​User Reviews – Samburu NR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 55 Reviews
Makis Visited: August 2005 Reviewed: Aug 11, 2011

Overall rating
5/5

Samburu is an excellent NP, I felt more on the wild than on Masai Mara

Claus Hjoernet Visited: August 2011 Reviewed: Jan 9, 2012

Overall rating
5/5

Wild, top class

joyandtony   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2007 Reviewed: Apr 7, 2012

Email joyandtony  |  50-65 years of age

A truly wonderful experience, which fulfilled all our expectations. It was a holiday of a lifetime!
Overall rating
5/5

We thought that the wildlife was superb spotting all the big five including a glimpse of a leopard, the scenery was great and the weather was very good. The accommodation was excellent staying in a lodge in Samburu National Park. We had own our guide who could not do enough for us taking us on extra safaris and we even visited a Samburu village and tasted their way of life. The food was well cooked and we even tried crocodile and ostrich eggs. Cannot wait to go back again

MeisjeSanne   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2006 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2012

35-50 years of age

In the footsteps of Joy Adamson
Overall rating
5/5

A wonderfull peacefull place, with a lot of wildlife. Giraffe, buffalo, waterbuck, elephants, zebra and the beautiful Grevy's zebra. Also Lion, leopard and cheetah are also quite easy to spot. The gerenuks wich stand on their hind legs to feed are great to see.

The landscape is rich and varied with hills and plains, wood, grassland and a river that runs through.

Angel P. A.   –  
Mexico MX
Visited: October 2007 Reviewed: Apr 19, 2012

35-50 years of age

An Exciting place for every kind of visitors with hihg density of animals and excelent services
Overall rating
5/5

My general impression is a place to see animals on their real habitat on very close situations. I personally stayed at the Samburu Serena Lodge. They are really friendly and accommodations are great. Also the food at the buffet.
The reserve is a very small place but the river is the meeting point for all kind of animals. The secret is to get a good guide with experience in a vehicle on good conditions.
I did all my trip to Africa helped locally with Abercombie & Kent and for sure they are the best on the continent. I think the most important think is do arrangements with a local company plenty of experience capable on connections and services continuity from one park to another.

Berend   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: September 2011 Reviewed: May 2, 2012

65+ years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Also a very quiet NP with a lot of animals and birds

Curtis Horton Visited: January 2002 Reviewed: Jul 2, 2012

Overall rating
5/5

Opportunity to see unique wildlife, such as the Grevy's zebra. Overused, but still a magical place.

florette kingston Visited: February 2009 Reviewed: May 24, 2014

Overall rating
5/5

we saw huge herds of elephant up very close .The Samburu National Reserve is located on the banks of the Ewaso Ng'iro river in Kenya. We stayed at Larsens tented camp here and we extremely happy with the whole experience

Sue Visited: January 2015 Reviewed: Mar 24, 2015

Overall rating
5/5

I loved Samburu National Reserve for my first view of animals I have never seen before, Grevy's Zebra, Gerenuk, and the Somali Ostrich.

Mn Reddy Visited: August 2014 Reviewed: Apr 9, 2015

Kenya is the best wild life reserves on earth
Overall rating
5/5


Yes i love Samburu National park a lot, bcz its having a unique semiarid weather conditions. I love there is abundant Bird life is there. The great big cats you will not miss anything, particularly the elephants due to its dusty conditions the back drop of Elephant shots will come out amazingly.
If any one will ask me do you recommend Samburu park, with out any hesitation i will vote to it.
Thanks.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 55
  • 4 star 18
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review