Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 144
  • 4 star 7
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 151 Reviews
Zhirui Wang   –  
China CN
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 20, 2024

Email Zhirui Wang  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Meijo Safaris at Tanzania, where amazing always happens.
5/5

Hello, I am Zhirui Wang from China. I have a 5-day safari tour with my wife and my parents. Our tour including one-day Lake Manyara, 3-day Serengeti, and 1-day Ngorongoro Crater. We have seen various kinds of animals, like the most popular African Big Five, namely lions, leopard, elephants, Buffalo and Rhino. Other animals also include monkey, baboon, wildebeest, zebra, antelope, dik-dik, etc. The experience of watching animals at Tanzania is rather different than that in a zoo. In the zoo, it’s the animals that lives in the cages. But here in Tanzania, it’s the human beings that are locked in the safari’s cars. We can see different animals eating, chasing, running, resting, and so on. It’s really worthwhile to do the safari in our life.

The safari experience mainly relies on two things, The first one is the luck to see excellent moments and animals. You can't do anything but pray. The second one is the tour guide. Choosing an excellent and experienced guide can make all your safari expenses worthwhile. Our guide is Herman from Meijo Safaris. He has done safari for over 12 years. In our opinions, he has eagle eyes. He can discover the animals from a long distance. How far? It’s the distance I cannot see the animals clearly by using a normal telescope. But he can surprisingly discover them. I exaggerate his insight that other guides can see animals from hundreds of meters away, but Herman can smell the animals from kilometers away. In addition to finding animals, our guide will also explain the living habits of animals to us. This is also a learning tour. In order to help us take satisfactory photos, our guide will try to find the best angles. Also, he had plenty of patience waiting for our photography.
In addition, Herman has good driving skills. The road conditions during safari are complicated. It’s possible to get stuck in the mud on rainy days and easy for the passengers to get carsickness on a bumpy road. In my view, it’s easy for a driver to put his foot on the gas, but difficult to switch between gas and break on complicated roads, and provide a comfortable experience for us.
Obviously, our guide earns money by doing safari. But I don’t think it’s only a job for him. I can feel his love for safari, for the animals and for Meijo Safaris. Our family had a really great safari time. We sincerely thank our guide for providing us such an amazing tour. No doubt, I will strongly recommend our guide, Herman from Meijo Safaris, to everyone.

Speaking of safari tours, I chose the safari agency called Meijo Safaris. As we all know, it’s a difficult task to make decision among hundreds of safari agencies in Tanzania. One reason is that the service provided by most agencies seems like the same at the first sight if we are not familiar with safaris. Another reason is that our choice will directly affect our safari experience which matters most. I have contacted with nearly 30 agencies. After the communication and comparison for over a month, I finally chose Meijo Safaris. I can share my feelings of Meijo as reference.
First, the quick response. Daudi, the manager of Meijo Safaris, always responded to my message in a short time. My questions and concerns can be solved at the first time. That’s a good way to build the trust between company and clients. If you ask only one question that is replied after several days, do you have any patience to continue consulting the safari?
Second, customized services. The emails replied by most companies seems rather standardized and formatted. Some even didn’t answer my questions directly or just ignored. Differently, I could feel that Daudi, the manager, he replied to my email by heart. He customized the safaris itinerary according to my request, including the routes, accommodation, and so on. As for my unreasonable and unsuitable request, he would give a detailed explanation and recommendation. The customized services really won my trust and respect.
Third, Daudi is really a nice person. Not only did he answer all my question about Safari, but also other questions concerning to other parts of our trip, such as where to buy SIM cards, how to do currency exchange, which airlines to choose between Zanzibar Island to Arusha. I really appreciate Daudi’s help and service. If you know what kind of person Daudi is, what his safari tour can offer you, and what kind of company you're entrusting your safari experience to, I’m sure you won't hesitate to book. It’s not just about safari business. It’s also the cultivated trust and friendship.

Finally, I would sincerely express my thanks to Meijo Safaris. Best wishes to the director Daudi, and to our tour guide Herman. It’s really worthwhile to choose Meijo Safaris at Tanzania, where amazing always happens.

Fengfei Liang   –  
China CN
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2024

Email Fengfei Liang  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

You won’t regret choosing Meijo Safaris!
5/5

It was an amazing experience to choose Mejio Safaris for our safari trip. We had everything covered, including all the accommodations, meals, tour guide, and airport pickup/drop-off. For accommodations, we had one night of lodge and three nights of tents. The tents recommended by Mejio Safaris were actually way better than we expected, and were clean and tidy. They provide FREE-WIFI, hot shower, and very tasty food. No power cut-off during the night. The service from Mejio Safari was really excellent. Our tour guide Herman can speak very good English, and is very professional, friendly, and considerate.
Safari car is very important. Because most of the day is spent in the car. Meijo Safari's cars are in good condition. The power supply can be used to charge mobile phones. There are two sockets on the front and rear, and an adapter is required. The car refrigerator contains many drinks, including mineral water, beer, red wine, etc. For better viewing, the roof can be opened.
In conclusion, highly recommend Mejio Safaris!

Carly & Paul   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2023

Email Carly & Paul  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Safari Trip 5* One word….WOW!
5/5

From start to finish the trip was amazing! Great communication from Daudi & price so much cheaper than we expected for a private tour with amazing accommodation. We had a big Safari truck for us 2 & it was so worth the extra, do every thing as you like & the space was well needed for our luggage due to going Zanzibar after for some R&R.
We stayed 1 night at Eileen’s trees & 2 nights Matawi Luxury Lodge inside the Serengeti. Managed to see 4 of the big 5 so very lucky. We also had greatest pleasure of seeing the very shy leopard which was out of this world! Excellent personal service at both locations & amazing fresh & tasty food. Our rooms were top notch, very clean & nice linens. Lunch was amazing each day on our game drives as well, tasty & great portions. Beer, wine & fresh water on board in the fridge, what more could you ask & lovely hot coffee/tea, they had really thought of everything!
Final biggest shout out is to our guide Joshua (Rally driver Josh as we nicknamed him

Janet   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 8, 2023

Email Janet  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Meijo magic in Tanzania!
5/5

I can highly recommend Meijo Safaris. We booked ‘The Best of Safari, Lake Eyasi & Lake Natron’ with mid-range accommodation.

Meijo is a small company that gives you the personal touch. I was impressed that Daudi, the owner, met us at the airport and saw us off the following day. He also met us on our return.

They put together the perfect tour for us to appreciate the best of Tanzanian Safari in the short time we were there. Daudi was easily contactable to discuss options and answer our questions.

We were happy with all our accommodation and were lucky enough to be upgraded twice due to availability.

We could not have asked for a better driver and guide, Herman/Superman/Super/Soops. He is a very experienced guide and well known to all the tour guides. His eagle-eyed spotting of big and small wildlife blew our minds. We were often ‘ahead of the pack (other tour operators)’ with spotting and we were so grateful that he was respectful to the wildlife and their space. Herman was a true gentleman which is important because you land up spending a lot of time with your guide on a trip like this.

I will always have fond memories of our picnic lunches. Due to our dietary requirements we were served hot meals in the middle of nowhere. Amazing!

If you want to do a similar trip to ours please be prepared to spend a lot of time in a car covering large distances. The roads were often in bad condition so it can be hard going but totally worth it!

We received numerous quotes from other operators and believed this tour was very well priced. We were also very pleased to be able to support Tanzanian businessmen who are passionate about their country’s natural wonders.

Thank you Meijo for an experience of a lifetime!

philippweber   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2022 Reviewed: May 5, 2022

Email philippweber  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Life Changing Trip with Incredible Guide
5/5

It was a really simple procedure from the beginning of organizing this tour (with many questions) until the end of it. Meijo Safaris' tour operator and driver/guide were extremely polite! Serena was our preferred lodge, which we also recommend to others
Aside from that, we were really fortunate to see a variety of animals throughout our holiday, including lions, elephants, giraffes, hippos, and hyenas. We highly suggest this tour in April, with less vehicles surrounding the animals and on the super premium, because it allows you to spend more time within the park. Thank you once again!

Mbali Myeni   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 20, 2023

Email Mbali Myeni  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

African Dreams Come True - And More!
5/5

Honestly, I can't say enough good things about this company!

We greatly appreciated Daudi's help with planning and tailoring our trip to meet our needs. We were able to create our dream safari and Zanzibar trip with his help. Honestly, I could not have planned a better trip if it weren't for Him.

I was so impressed with how easy he made everything. Every place he recommended for us to stay was charming and had wonderful service. A big thank you to our safari guide Tariq as well! He never got tired of answering our millions of questions and knew when to let nature take its course, so we saw some amazing animals. Our experience with MEIJO Safaris was incredible in such a breathtaking country!

bron mbedzi   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 19, 2023

Email bron mbedzi  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It's worth the wait
5/5

In general, I don't write reviews, but I have to tell anyone planning an African vacation to consider Meijo Safaris. My initial intention was that this trip would be a "one and done" experience, however now I am planning a second trip to Africa with Meijo Safaris. Their meticulous planning and attention to detail enhances your trip from the time you book it until the time you depart Africa.

Our whole trip to Tanzania was customized to our needs, and they handled every aspect of it for us. There are no words to describe how highly I recommend this.

thembuluwo mushaphi   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 19, 2023

Email thembuluwo mushaphi  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

There are not enough stars to do justice to Meijo Safaris
5/5

Seeing Africa is amazing in itself, but Meijo Safari’s level of personal service is unmatched. Throughout our entire safari experience, every detail was considered and executed with seamless excellence, from booking our safari to being met at the airport upon arrival. Whenever I left something behind in a lodge, it was waiting for me at the next stop. Our safari guide Jordan was knowledgeable, friendly, and a pleasure to meet. It was he who really brought our group together socially. During our trip, we met many wonderful people! He was one of our favorite drivers and guides, he had a knack for finding animals we wouldn't have seen otherwise. Even when we returned to Nairobi before heading home, Evelyn managed our logistics and provided us with a little surprise! We stayed in luxury lodges and camps. Food was delicious. The bush… the drives, breakfast, dinner, and sundowners were breathtaking; my friends and family are getting tired of hearing me talk about them! Meijo's team firmly believed in the company's reputation for excellence and worked hard to ensure that every guest had an excellent experience.

Fritjof   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 31, 2022

Email Fritjof  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing safari with great staff and a lovely group!
5/5

We went for a 3d/2n group safari with Meijo safaris and at first we thought that because it's a budget safari it would not be as good as the more expensive safaris. But on the contrary we had a really great time and it lacked nothing!

The owner Daudi cares so much about his customers, we had a briefing a day before the safari and he was even at our hotel after the safari to hear about our experience if there is anything they could improve on. Such a great service!

The driver Goodluck (Goodie) picked us up at the agreed time and we drove to pick up the others in the group. I can really recommend going for a group safari as it's so much more fun meeting new people than going on a private safari. Goodie was an amazing driver, so friendly and easy to talk to, he has 20 years of experience and really made the best out of every day. We saw so many animals and got to see all of the big 5 which is quite rare as especially the Rhino is not that common to see.

The cook Kelvin who joined the trip made really good food every day and is also a super friendly guy.

As for the amenities, they were basic, a shared bathroom with showers/toilets and a kitchen in all the camps. We stayed in tents we built ourselves which was a great outdoor adventure experience! A bonus was that the camps were open so having zebras, baboons etc in the camps or passing by the camps was not uncommon which was so lovely!

Overall an amazing experience and we can highly recommend Meijo safaris, you will not regret choosing this company!

Dieter Schmidt   –  
Australia AU
Visited: December 2021 Reviewed: May 6, 2022

Email Dieter Schmidt  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent Itinerary with informative guide
5/5

Daudi's communication was outstanding, from the first inquiry to the post-trip debrief. The tour itself was fantastic. Juma, the guide, was knowledgeable and eager to share knowledge. He even saw an animal on a tree when I couldn't see them on the tree!! I was fortunate enough to witness all five of the Big Five, as well as much more. Peter's cooking was excellent and ample. This is a trip that is well worth taking, and I plan to return and do it again.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 144
  • 4 star 7
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Meijo Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Meijo Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions