Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 44
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 44 Reviews
Suzette   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 1, 2024

Email Suzette  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Efficient and itinerary was exactly what we wanted.
5/5

Excellent communication from Allison, who organised the trip for us. It was exactly what we wanted. The accommodation was really good and set in some of the most incredible scenery. If you want to get away from noise and just listen to the wind, birds and other wild life, then this is the place to go. Good value for money.

Jan Williams   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 19, 2024

Email Jan Williams  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing trip
5/5

Lilly was so helpful and gave us a lot of advice as it was our first time in Namibia. She organised Hotels in Windhoek, airport transfers and our 4 wheel drive vehicle with roof tent through Classic cars. Everything went so smooth and the truck gave us 2500 miles of trouble free driving over 3 weeks. We would be happy to recommend great exploration

Lena   –  
Cyprus CY
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 19, 2024

Email Lena

Excellent communication with Lilly for understanding our requests and delivering to perfection.
5/5

A dream holiday in an amazing country. Everything was perfectly arranged, we were handed a detailed tour guide which we consulted each day of our holiday. At no time we doubted that what we were given would not work out and we were expected with our names at each destination and for each activity booked. Lilly planned everything so we were not rushing to fit everything in as our time there was only two weeks and we travelled more than 4000 k and experienced the best of Namibia. Our car was comfortable and never let us down once and sharing the driving was fun! Having a car enabled us to have the freedom to discover also parts which were not obvious even though Lilly's guidelines on where to go and what to do were excellent. I highly recommend them. Thank you.

Aris   –  
Cyprus CY
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 16, 2024

Email Aris  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Extremely efficient and easy to communicate with. Highly recommended
5/5

Lilly of Great Explorations was extremely patient with us in providing us in advance with an itinerary plan for every day we intended to spend in Namibia. On top of booking us a car and working out a 4000km driving course over 15 days, that included multiple destinations, she also booked most of our activities (safaris, hot air ballon adventure, canoeing with sea lions, 4X4 dune driving). Everything worked out perfectly. I still cannot believe that not one thing went wrong. Every accommodation we stayed at was value for money, our activities were better than expected. The one hitch we had with one of our accommodations, Lilly handled it perfectly to our satisfaction and beyond our expectation. I cannot overemphasise how useful it was that Lilly gave us on the outset a folder with clear and precise information containing leaflets about our accommodation and our planned activities , maps and detailed route description to follow from destination to destination.
Thank you Lilly, you made our trip to Namibia an unforgettable one.

Astrid and Bjorn-Erik Madsen   –  
Norway NO
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 31, 2024

Email Astrid and Bjorn-Erik Madsen  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Allison provided us with good service and advice for a safe and eventful safari.
5/5

We were first time traveller to Namibia. Allison responded quickly on our request, doing a self drive safari.
Allison answered our questions and changes, gave us good advice, and together we made a schedule for 18 days, with interesting drive thru the wonderful Namibian desert and coast.
We included the south, to Luderitz and Kolmanskop, which we can recommend, also route D707 on the way to Desert camp.
Swakopmund, Skeleton coast and Etosha. Cheetha view lodge was a great surprise, on the way back to Windhoek.
All lodges had very good standard, and our Toyota Raider, was well equipped, suitable on a Gravel-Travel safari like this.
We can recommend Allison and their crew, they provided all necessary assistance, with a great value for the money.



Sam   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 22, 2024

Email Sam  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Extremely well informed and responsive both in the booking stage and once on the ground.
5/5

Had a great time planning this trip with Allison, she came back very fast with an extremely detailed itinerary, which we barely tweaked.
Communication was first class, and during the trip Allison responded immediately to help us out on several occasions. The car, lodges, planned activities all met and exceeded expectations. On reflection we perhaps had one stop too many at the beginning of our tour, and perhaps should have missed the Kalahari, going straight to the Namib, and spending Xmas day in Windhoek and recovering from the flight for another 24 hours.
Our absolute favourite lodge was Mushara, great staff, great digs and the best food we had. Highly recommended.
Absolute highlight was lions in Etosha and unreal elephant interaction by Namuteni.
Loved every minute, and awesome value for money.
We will be back to explore Fish River Canyon one of these days.

Elena L   –  
Latvia LV
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 15, 2024

Email Elena L  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Reliable, offering the best at the competitive price.
5/5

Great Explorations Namibia (GEN) perfectly arranged our unforgetable holiday - and not only in Namibia!
We started with 9 days self-drive in Namibia, then we continued in Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe and Zambia) and Chobe NP (Botswana).
Lilly always made the right choice for us - in every country.
All accommodations, transfers, excursions and car rental company were top class, great value for money.
It was the last minute booking, but it worked out very well!
GEN is a gem! Reliable and supporting. Truly recommend.

John   –  
Canada CA
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Jan 11, 2024

Email John  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

In search of desert wildlife.
5/5

Our trip was well organized by Allison. All our lodge stays met our expectations. We Kebi Lodge in particular. The dunes and the wild oryx at Sussuvlei were very different. Driving to Swakopmund is tiring , as is the drive to Damaraland. Kayaking with sea lions in Walvis Bay near Swakopmund was a highlight. The game watching around and in Etosha National Park was wonderful. This is not the Serengeti, so you have to work at viewing the animals.
Our 4x4 Jimney ran trouble free the whole journey.
It was a great adventure and I highly recommend Great Explorations to anyone going to Namibia.

Tania   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 8, 2024

Email Tania  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Efficient, vastly knowledgeable and very friendly and easy to deal with, a pleasure!
5/5

I would wholeheartedly recommend Great Explorations Namibia, particularly Allison. We have never been to Namibia so needed loads of guidance about where to stay, what routes to take and what to do in each area. I changed my mind many times, sometimes because of cost, sometimes I didn’t want to travel to a certain place. Allison was extremely patient and had many iterations for all my changes. In the end our trip suited the budget and we were given lots of information on each camp, much needed directions on how to get there and options for excursions in each new camp. I hope this will not be our last visit to Namibia. Thank you Allison for tailoring a trip of a lifetime.

Susie   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 18, 2023

Email Susie  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Brilliant first trip to Namibia
5/5

We have just enjoyed the most wonderful three week trip around Namibia, organised by Lilly. From the outset, Lilly has been enthusiastic and efficient, listening to our requirements and wish-list, and from there putting together a very good itinerary, taking in some excellent small lodges to break the long journeys. We chose to do ‘self-drive’ (all arranged by Lilly, and included in the trip) and this was easy to do, particularly as Peter at Classic Cars provides very good cars and we loved having the fridge in the back for cold drinks. The roads are tarmac or gravel, and generally long and straight. If you stick to the speed limits, you will have no trouble, and Lilly provides a very good map as well as GPS. Both Lilly and Peter were readily available by email or WhatsApp whenever we had a query, and any small problems or questions were resolved immediately.
We would highly recommend Lilly at Great Explorations Namibia, and we hope to return next year to see more of Namibia.
The country is very beautiful, with each couple of days offering varying scenery, the Namibian people are very kind and gentle, and the high standards at the lodges for both comfort and food was remarkable. We enjoyed seeing the desert elephants and black rhino, and were lucky enough to see four desert lion at Entendeka as well as a black maned lion at Hobatere!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 44
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Great Explorations Namibia, not SafariBookings