User Reviews – Damaraland

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 26 Reviews
Sergey Saveliev   –  
Russia RU
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Nov 13, 2018

Email Sergey Saveliev  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

First time in our lives we met and spoke with authentic local tribes (herero people, damara people and the himba). We had an opportunity to buy something very african from them, some items made with their own hands and by doing so support their communities.

Michele Bartlett   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Oct 28, 2017

Email Michele Bartlett  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Very beautiful scenery. Sightings of elephant and giraffe. Interesting culture e.g. living museum

ronmcbride66   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2016 Reviewed: Jan 8, 2017

Email ronmcbride66  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Stunning scenery. The highlights for many would be tracking the Desert Adapted Elephants (or rhino); taking a scenic flight down to the Skeleton Coast ... or visting a Himba village.

Marcellinissimo   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: Jan 24, 2016

Email Marcellinissimo  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

We saw the Black Rhinos in wild, absolute amazing. Landscape is great.

Christine   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Dec 12, 2015

Email Christine

Overall rating
5/5

The lodges (Hobatare & Grootberg) are extremely well run and not overdone. The guides were very knowledgeable and personable. Had my first experiences with lions and a white rhino on these tours.

Annette   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2015 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2015

Email Annette  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Gorgeous landscapes!!! I never saw the desert elephants, but saw signs of them. Someday I hope to return!

Val Edlin   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2013 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

A spectacular setting to Mowani Camp and such interesting interaction with the Damara at their museum, as well as seeing the rock art at Twyfelfontein. The desert elephants were such a highlight

Emiel de Lange   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: October 2011 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2012

Email Emiel de Lange  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Astonishing beauty, endemic birdlife and rhinos and elephants to be found. Fascinating people. Perfectly wild and rugged.

reggief340   –  
Russia RU
Visited: December 2009 Reviewed: May 1, 2012

Email reggief340  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

I spent five days in Damarland and was able to see much wildlife including the desert elephants and a pride of lions. The scenery was gorgeous and the camp I stayed in was excellent

mimi785nono   –  
France FR
Visited: September 2007 Reviewed: Apr 15, 2012

Email mimi785nono  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

If you have not the chance to visit the San people (Bushman), then listen carefully when they speak, all with click. The Sptizberg is great.

Average User Rating

  • 4.3/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 13
  • 4 star 9
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review