​User Reviews – Chobe NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 190 Reviews
Patrick Smith Visited: May 2001 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2011

Overall rating
5/5

Chobe was, in parts, the most touristed and commercialized of the areas we saw. There are areas of the park that I would not return to because of the crowds and zoo-like feel of the wilderness.

One exception was the gorgeous Savuti area. Savuti's exotic-sounding name is matched by its sense of isolation and eerie beauty. This is a harsh, jagged region of primordial vistas that seem to belong in another epoch.

The campground showers here are built like bunkers, to keep thirsty elephants from wrecking them. At night, the walks from tent to toilet are made in pairs, flashlights blazing.

Setting up our camp one afternoon, I heard a sudden thrashing of branches just to my left. As I watched, an elephant walked out of the trees not forty feet away, trundling past my tent and into the next clump of trees.

E_Kister   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2010 Reviewed: Mar 28, 2012

35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Our hosts at Muchenje Lodge took us for a day-long on safari to Chobe National Park in an open vehicle that seated 8. Our driver and guide was fantastic! Knowledgeable, a great storyteller, and infinitely patient with the tourists who wanted to stop and snap pictures every 3 minutes. We must have seen over 100 elephants and nearly as many giraffe up close and personal. We saw and photographed an incredible beautiful lilac-breasted roller--the National Bird of Botswana. We could tell from the carrion birds that a lion (probably) had killed something nearby, and the driver did his best to get us there, but it was too hidden among the tall grasses and off the road. I appreciated the fact the driver respected the protections of the park and didn't go offroad into the muddy grass. So excellent all around!

Shahar Bar   –  
Israel IL
Visited: April 2011 Reviewed: Jul 25, 2011

Email Shahar Bar  |  under20 years of age

Chobe National Park for every one who love nature.
Overall rating
5/5

Chobe National Park is a great park for every person who love nature in any different way, from little insects up to big elephants.

The wildlife in this park is containing all sort of animals and all sort of types, insects, mammals, snake and lizards,birds and much more. The amazing part in the park is that the animals are completely free and don't have a fence to keep them in and they still staying in and around.

The park is combining couple of different environments for the animals. In the park there is water, bush, open area and even sand area which give the person who visiting an opportunity to see all kind of different animals in different situations.

My best part in my trip was that I had an opportunity in Sabuti to sleep in a tent in nature and to feel the wildlife all around and actual to hear and feel the nature all around me.

Chobe National park is defiantly my favorite wildlife adventure that i had so far.

Veronica   –  
Mexico MX
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Jul 15, 2019

Email Veronica  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful park with lots of animals but crowded
Overall rating
4/5

Chobe is a beautiful park next to the river. I saw many animals including elephants, hippos, lions, anthelopes and birds. However, too many cars on the same route. We were like 8 cars chasing two lions and at one point the lion had to go around a car. I felt so bad that we were harrassing the lions...

Yamil Saenz   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2016 Reviewed: Aug 28, 2016

Email Yamil Saenz  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

My Favorite place in Botswana.
Overall rating
5/5

The sunset cruise is a must.
Chobe National Park is an open window to the Pleistocene Period.
The concentration of megafauna is beyond imagination.
Here you will find some of the largest elephant and buffalo herds in the entire African Continent.
Not to mention real close encounters with Lions, hippo's, crocodiles and monitor lizards.
The rare Puku and the Red Lechwe are also very common.
Bird life is also abundant.

These are some of the pictures that I got in a couple of days.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/ysaenz/albums/72157671775156461


GoingPlaceswithME   –  
Canada CA
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Aug 1, 2016

Email GoingPlaceswithME  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Amazing sites and sounds of the African bush.
Overall rating
5/5

Having lived in Botswana about 10years ago, I decided to embark on a self driven safari. The Chobe National Park has a lot of wildlife, as such one does not waist time looking for them. The weather was perfect because in August the temperature is mild with no rain. August is considered one of the best times to visit Chobe National Park and neighbouring attractions such as Victoria Falls, Hwange National Park and the Okavango Delta. Accommodation at Chobe Safari Lodge was excellent and so was the sunset cruise along the Chobe River. My highlights included seeing some of the largest African elephants on earth crossing the Chobe River; the majestic Southern Hornbill; a Hyena walking on the side of the road looking for animal carcasses and; lastly seeing Lions and the African Spotted Dogs on the hunt. In my opinion visiting the Chobe National Park and surrounding attractions is a vacation of a lifetime and I would recommend it to all nature lovers like myself.

Lorraine Mills   –  
Australia AU
Visited: April 2016 Reviewed: May 13, 2016

Email Lorraine Mills  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

For my photography. Magnificent sightings and exceptional birdlife. Would highly recommend

Chris   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2018 Reviewed: Jul 11, 2020

Email Chris  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Paradise on Earth
Overall rating
5/5

Myself and wife did a self drive in Chobe National Park beginning of May 2018. Oh my god! I've never experienced anything like it. We saw so many beautiful animals and it felt untouched.
The highlight was getting stuck between a hunting back of 16 lionesses on a little dusty road as the sun was starting to set. We had 8 in front and 8 behind walking in complete silence with a our truck in the middle - they were not bothered by us in the slightest. We were physically shaking with adrenaline after the experience but it made us appreciate the beauty and power of these animals. 10 minutes before the lionesses turned up we got stuck by a big elephant who carefully guarded the road as his family crossed to reach the river. The very last was a tiny baby elephant who wrapped his trunk around the big elephants tail and they went into the river together - you couldn't wish for such an experience!
All I will say is this - if going on a self drive safari learn about the animals before you get there. Its not dangerous at all if you know the basic signs to look out for. I have a dozen of other stories from this one trip but wont bore you with them!

The people of Botswana are some of the friendliest in the world - they always seem to be smiling which is more than I can say for folk in UK. My only complaint is the holiday was too good. Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe, Chobe safari, whale shark diving in Mozambique. We met other couples that have been to Africa 10 years in a row - they cant find another holiday that comes close and I see why!

Doug   –  
Canada CA
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Nov 4, 2019

Email Doug

Second time in Chobe, amazing
Overall rating
5/5

We came to Chobe three years ago, in May. Saw very little, but still enjoyed ourselves. This time, hundreds of elephants, breeding herds of buffalo, hippo, croc, sable, lechwe, puku, tsebee and more. Some lions right by the side of the road! BUT, the first animal we saw on our drive was a leopard!!! On land in the morning, by small boat after lunch. Love Chobe.

denysdo   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Jul 18, 2019

Email denysdo  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Excellent wildlife density
Overall rating
5/5

Chobe National Park is one of the great natural reserves of Africa. It is a rather arid environment kept alive by the Chobe River which helps to concentrate wildlife and permits excellent viewing of large and small animals. Elephants, buffalo, and antelope are common and often in large groups. The river attracts birds, hippo, crocodile and one of the best vantage points to view animals is by boat. Surrounding the river, vegetation can be dense and animal viewing must be from vehicles on defined roads which may limit visibility of animals but provides more privacy and less environmental impact. July is dry season, and probably the best time of year to visit Chobe because they must seek water from the river. I stayed in a tented camp hosted by And Beyond Chobe under Canvas which created an immersive experience with the land, and the sounds of yapping jackals, roaring lions, and other animals provided nighttime entertainment and wonder. Food was prepared by campfire and the roving camp was specifically designed to cause low environmental impact. Our guide and camp team were knowledgeable, friendly, and seemed genuinely concerned about our experience. Nights were cool and the days were warm to hot so preparation is needed. Choose is an excellent destination for photographers. Consider the animals may be farther away then some reserves and a long lens is advised. I primarily used a 100 to 400mm. Chobe can offer a wide variety of experiences; the best thing about safaris is that you never know what you will see, but almost certainly, the magical experience will never fade in your mind.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 147
  • 4 star 34
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review