User Reviews – Aberdare NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 39 Reviews
Barbara And Doug   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Jan 1, 2020

Email Barbara And Doug  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
2/5

“Birding” tour in The Ark Lodge in Aberdare consisted of filling a bird feeder with fresh seeds - that was all. Also didn’t like the atmosphere.

Ray   –  
Philippines PH
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Dec 31, 2018

Email Ray  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Mainly for the night lodges, Ark & Treetops. Have camped up there one night thinking I do some hiking, but soon returned once I saw a buffalo.

aaroy   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: May 2015 Reviewed: May 6, 2015

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Wildlife less visible than in most other parks, because of the thick vegetation. However, when you do see animals, they are usually quite close.

Ian Macfadyen   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2010 Reviewed: Apr 30, 2012

50-65 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Not quite the Africa one expects! More like North Wales! Some areas were astoundingly beautiful - scores highly on scenic value. Elephants very shy and retiring compared with those we're used to seeing at Amboseli and Masai Mara.

Yu Luduo   –  
China CN
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2019

Email Yu Luduo  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

I saw many elephants nearby the lack,the design of The Ark is so nice that creating a warm atmosphere.A little civet came at night on the
stairs.

Tim   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Oct 9, 2018

Email Tim  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Absolute stunning scenery, most beautiful park I visited based on the landscape. Not touristy at all. We even spotted a few animals and got quite close with an elephant, but wildlife seemed somewhat rare.

docking a point based on that (although not important) as well as the fact that it is quite difficult to reach and traverse at some points.

Migara Wijesinghe   –  
Sri Lanka LK
Visited: July 2016 Reviewed: Aug 15, 2016

Email Migara Wijesinghe  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Aberdare was quite a chilled out experience. We stayed down at the Ark and that is a really nice place to stay at. Was lucky enough to see 2 leopards during our short one night stay and the experience down at the salt lick was amazing.

NSStone   –  
Australia AU
Visited: January 2016 Reviewed: Apr 3, 2016

Email NSStone  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

A beautiful area but harder to spot some wildlife as the jungle is dense

Russell   –  
Canada CA
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2015

Email Russell  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

We were only there for one night, so did not get enough time to assess the area properly. That said, The Ark was a very special place with its own watering hole. We saw a limited number of animals, but the proximity to those animals, and photo opportunities, were excellent. Bird life was abundant first thing in the morning and towards sunset. The biggest regret of our safari was that we wish we'd have stayed at The Ark longer. One down side to The Ark as a safari destination is that you can't travel around the area in search of wildlife, so what you see is what you get. It is very much down to luck what you see.

Rich Vliet   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2015 Reviewed: Sep 2, 2015

Email Rich Vliet  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

In Aberdare, we stayed at the Ark lodge. The ark is unlike anywhere else we went to - once you arrive, you are locked in until the next day. The lodge is surrounded by wildlife, and there are several viewing decks from which to see them. I'm glad this was the first location we went to - I think it would not compare to the parks we went to later on in the safari, but for a first night outside of Nairobi it was a lot of fun. The food and drinks were very good, and the wildlife viewing was very good as well - you can get very close to the animals on the lower level of the lodge. A good first night - I would recommend it as a way to start a safari.

Average User Rating

  • 4.4/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 19
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review