Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 49
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 51 Reviews
Amy   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jun 6, 2022

Email Amy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing trip to Nyerere, great value for money
5/5

We did a 4 day/3 night safari to Nyerere National Park with Ernest. We had the most amazing time and I can't say enough good things about Ernest and Wild Gaze.

We initially got in touch with Ernest when we were still planning what we wanted to do and he helped us plan everything to encompass exactly what we were looking for with a super reasonable budget. He worked with us on making sure everything was set in advance so we didn't have to worry about anything.

My friend and I felt looked after the whole time. Our accommodation was basic, but very budget friendly, which is what we were going for. Ernest's game drive through Nyerere National Park was stellar. I've been on several safaris in Tanzania and Ernest is such a professional, really going above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience. He just very clearly is an expert in what he does. He arranged for really great specialist guides as well for our boat safari and for a bush walking safari.

The whole experience was excellent from the time he picked us up in Dar es Salaam to when he dropped us back off four days later. I will definitely be back in touch to arrange future safaris with Ernest.

Vicente Gomez   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2021 Reviewed: Dec 28, 2021

Email Vicente Gomez  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent management, serious business.
5/5

The first visit did not end well. The guide we picked, name is Ben, scammed us. We contacted the company and have the opportunity to talk with Ernest, the owner, he listened to us and even drove down to Mafinga to show his face and offer an apology and a solution. Ernest is an ex-ranger, with many years on his back hunting and stopping poachers. Ernest is very professional and knowledgeable, he will drive you to many spots where you can enjoy Ruaha at its full. I am sure this company have professional and experienced guides but Ernest is the real deal. The experience did not star well but end up brilliant. I totally recommend this company, they show up when a customer have a problem and they deliver. Thanks Ernest for managing the situation with professionalism.

Jan Schmidt   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2021 Reviewed: Dec 27, 2021

Email Jan Schmidt  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Experienced kindfull person
5/5

I was on a safari with 4 friends of mine in the ruaha Park. We had a really good time but then we had some missunderstadings about the booking and stuff in the end. After this we talked to Ernest the boss of the company and he took full responsibility and even drove 3 hours to our home to talk with us to find a solution which fits for everybody. Then 2 weeks later we were again in the park, this time with ernest, and for free and we had again a really good time and saw because of ernests knowledge again a lot of animals in Special spots.
So I can fully recommend ernest and his company with good prices, really experienced drivers, and a loyal owner.

Charlotte   –  
Spain ES
Visited: December 2021 Reviewed: Dec 16, 2021

Email Charlotte  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing
5/5

Ruaha National Park with Ernest is the best way to visit it. It was my second time in Ruaha, and thanks to him we got to see many other places, It was beautiful. During the game drive he takes so many little roads into the bushes and you spot many more animals . I would recommend to anyone Wild Gaze Safaris as they are very professional and Ernest does his job with passion.

Jean   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: August 2021 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2021

Email Jean  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful safari in Ruaha
5/5

Ruaha is certainly the best park in Tanzania, still really wild, less crowded and much cheaper.
Our guide was just excellent, explaining a lot of very interesting things about the animals we saw and their behaviors, but also about the plants, geology, culture,...
Cheap solution is to go from Iringa in the morning in order to get in the park at 12-1pm and to go out the next day or the day after at the same time, because the entrance fees are charged for 24hours. The bandas are a very good and budget option to sleep in the park.

Alex   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Aug 10, 2021

Email Alex  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

3 night safari in Ruaha
3/5

The initial communications with Wild Gaze was efficient. Emails were answered promptly and questions where answered clearly. We booked a budget safari staying at the Tanapa Bandas in Ruaha National Park. While the bandas where clean, confortable and well located it was not made clear that there would be no options of food and we would be served the same thing everyday. While it was adequate it was not very tasty. The safari truck was comfortable and had plenty of sockets for charging electronics. Our guide, Ben, was accommodating, a careful driver and appeared knowledgeable. Overall a good experience and we would book with them again.

Diego Mendoza   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: June 2021 Reviewed: Jun 27, 2021

Email Diego Mendoza  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Peace of mind
5/5

By chance, Wild Gaze Safaris was hired to take to the Ruaha National Park from the airport in Iringa and then back from the park to the airport at the beginning of June during the Eid holiday. All of this was arranged through the Ruaha River Lodge, whom they managed all the package for me. Ernest picked me up from the airport and on our way to Ruaha National Park, the airline contacted me to let me know that my flight back to Dar es Salaam was cancelled, and I needed to be back in Dar by Sunday night because I needed to go to work on Monday. You can imagine that this was a highly stressful situation and not an ideal way to start my short trip.
After brainstorming with Ernest on how best to get back to Dar, and remember I was about to head into the wilderness, Ernest reassured me that he would take care of everything. We decided that the best way to go was for me to spend one night in Iringa (Saturday night) and then drive to Dodoma to fly from Dodoma back to Dar es Salaam. Wild Gaze and Ernest took care of booking my flight, reserving a hotel in Iringa and they also would drive me from Iringa to Dodoma. I told Ernest to please just be careful with prices and I asked him for a fair price. We exchanged numbers and off I went into my safari adventure trusting that they would take care of everything and wouldn't charge me thousands of USD.
Ernest checked in with me a couple of times over whatssap and he reassured me completely that I had nothing to worry about. Ernest picked me up from the national park as per what I had already paid for in the package that lodge had arranged, and he was not wrong. I did not have to worry about anything.
Wild Gaze safaris had booked for me my flight from Dodoma to Dar, a really nice and affordable room in the best hotel in Iringa, Ernest took me to see the Isimila Stone Age Site, he took me the German Boma, to the Gangilonga rock and then ultimately, to the Dodoma airport. He is very knowledgeable and we had lovely conversations about Tanzania, its history, the parks, etc. I had been at that point a resident in Tanzania for 3 years, so I knew when I was being overcharged. Overall, I would say that what I paid was the fair price for an excellent service.
I would recommend Wild Gaze Safaris and Ernest a 100%. My experience with them was one of the best customer services I had received in my 3+ years of experience in Tanzania. In addition, Ernest's company and conversation were englightning and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I will always be thankful to Ernest and to Wild Gaze Safaris for helping me avoid a situation that could have turned into a true nightmare and for taking such a good care of me and assuring that I would get an incredible experience.

Kaila   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2020 Reviewed: Dec 2, 2020

Email Kaila  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Worth every penny! Amazing Journey through Tanzania
5/5

Our recent trip to southern Tanzania was perfect arrangement with 3 days in Selous followed by 1 day Mikumi ending with 4 days in Ruaha guided by the most professional guide Ernest. We got to experience uncharted territories in Tanzania secluded from huge crowds. We saw all the big five, numerous birds and different habitats ranging from the lush green dense forests and waterways of Selous to the dry woodlands savanah in Ruaha.
Accommodations were a mix of camping and lodges and very exclusive. I definitely recommend trying Ruaha Hill View Lodge for a truly wild lodging experience accompanied by excellent dining in Ruaha.

Ulrich Schimdt   –  
Austria AT
Visited: September 2020 Reviewed: Sep 19, 2020

Email Ulrich Schimdt  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

We highly recommend Wild Gaze Safaris
5/5

We made a safari trip to south Tanzania with Wild Gaze Safaris a fabulous tour operator based in Iringa Tanzania. There is not a single thing that was out place, everything was flawless and it is the best vacation my wife and I have done in Africa.
The parks that we visited in southern Tanzania (Ruaha, Selous and Udzungwa) were amazing and still pristine as they away from the large crowds we had seen during our last trip to the northern parks. This time round Wild Gaze Safaris partnered us with an amazing guide – Nolasco. It was a pleasure being with him, he took excellent care of us and drove us deep into excellent spots where wild animals roamed free.
Accommodations at camps in Ruaha, and Selous were beautiful and comfortable. The highlight of our trip was at Ruaha Hill View Lodge, we were lucky to get one of the completed rooms because they were still doing renovations and it was very nice! A quiet, relaxing and comfortable place in the middle of Ruaha National Park. The staffs and meals were excellent.
I highly recommend this operator.

Gail Villar   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: September 2020 Reviewed: Sep 10, 2020

Email Gail Villar  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Highly Recommended
5/5

I will highly recommend Wild Gaze Safari to all travelers that want to have a remarkable trip to Tanzania. They organized a wonderful trip to Mikumi, Ruaha and Selous National Parks that we have just returned from. The trip was filled with exciting wildlife tracking in the reliable 4x4 jeep, boat trips along river Rufiji & Ruaha and walking excursions. I am happy that Wild Gaze Safaris is engaged in responsible tourism giving part of the proceeds to support education and women in the local communities. There are numerous highlights during the 6 days of our safari with Nurdin who is an expert safari guide and a humorous person.
Thank you Wild Gaze Safaris for an incredible time in Tanzania.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 49
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Wild Gaze Safaris, not SafariBookings