​User Reviews – Addo Elephant NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 75 Reviews
Marilyn   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2021 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2021

Email Marilyn  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Did not see that much game and park very dry

Marilyn   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2021 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2021

Email Marilyn  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Elephants make the park
Overall rating
3/5

Huts okay. A little inconvenient that cooking and washing up facilities not on premises. A clean-up needs to be undertaken around the vegetation as quite a bit of litter lying around

Brenda   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: May 2021 Reviewed: May 27, 2021

Email Brenda  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Addo elephant Park is really worth a visit
Overall rating
5/5

We spent two nights in Addo, sleeping at the Nyathi rest camp. This accommodation is beautifully positioned in that it is really very remote (no wifi or cellphone signal - sometimes a blessing....). There is a limited amount of game to see at the camp but the scenery and peace make up for this. The accommodation is very nicely appointed and the kitchen has pretty much everything one could want (only two of every piece of crockery and cutlery - which is a bit limiting). Parks people at the camp were friendly and attentive.
We really enjoyed the park, the lists of animals that one can see does not compare with Kruger BUT this does not mean that the game viewing was not great. We saw many, many elephant. So anyone wanting a close encounter of the elephant kind - this is the place to go.
I have never seen quite so many Kudu, there are quite literally herds of Kudu - usually one encounters a solitary Kudu half obscured by a bush - not in Addo, they are as plentiful as Impala are in Kruger - well not quite but one started to think that way. The bush pigs are very plentiful. We also saw lots of zebra.
The waterholes are the places to go to, easy viewing but one has to pick your time - as is the case at any waterhole - the animals are there and then they are gone.
We are not big "birders" but we saw some nice birds and the cherry was the secretary bird - wonderful.
The roads have been pretty well maintained and the restaurant and shops (some very nice up market curios - similar to what we have seen in the airport at ORT) are in pretty good shape. Overall we were impressed.
Addo clearly has some problems with regards to over grazing in some area and while one could be critical I would rather see it as a work in progress - especially when one considers the state of some other parks in South Africa/Africa.

Ian   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2020 Reviewed: Dec 19, 2020

Email Ian  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Great game viewing. Very poor food at main restaurant.
Overall rating
4/5

Rich in wildlife. Good viewing of elephants and plenty of other game.

The restaurant was a disappointment with Lack luster service and food quality poor.

Thierry de Chazal   –  
Mauritius MU
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Mar 28, 2020

Email Thierry de Chazal  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Nowhere to compare to Kruger or Sabi Sands..very few birds...

Ruth   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2020

Email Ruth  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
3/5

Too many cars driving around.

Gary Elson   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Jan 29, 2020

Email Gary Elson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Addo or Addon’t ?
Overall rating
3/5

After several trips to Kruger, Etosha and the KTP, I decided to give Addo a go.
I have to be honest, it was a disappointment . A small park with little real bush vibe due to the da t that you can see the surrounding farms, towns and wind farms from large parts of the park.
The vegetation isn’t the most attractive either, and the large open areas looked more like fields, giving a “safari park” feel.
There is no doubt that the elephant encounters are the highlight, but a day trip is probably enough, with maybe a night at the excellent Addo main camp to give the best chance of an early morning lion encounter.
But it’s not Kruger, a totally different experience and the 30 minute drive and access to boat trips are probably the only reason for choosing it.

Jess   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Aug 4, 2019

Email Jess  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Worst service at Addo Elephant Park
Overall rating
1/5

We arrived with no water at our accomodation and still had no water when we checked out. The park did not even have the decency to inform us of the problem let alone deliver a bucket of water for toilet use. We ended up having to go with bottles to reception to fill up so we could flush our toilet and at least wash our faces and brush our teeth last night and this morning.
This is disgusting for the amount you pay to stay in the park.
We won't be using Addo again.

Femke   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Jul 21, 2019

Email Femke  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Worth the price, nice daytrip!
Overall rating
5/5

Worth the price, lots of space! You'd best start around 9 or 10o'clock if you want to do everything because it is very big.

Anna Mahon Oneill   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Feb 13, 2019

Email Anna Mahon Oneill  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
3/5

I prebooked alot of my SA trip and felt Addo was the hardest place to book. Their accommodation is booked separately from the game drives and restaurant bookings so nothing seems straight forward, linked or easy. It took a total of over 20 emails to book anything, information on the website is wrong, email addresses on the website bounce back - i honestly don't know how they're so busy. I was expecting great things since it is the second biggest park in SA, both of the Addo accommodation we stayed in were lovely (better than expected) altho the plunge pool at our nyathi rest camp booking was very dirty so I sadly didn't use it at all. We did two guided game drives that did end up enabling us to see animals we hadn't seen at other reserves but the park is so big and the bush so dense that its hard to actually see anything unless you happen to be lucky and find the animal crossing the road. We didn't do a self drive, drive which we regret but as we stayed in the Nyathi rest camp it ment we were locked out of the park and made us feel like we couldn't explore as much as we would have wanted. The reception is a frustrating place were staff definitely take their time processing things. Paying for game drives is unorganised and could definitely be dealt with better. All in all i'm glad i got to see some animals as if i hadnt it would have been a waste. I'm not sure i would recommend Addo - maybe if your in the area or driving passed and have a few hours or a day to kill then definitely go but if pre booking i hope its a better experience than i had.

Average User Rating

  • 4.1/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 25
  • 4 star 33
  • 3 star 15
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review