever I asked about. If you are a 'birder' you won't be disappointed either.
Chalo Africa was in contact with me almost daily before my trip and several times after to see that everything went as I wanted it.
I have already committed myself and my oldest son for next March. All I have to do is convince my wife to come with me. She gave the trip to me as a 50th anniversary gift.
Take a good zoom camera and a "Good" pair of Binoc's. You won't be sorry.
Have fun, I did.

Owen Shaffer   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: June 2018 Reviewed: Dec 7, 2018

Email Owen Shaffer  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Most Interesting travel agency specializing in Africa
5/5

I have already been on no less 17 safaris and have visited Chad,Ethiopia, Namibia,Uganda, and South Africa 3 times, Zambia 4,Zimbabwe 5, Tanzania 4, Botswana 4 as well as having taken various safaris in Kenya where I reside. I must say that I have worked with various travel agencies which specialize in safaris;nevertheless the best I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with is Chalo Africa. They specialize in tailor made safaris and will go anywhere which you'd like. It's thanks to Sangeeta Prasad that I have made some of my most extraordinary safaris. I have visited Zakouma National Park in Chad,Gonorezhou National Park in Zimbabwe, as well as my visit earlier this year to Ethiopia.

I have to say that my visit to Omo National Park which Chalo Africa arranged to the Mursi and Surma tribes was the most astonishing cultural experience which I've ever had in Africa. I also couldn't believe flying overlooking the vast emptiness Gambella National Park where there was only the 6 of us,our guide,pilot and co-pilot.We saw thousands of white-eared kob and Nile lechwe. It was literally mind blowing. I also went to the Bale Mountain National Park where I saw the Ethiopian wolf the world's rarest canid, Mountain Nyala, Menelik's Bushbuck, Bohor bushbuck and the mountain reedbuck.I also found the Ali Deghe Game Reserve interesting because I saw sommerlings gazelle and grevy's zebra.


Earlier this year when I visited Zimbabwe,Zambia,Malawi and Botswana I have to say Chalo Africa did a superb job.They offer the most competitive pricing as well as excellent back up service.I am so impressed with Chalo Africa that I am taking two trips,one to Gabon and another to Uganda next year.

Bhupendra and Krutika   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Sep 30, 2018

Email Bhupendra and Krutika  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Tanzania Safari - Once in a life time unforgettable Experience!
5/5

Since last couple of years, we were thinking of going to Tanzania with our two grown up Children. Tanzania is a birthplace of mine and my wife. We wanted not only to do safari in Tanzania with our kids but also wanted to visit our Birthplaces. (Near Singida and my wife’s birthplace in Dar-es-salaam). While searching on Internet, I came across “Chalo Africa”. After talking to Sangeetaji and explaining the places we wanted to visit, Sangeetaji in the Chalo Africa USA office prepared a Draft copy of Itinerary. We changed the itinerary a few times and she customized our 12 days Itinerary with suitable Camps/Lodges included visit to Singida and Dar-es -salaam. She suggested different options and answered all our queries. How can I forget Malvikaji? Malvikaji and Sangeetaji from Chalo Africa provided good details in Itinerary of what we will see/visit / activities for each day. Their Digital Itinerary was Superb and Excellent.
We just came back from Tanzania Safari (August/September, 2018) three weeks ago. Everything went as planned and we had an amazing time. We are extremely happy with all the arrangement Chalo Africa provided as per our itinerary, making sure that lodges/camps could meet our special food requirements (Indian /American Foods). Chalo Africa had used “Kibo Guides” from Arusha as a ground Handlers. Our vehicle Land Cruisers was brand new with low mileage. Our Driver/Guide, Samson Peter Mweta, from Kibo Guides was excellent and knowledgeable of all animals. He was well informed and answered all our questions in details. His communications and service were outstanding. He took care of us very well. He stayed with us during the Safari and our visit to Singida until he dropped us off at the Kilimanjaro Airport. During our stayed in Parks, all our Camps/ Lodges like Kilivillas, Maramboi Tented Camp, gorongoro Sopa Lodge, Kubu Kubu Tented Camp and Mara River North Camp were very nice with all amenities provided. Food/Drinks at the Camps were very good and Camp Staff was very hospitable. We visited Tarangire NP, Lake Manyara NP, Ngorongoro Crater and Serengeti NP. We saw all Big fives and all different animals, Birds etc. At the end of Safari at Mara River, We saw Wildebeest River crossing Migration for nearly three hours. Once in a life time unforgettable Experience! During our Safari trips, Chalo Africa also stayed in touch with us through WhatsApp Group to ensure everything was going good.

Our both Children were also happy that we planned our trip with Chalo Africa with Kibo Guides as ground handlers. We highly recommend planning your next safari with Chalo Africa. It was a trip of a lifetime. Thank you “Chalo Africa “and their Team!

Sonal   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Jan 11, 2016

Email Sonal  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing trip-beautifully coordinated,great places to stay,knowledgeable guides & great communication
5/5

We had an amazing time in Africa thanks to Chalo Africa. Multiple reasons why me and my family are thoroughly impressed with them:

1. Great communication and great patience : I atleast shared 100 emails with ChaloAfrica not because the plan was not clear from their side, but because my plan kept changing - both on the dates and the number of people who were joining me. However, Chalo Africa's representatives were both very patient and accommodating plus also gave wonderful suggestions based on the different input size of the group. My parents were joining a bit late and it was a complex itinerary but through detailed communication, Chalo Africa made sure that it was very well co-ordinated. Also, they were genuinely interested in us having an amazing time and kept sharing well-thought about articles for us to read that can prepare us for the trip and also get us excited.

2. Stay Places : Our favorite part about the safari in Kenya were the conservancies which Chalo Africa team suggested and also partner with Porini Camps which are in the conservancies- the regular national parks are amazing - don't get me wrong but staying in the conservancies is a really fun experience. First, we stayed in tented camps that are between the jungle - a hippo grazed right next to our tent one day and a bull elephant passed around 50 feet from us while we were having lunch. However, they keep you safe with guards who know the jungle really well. Also, in the conservancies you can do guided nature walks (we saw tons of giraffes, zebras and many other animals while walking an it is certainly a different feeling). Also, the food at Porini Camps was fantastic - here also, Chalo Africa had communicated our dietary preferences really well and it was all really well taken care of.

3. Invested in your trip : Chalo Africa was really invested in our trip and also created a What's App group with all their representatives in it so that they can help answer any question we have right from the time we left our home country to the time we came back. This was really helpful as we could ask anything on What's App and they were very prompt to reply - great service.

4. Partnership with great camps and guides : As mentioned, Chalo Africa partnered with Porini Camps and we loved it. Also, the guides were very knowledgeable, friendly and made sure that they catered to every member of the family. Good guides and camps are necessary for having a good experience and Chalo Africa made sure we got the best.

Overall, I highly recommend Chalo Africa for their great service - they put in a lot of effort to make sure you have the best time. I have traveled around the world quite a bit but Kenya trip was extra-special all thanks to Chalo Africa.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 88
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Chalo Africa, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Chalo Africa are subject to their terms & conditions