Average User Rating

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 141
  • 4 star 7
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-7 of 7 Reviews
Dean   –  
Australia AU
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 20, 2024

Email Dean

5 Day calving Season. Good, with unfortunate communication issues.

I travelled on a 5 day safari with Meijo Safaris through Tarangire, Ndutu and Serengeti with my wife, mother and mother in law.
We saw a lot of animals, including the big 5 and calving during the great migration. We expeienced an excellent hot air balloon flight over Ndutu which was absolutely a highlight of the journey.
Tanzania is spectacular and the wildlife is quite incredible. There is absolutely no place on earth like the Ngorongoro Crater. The downside to such a place is that it is so busy. You cannot get near an animal without 5-15 other vehicles. This volume of vehicles also make the main roads to the Sertengeti a dust bowl that is very unpleasant to traverse.
The accomodations organised by Daudi and Meijo were wonderful, they were beautiful and comfortable with excellent food.
Daudi was reasonably good to communicate with and I believe that he wants to provide a good service to his customers.
Unfortunately our time with Meijo was negatively impacted by some issues. The itinerary that was proviced to us, did not match up exactly with our experience due to permits at the locations we visited. This was not helped by the lack of clear communication around the reason that we were not following the itinerary.
Our hot air balloon flight was apparently booked the day before, this was booked on a different day entirely to the schedule. This did turn out to be a preferential location to do the flight, but again the lack of communication left us in the dark.
Our driver did not seem at all enthusiastic and was, I believe, the cause for many of the communication issues. We were told a few things by our driver that were not correct or were not as per the schedule and had to contact Daudi to attempt to get the correct information or rectify unapproved cancellations of scheduled activities.

We mostly enjoyed our Safari with Meijo, but I would be hesitant to rebook with them when there are so many options available.

Reply from Meijo Safaris
Reply from Meijo Safaris
Posted on Mar 18, 2024

Dear Dean
Thank you so much for the safari experience feedback, we real appreciate it.
Thank you for appreciating the safari you did with us and for all the 6 days you spent with us, also I would like to thank our guide Mr Juma who did his excellence job to make sure you had the best experience safari with us. As a company committed on providing the best service to our clients i would like to clarify some issues which was out of our control during your safari.
You booked the following 6 days safari with us Day
1: Arrival Overnight at Tulia Lodge
Day 2: Tarangire National Park Overnight at Farm of Dreams Day
3: Ngorongoro Crater to Southern Serengeti Overnight at Kenzan Tented Camp
Day 4: Full Gamedrive at Southern Serengeti
Day 5: Southern Serengeti to Central Serengeti Overnight at Matawi Tented Camp
Day 6: Central Serengeti to Arusha Which is about 350 KMs

The Misunderstanding started on day 3, where you wanted to enter the Crater at 6 am (in the morning,) We told you it won't be a good idea since you didn't sleep in the park and we explained to you that, the permits last for 24 hours only means the time you enter in the park is the same time you are supposed to check out on the last day of your safari, if you enter crater that early means the last day of your safari you will have to exit southern serengeti that early as well. You asked us to extend the permit, which was out of our budget, and we informed you it was impossible. On the last day, you had an early morning game drive and freely asked your guide to check out of the park, which he did with an en route game drive.

2. About Balloon experience we booked for you by changing the location due to animals availability as from Dec to March most of the animals are located at Southern Serengeti and that area was the best place for balloon experience, and we discussed that option of southern Serengeti at your hotel during the briefing and we both agreed on that location since central Serengeti was not good for game drive at that moment of the season which led you to tell your guide to check out of the park which you wanted to spend more time before.

Finally, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the minor inconvenience that resulted from a misunderstanding between us. As a company, we value all feedback and strive to improve our services and provide more comprehensive information to our clients.

Therefore, I kindly request that you consider organizing another safari with us, as I am certain that this will never occur again as you are already familiar with the permits process, and we have gained valuable insights that will assist us in preparing accurate quotes for our clients.

Wishing you a good life and see you someday in the future.

Safari Greetings

Kavleen   –  
India IN
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2023

Email Kavleen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A trip to remember ! Perfect !

Our Serengeti safari trip was unforgettable! Thanks to Meijo safari specially to daudi who has been extremely active in communicating with us before reaching Tanzania , those prompt responses made us feel very confident and comfortable ! Everything was planned well , pick ups were spot on time every day , luxury at its best in terms of lodges @ Serengeti Serena & intimate luxury camps !
Special mention for Herman who has not been the best guide for us but an amazing friend that whole time ! He made sure that we see great migration of wildebeest, big cats - a lot of those !
Thanks meijo safari for this experience!

Margaret   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 2, 2023

Email Margaret  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Meijo went the extra mile

Meijo offered excellent value for money and was flexible when we planned our tour beforehand.
I would highly recommend them and be sure to ask for Superman (Herman) as your guide.

Diana   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 21, 2023

Email Diana  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An experience of a lifetime!!!

Loved our 3 days safari with Meijo. Game river was super knowledgeable and helped us spot and find lots of animals very up-close. Game drive was as long as the daylight allowed, so there was no cutting corners - geep was also very well equipped and the group felt very comfortable spending a whole day in the car.
All in all, this is an experience of a lifetime and a definite highlight of our Tanzania trip, with so much seen and done during this safari tour. The only reason for 4 stars is that we were not warned in advance just how cold Ngorongoro crater was at night (we were camping), so we did not pack enough warm clothes and had to do an emergency shopping (NOT an easy task in Arusha) one day before the trip, after other tourists warned us.

Clara   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2023 Reviewed: Mar 17, 2023

Email Clara  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great budget tour!

Had a great guide called Herman who was so amazing.
Loved the organisation of the tour.
Was good value for money.
The communication with the company could have been better due to misalignment of timings.
There needed to be snacks offered. We'd go from a 12 o'clock lunch to a 730pm meal.

Rutger   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 3, 2022

Email Rutger  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Experienced guides

We did both our 4-day safari and Mt Meru hike with Meijo safari's. We enjoyed both activities a lot. Guides are very experienced.

For the safari we saw many animals. Our guide knew exactly how to see the animals from close by and had good knowledge.

The Mt Meru hike was good. Sleeping huts are used by all tour operators. Basic but good. Guide and cook were good. Ate very good food! Porters support well, especially during summit day.

Zaar   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Mar 6, 2022

Email Zaar  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing experience

I went on a 3 days safari trip. I had the best time! The food was good, camp locations were amazing right in the middle of the animals and the service was great. We saw so so so much animals! I feld really safe and everyone was very helpful and kind and went out of their way to help me even with stuf for after the safari.

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 141
  • 4 star 7
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Meijo Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Meijo Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions