Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 37
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 37 Reviews
Alix   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 16, 2024

Email Alix  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Responsive, genuine, knowledgeable, and helpful guides! Highly recommend!!
5/5

I originally reached out to CampTrek because of their positive reviews, and the entire experience from that point forward was nothing but amazing. They go above and beyond to earn every single one of those reviews and I’m happy to recommend their group for all your safari or travel needs, in and around Nairobi / Kenya. Both John (the owner) and our guide, Nyamu, were amazing. They were able to accommodate our last minute tour needs, and recommended the best packages available for what we wanted to do and see. Nyamu was able to put us on lions, and were the only ones that day to see them at Nairobi National Park!
From airport to hotel pick ups and drop offs, to Ol Pajeta, Lake Navaisha, Hells Gate and Crescent Island, Giraffe Center, Nairobi National Park, chimpanzee sanctuary and the Rhino Sanctuary, in just 3 days - it was an exhausting and fulfilling whirlwind we would happily do again! I can’t say enough thanks for their professional services!!

John   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 15, 2024

Email John  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

They are the only safari company to use in all of Kenya!
5/5

If you’re looking for a safari tour in Kenya look no further! Camptrek Safari’s is had down the best in Kenya! They are the nicest, most knowledgeable group of people! They know all the best spots to take you and how to find all the animal's! It was the most amazing 3 day adventure ever! John and Nyamu absolutely killed it!

Finlay and Stephanie   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2024

Email Finlay and Stephanie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Friendly, accommodating and trustworthy with knowledge and respect for the animals and environment
5/5

What an incredible trip! From start to finish everything was perfection and truly the best trip we have been on.

Our trip was from Nairobi to Ol Pejeta to Lake Nakuru to Masai Mara to Amboseli then back to Nairobi in 6 days. This was a complex itinerary that not many other companies were able to accommodate but Papa John was happy to organise this for us. Having never booked a trip like this before, the booking process made us slightly apprehensive as we had to pay a large portion of the cost up front by bank transfer directly to Camptrek. However, John kept up good communication throughout the period leading up to the trip via email and WhatsApp, helping us to prepare, which was very reassuring and helpful.

We were collected punctually from our hotel in Nairobi the morning we were due to set off (Papa John and our driver, also called John were 15 minutes early). Papa John confirmed all our trip details and we paid the rest of the money which we felt very comfortable about, with no rushing or pressure. We were given some wonderful merch before we set off with John for our adventure.

Me and my partner booked a jeep to ourselves which was a great experience as we were one on one with our driver and could have some flexibility throughout the day. The jeep was spacious, comfortable and we had lots of water provided. We had packed breakfasts from each accommodation we stayed at and had lunches at our accommodation, so never felt hungry.

Our driver, John, is a fantastic driver who safely transported us on our long drives between locations and taught us so much about the areas we traveled through. On one of the days our jeep malfunctioned (very common due to the bumpy game drives) and we were quickly collected by a new driver, David, to continue our trip. David was equally fantastic and informative and we always felt safe through our whole trip.
We booked mid level accommodation which turned out to be better than we had imagined it would be. We stayed in a mixture of hotels, log cabins and tented cabins. The locations were fantastic (on the edge of the parks so we were still in nature and also only a short drive to the daily game drives), the staff were friendly and the food was varied and tasty.

The highlight, of course, was the game drives. John and David were always early to collect us from our accommodation to take us to the game drives. Both John and David were incredibly knowledgable and respectful of all the wildlife, the parks and the people who care for them. We saw all the animals we had hoped to see (we even saw a lioness hunting!) and never once felt like we were encroaching on the animals space or making them feel stressed. It was wonderful to be with drivers who are so passionate about caring for this incredible ecosystem.
During our Masai Mara game drive we got engaged and John captured perfect photos of the moment then took us to eat our packed lunch with an amazing view of the park - a moment we will treasure for the rest of our lives.
At the end of our safari, we were safely dropped back to the Nairobi train station with plenty of time to spare, and shown how to collect our train tickets that Papa John had booked for us, to continue our trip in Kenya.
Overall we cannot fault the professionalism and care of the Camptrek Safari team and want to thank you all for the trip of a lifetime. We will definitely be back!

Anwesh   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 1, 2024

Email Anwesh  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Well organized flexible and competent Safari Operator
5/5

I contacted John initially while browsing different safari options. Despite changing my mind multiple times, John was patient and helped us select our ideal safari. We did the 7day tour of masai mara, nakuru, naivasha and amboseli. Our guide Antony was phenomenal and a very comptetent driver on difficult roads. He was flexible and listened to our requests about game drives. Overall, we really enjoyed our trip and would recommend everyone to use Camptrek!

Giulia   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 23, 2024

Email Giulia  |  35-50 years of age

safari in complete safety
5/5

a perfect holiday where everything was well organised. our guide was kind, helpful and discreet with us. he showed us so many animals and it was a journey that we will always carry in our hearts. Thank you!

Tyler   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 9, 2024

Email Tyler  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Exactly what we wanted
5/5

Camptrek helped to find us the perfect tour that hit all spots we wanted to see. From the initial booking period, Camptrek was very flexible in our changing itineraries and amount of people coming (as we had a few drop out). Both our Kenyan and Tanzanian guides were unbelievably skilled in finding all of the animals we wanted to see, and showed us many experiences that we were not even aware of. Wouldn't have changed a thing; we are very grateful for the experience!

Stefanie   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 5, 2023

Email Stefanie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Professional from the first minute
5/5

From the moment I contacted John I felt in very good hands, we had a spontaneous call were he answered all my questions directly. Together we brainstormed about the route and with John’s valuable input we decided to go for a 8 day safari with a final drop off in Diani Beach.

We were received by John and Anthony (our driver) right after landing in Nairobi at the airport at 4am.
We then directly headed to Masai Mara.
Anthony was an excellent driver and guide we always felt very safe.
The Sopa lodges in Mara and Lake Nakuru were outstanding and also Kibo in Amboseli was perfect.
Due to Anthony’s great experience in spotting animals we already saw 4/5 big five animals on the first two days. The following days were also very successful and exciting.

A big thank you to Anthony and John for this unforgettable experience. I will definitely recommend Camptrek safaris to my family and friends.
Asante Sana !!


Pum Zilver   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 1, 2023

Email Pum Zilver  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Personal touch and deliver excellence
5/5

My boyfriend and I have made a lot of trips, we never went to Africa as it always seemed like a big step from what we are used to.

From the moment we booked with camptrek we felt save and comfortable. The amount of love and care they put in their work is unbelieveable. Papa John took his time to answer all of our questions and concerns beforehand. He planned a perfect customized trip, with a clear and elaborate itinerary. Still we weren’t really sure what to expect but looking back now it was AMAZING!

The Safari was beautiful, like we were part of a beautiful movie/book.

The scenery, the national parks, the animals, John the guide, the road trip through the country, the 4x4, the popup roof, the hotels, lodges, camps, the coffee breaks, the food, the views we were in AWE, truly perfect. What a rush, highly recommended!

Tip: arrange 10 days off, save some money, call john & go

Special shoutout to binoculair-eyed John(our guide). The way you guided us was out of this world. You found all the animals, are very knowledgeable, knew everybody and made always sure we were OK and having a laugh. We were bawling when we had to say goodbye.

John, Lydia, Ben and Papa John Camptrek Safaris Kenya Asante Sana.

Love,
Lo and Pum

Lenny Kurup   –  
Canada CA
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 30, 2023

Email Lenny Kurup  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very well organized, excellent service and pricing!!
5/5

We were picked up from the Hilton Nairobi Airport 7:30am and dropped off 6 days later at 8:30pm after the most wonderful trip. John our driver was fantastic. He knew everything about the animals at each park. Amboseli for 2 nights, Lake Nakuru for 1 night and Masai Mara for 2 nights. John knew exactly where to go to get the best views and he got us there very quickly and safely. An amazing driver and conversationalist. 5*’s +. And John Ok, the organizer did an amazing job putting our trip together. Just my wife and I aboard the van. Benson our driver from Narok to the airport was also very good. Heavily recommend these guys.

Jean Jacques   –  
France FR
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 11, 2023

Email Jean Jacques

The best safari experience with Camptrek
5/5

We contacted "Camptrek" as a private couple on our own on "safaribookings" website from France. Camptrek's offer stood out to us for the best option regarding the trip and high-quality accommodation. John's communication was excellent and his assistance very helpful as he even assisted us with our visa procedures. We were picked up at our hotel by our driver and guide called Mnyama. With his years of expertise he ensured an exemplary drive on the roads and tracks and thanks to his knowledge of nature,he was always showing us the most interesting sights. We could see the Big Five and sometimes had the privilege of being the sole witnesses to enjoyable scenes with lions, rhinos, léopards..etc. . A big thank you to Camptrek and to the best driver in Kenya "Mnyama" , for making this experience unforgettable to us. Asante Sana kwa timu nzima!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 37
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Camptrek Safaris, not SafariBookings