Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 35
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 36 Reviews
Mira   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2022

Email Mira  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful Safari Experience
5/5

I am very grateful for such a great safari experience led by Wilson and Stevie in Maasai Mara. Because of my time constraints I had only 2 days available to see the animals and I am so happy for choosing Maasai Mara Train. They ensured that we get to see as many animals as possible, so we saw lions, elephants, a leopard, hyenas, giraffes, zebras, wildebeests, buffaloes, pumbas, different species of deers and birds and much more. The sunrise experience in Maasai Mara was also very special. The tour was well coordinated and the guides were very attentive to our desires and requests offering plenty of photo opportunities. The camp where we stayed at overnight and the food provided on the way were high quality. Wilson and Stevie went above and beyond to take good care of us even at the end of the tour ensuring that we have a good experience in Kenya afterwards. I really enjoyed this personal tour and I couldn't recommend them more.

Jesús   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 20, 2022

Email Jesús  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Absolutely incredible
5/5

We were a group of 4 doing a two weeks safari in Kenya visiting different national parks and with an extension to Uganda to see gorillas and chimpanzees. The trip was absolutely personalized for us, the price was unbeatable and the personnel (Mr. Wilson as well as the drivers Chance and Pieter) were very nice people always ready to make the trip amazing and easy for us.
I found several agencies offering safari trips but Mr. Wilson was the person who generated more confidence to me and he did not disappointed. After the first conversation with him, it was clear that he is an honest person, one of the most important things when you are scheduling this kind of trip. The whole trip was without extra costs and all the things scheduled were complied. Lodges and hotels where we stayed were amazing. All of them with probably the most comfortable beds where I have slept during a trip and with buffet style for eating. Vehicles used to do the safaris and to move from a park to another one were private so we could choose the rhythm (we could decide if we wanted to be more or less time watching something or if preferred to go to another location of the park). In addition, the guide’s skill to search animals and to place the car really close to the animals was unbelievable.
I recommend Maasai Mara Train without doubt. This was a dreamed trip with high expectations and it exceeded them. I only can thank to Mr Wilson to make it possible.

Ylenia   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 16, 2022

Email Ylenia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great experience with Maasai Mara Train!
5/5

We were a group of 3 and had a great experience with the Maasai Mara Train staff. We were greeted by Mr. Wilson and our driver who accompanied us the entire trip. Our tour included the hike to Mount Kenya and a safari. The staff during the climb was extremely friendly and helpful and our incredible cook accommodated us with our diet. During the safari, we drove into the parks with our driver who took us to the best spots to see wildlife. All accommodations were standard level (of course, it depends on what level you choose) and were equipped with everything we needed. We definitely recommend Maasai Mara Train!

Kyriakos Gal   –  
Greece GR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 4, 2022

Email Kyriakos Gal  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing experience like nothing else.
5/5

We chose Maasai Mara Train and Mr. Wilson because of the first impression he gave us. Very charming and nice to speak to him. So we booked our Safari to Maasai Mara two months before. All this time we have small chats with Mr. Wilson, he gave us tips for the Safari and also we did a video call with him.
The day before the safari he picked us up from the airport with his friend David and he helped us to find a SIM card for our phone. Then we went to the Giraffe center.
On the first day of the Safari we went downtown and met with our driver Steven. Steven was an AMAZING guy. A great driver, great animal spotter and storyteller. We had a joined Safari, so we had company some really cool guys from Nepal.
The Safari was an amazing and extraordinary experience. We saw a lot different animals and three from the big five thanks to our driver Steven. The infinite feeling of the savanna it's something that you can't forget.
On our full Safari day, we had a problem with the car, they took us on a luxury lodge inside the park to take a brake and after a couple of time, they brought us a Jeep and took us to the Mara River to see the migration. So they encountered the problem fast and find the best solution for us to continue our Safari. We found a spot to have picnic lunch near the Mara River with hippos in front of us, crocodiles and the migration on the move on the other side of the river. What more to ask for?
On the last day we asked for a small change, we wanted to go to lake Naivasha. Our driver Steve arranged things fast and in the morning we were in the lake with boats for Boat Safari. We saw hippos, giraffes and huge eagles near the lake shore.
Mr. Wilson and Maasai Mara Train helped us to have our first Safari encounter and it was amazing. Hope to do more in the future. Hope to see you again Mr. Wilson! :)

Becky B.   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 3, 2022

Email Becky B.  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

I Highly Recommend Maasai Mara Train Safari Company! They care about you and it shows!
5/5

From my very first contact with Wilson, I was impressed with how much he cared that my needs would be met on my safari to Kenya. Traveling Solo was not a problem. He arranged a day tour of Nairobi National Park and the Giraffe Centre where I joined 4 other people. Stephen was our driver and he sure knew how to find the rhinos at the park that day. Wilson also booked a 3-day private safari for me at Tsavo West with Stephen as my driver. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with Stephen and everything he taught me. We even decided to change plans and spend a day at Tsavo East before returning to Nairobi. Share with Wilson what you desire in a safari and he will make your dreams come true at a reasonable price. Thank you Wilson and Stephen for making my safari dreams come true!!!!
Read less

David Rivera   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jul 3, 2022

Email David Rivera  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Not just a safari. It was an experience.
5/5

Looking for a safari online was very overwhelming. There are many options that offer similar tour deals and packages. I spent some time reading at reviews. Mr. Wilson’s tour called my eye right when I kept seeing te ríes about his honesty and charm. I did contacted him. Got and replay a few hours after with a detail itinerary and the price in writing. I kept shopping around, but I got convinced with Mr. Wilson. I confirmed my safari date and time.
While I was planning my trip, I needed a train ticket from Nairobi to Mombasa. I learned that I required a local phone number or Mpesa system to pay for the ticket. I reached out to Mr. Wilson. He did not hesitate to help me out. I sent him my passport info and the itinerary for the train ticket I wanted. A few minutes after, I received a screenshot with my train ticket. Yes!, he paid that with his own money. I hadn’t even pay for the safari yet, it been in Kenya yet. His vote of confidence was extremely generous! When I met him in, I paid the safari and the train ticket (the original price). He didn’t even made a profit about it!

The safari in general was not just a trip. It was an experience. Jimmy (the driver) was patience, made sure we all felt good and gave us time to admire and take pictures. He was very knowledgeable about the animals. He gave us facts and made everybody in the group feel included. We were a total of 5. We were all solo travelers from different countries and languages. The culture mix in the van was amazing. There were Japanese, Danish, French, English, Swahili and Spanish native languages. Fascinating !

The lodge were we stayed was comfortable. We all had our own tent. To my surprise, each tent had its own bathroom with running water and hot shower.. yes! Hot shower !
The food was buffet style. It was tasty and had several options for vegetarians (like me). We (the group) agreed about the food being delicious and generous portions! We all took second rounds !
During the full day drive, I had the most memorable time during the safari. We had a picnic right under a tree looking at some elephants far away. This is the moment when this safari became into an experience. Jimmy had us lunch bags pre-made from the lodge. I also had to mention, there was plenty of drinking water at all the times.

I am very satisfied about the my experience. I feel it was worth every penny. I feel confident to recommend this to my family and friends.

Asante sana Rafiki!

Saito   –  
Japan JP
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jun 23, 2022

Email Saito  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

They promise you the unforgettable memory.
5/5

It really became my unforgettable memory. There are two reasons I suggest you this tour operator.

1, Mr. Wilsons is the BEST man for you. His hospitality made us feel like at home.
My husband and I are travelers, we’d been traveling for over 6 months, and were carrying big luggage with us, so it was a big concern during the tour. It was the last minute booking, I was worried that too, Then Mr. Wilsons said “hakuna matata”. I was worried about those big luggage, then he said “hakuna matata”. And he was right. I didn’t have to be worried at all. He managed our tour, he picked us up at a hotel on time, he made all the space in the land cruiser for our luggage so we could carry our stuff all way along. Plus, when I wanted to ask something in advance, he replied so quick! Concerning the time difference, I believe it was in the middle of night in Kenya, but he replied instantly. Thank you so much. When we arrived at the meeting point, he guided us to a local supermarket to grab some snacks. I felt safe with him walking with us all the way. Without your service, I would have been so worried about everything especially it was my first time in Kenya.

2, Isaac the driver, he makes your dreams come true.
After leaving Nairobi, your fate is all in Mr. Isaac’s hand. He drives you to Masai Mara, and of course he’s the driver for all game drives. And he is really professional. I asked him animals I wanted to see, and he brought me there. He seemed like he knows every drivers there, and that’s good, because he talked with them by Talkie Walkie all the time, and they let him know when some rare animals appeared. During the tour, I was with 5 local people, and we were only foreigners. Every time he made sure if everyone understood by speaking English and Swahili both.

If we ever come back to Kenya for more tour, I would definitely choose you again!
So thank you for everything. The memories in Masai Mara are unforgettable.

Catherine   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: May 25, 2022

Email Catherine  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great half-day safari
5/5

We booked a last minute half-day safari at Nairobi National Park and it all went smoothly. Saw lots of animals and it is a great option if you short on time!

Carole jorgensen   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Apr 7, 2022

Email Carole jorgensen  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Honest, reliable, bent over backwards to show me the many animals in Kenya on a 24 day safari visit.
5/5

I spent 24 days with Wilson and eagle-eye expert driver Peter to see as much Kenyan wildlife as possible within my meager budget. They bent over backwards to give me awesome game drives thru many parks, even waiting/backing up for me to get the best photo.. or catch that roller bird in flight.

Marius   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: September 2021 Reviewed: Oct 2, 2021

Email Marius  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Kilimanjaro 6-days hike
5/5

We booked the classic Kilimanjaro 6 days hike on the Marangu route and really enjoyed this adventure! Our guides, Hussein and Joseph, as well as the other crew did a marvellous job bringing us to the top of Africa and showing us an once in a lifetime view!
Would recommend!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 35
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Maasai Mara Train, not SafariBookings