User Reviews – Toro-Semliki WR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-4 of 4 Reviews
Val and Simon   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2011 Reviewed: May 12, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Highlights were Semliki Lodge and a boat trip to see the shoebill on lake Albert. The lodge is superb for food and hospitality. Wild chimps also seen, but not a great variety of other wildlife. Tsetse flies a big problem

Shannon   –  
Uganda UG
Visited: February 2015 Reviewed: Apr 22, 2015

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Semliki is great for birding but lacks an abundance of other wildlife. We saw lots of birds, antelope, warthogs, monkeys and buffalo but not much else. There are a few elephants and chimpanzee but they are not always easy to find. The foothills of the Rwenzoris above the savanna was pretty gorgeous.

originalribenababy   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2010 Reviewed: Jun 9, 2012

Email originalribenababy  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Sadly I think Semliki is still recovering, or at least that was the case when we were there. True we didn't see another soul - even in the hotel we tried to visit! - but some of the game loops were closed. The buffalo and handful of Kob we saw looked truly surprised to see us!

The hot springs here are interesting and we had a good local guide take us there. There are also wonderful views from the roads across into the DRC.

Perhaps the new road they were building will change its fare?

gipukan   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: July 2010 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2011

Email gipukan  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Animals are difficult to spot here but the scenery makes up for that as well as the nearby hotspings.

Average User Rating

  • 3.5/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 1
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review