User Reviews – Madikwe GR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 31 Reviews
Wim Spronk   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2011 Reviewed: Mar 22, 2012

Email Wim Spronk  |  65+ years of age

Certainly one of the best and most comfortable game reserves in South Africa
Overall rating
5/5

Having been to most Game reserves in South Africa , my visit to Madikwe was certainly the best ever. Being able to watch game from our balcony at a small drinking hole less than 50 metres away with large herds of elephants coming to drink in addition to many other game species was one of the highlights. The area is malaria free and the scenery with unusual rock formations is beautiful. As an avid birder for many years I was thrilled with the abundant bird life. The guide we had was very knowledgeable and prepared to take us anywhere we wanted to go. We had excellent views of lion as well as black rhino.Some of my videos of this area can be seen on You Tube thespronks. (Young elephant showing who's boss and Lions Mating)

massarma   –  
Italy IT
Visited: December 2011 Reviewed: Mar 22, 2012

35-50 years of age

A great safari experience in a malaria free zone
Overall rating
4/5

Madikwe is a great destination for wildlife observation with a number of excellent and comfortable lodges. The wildlife is very impressive especially for large mammals. Lions, rhinos (both white and black) , giraffes, wild dogs, buffalos, elephants are relatively easy to see and you have the time to observe their behavior. The park is pretty large and you do not have the feeling of being in a 'large zoo', on the contrary; this despite the fact that the Game reserve is fenced. The part which is missing is a large river and the related wildlife such as hippos and crocodiles. We have seen and had the time to follow two wild dogs packs and two male lions roaring just in front of us (really unforgettable). The park is not accessible with your own car and that makes the experience really much better even if a bit more expensive. No traffic at all and very little chance of queuing to see wildlife.
Accommodation at Rhulani was very comfortable and they have a large pond where we had the opportunity to see rhinos, wild dogs , zebra, elephants and more when in the evening they came for drinking.
Scenery is the typical SA bush so do not expect large trees or a thick forest, it is not the landscape everybody loves.
Guides are friendly, helpful and very technical.
Final remark: it is a malaria free area and you do not need to worry about it or about yellow fever.
On balance the reserve I would recommend in South Africa.

Ronel van Zyl   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2010 Reviewed: Apr 11, 2012

Email Ronel van Zyl  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Beautiful scenery and off the beaten track. Luxurious lodges options with great food, good game viewing and warm days guaranteed.

Goodstuff Visited: August 2007 Reviewed: Apr 26, 2012

Overall rating
5/5

Great wildlife.

Nature lover   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2010 Reviewed: Apr 29, 2012

50-65 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Nice destination if you are visiting Johannesburg on business and want a quick safari experience - somewhat limited in variety of game.

Torrey   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2009 Reviewed: May 9, 2012

Email Torrey  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An adventure of a lifetime!
Overall rating
5/5

Madikwe Game Reserve exceeded my expectations. We saw the Big 5 on the first day of our safari. I was surprised how high the bushes were, I thought it would be flat. However, our guide drove on tiny trails right through the sharp bushes and we came across lion families, feeding lions, a leopard, baby hyenas, many giraffes, elephants, zebras, and other wonderful animals. The stars in the night sky were unlike I've ever seen. Without any lights around for hundreds of miles, the moon shone brightly. We had lightning and thunder storms every night that rocked our tent cabin and was an incredible experience. The accommodations were great. Mosetlha Bush Camp provided gourmet vegan options and the staff was very caring. Very small camp with private accommodations. Our jeeps had covers, so we did not get burnt by the sun during our 2 5-hour safari trips each day. I would love to do it again!

wildswan55 Visited: May 2007 Reviewed: May 18, 2012

Great stay, great guides, tremendous wildlife.
Overall rating
5/5

Had a wonderful visit. Lodging in a cabin of my own, outdoor shower was very cool.
Good food. Saw 4 of the big five.

Bob Dewar   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2009 Reviewed: May 18, 2012

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Madikwe was a life time expeience, beyound what we had hoped for or expected.
Overall rating
5/5

Our stay at Makanyane Safari Lodge was beyond our expectations. The wildlife and scenery of Madikwe left all of us with lifetime memories. The guides were very professional and yet were very real people. We liked the idea of no public driving to disturb the wildlife. Getting within 15 meters of three male lions and hearing their roars left us breathless. We can't wait to return!

Ken Okumura   –  
Virgin Islands (British) VG
Visited: May 2009 Reviewed: May 29, 2012

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Creature comforts and lots of creatures
Overall rating
5/5

We went to Madikwe Game Reserve in 2009, having been once before on a safari to its sister park Kwandwe some years earlier. I doubt any two game reserves are the same, and it Madikwe was very different from Kwandwe.

Highlights for me were tracking the pack of wild dogs (which are apparently very rare in Africa but were fairly plentiful in Madikwe), watching a pride of lions relax and play with each other next to the airstrip and having a lioness almost brush past my leg whilst I was sitting in the rear seats of the safari jeep.

Overall I'd thoroughly recommend Madikwe (and Kwandwe) to anyone wanting to get a safari experience whilst staying in relative luxury.

Kristin   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2011 Reviewed: May 29, 2012

Experience level: first safari

A life-changing experience that left a bit of my heart in Africa and that I will never forget!
Overall rating
5/5

The wildlife of the reserve was plentiful and we were always able to get quite close to most animals on every drive (morning, afternoon, night). The scenery was stunning -- I'll never forget sitting a top the hill as the sun rose and drinking coffee, listening to the sound of the bush coming alive. The weather was perfect in April - not too hot, not too cold. I really enjoyed the guide comments and character and how they shared so much knowledge about the animal's behavior, droppings, tracks, etc.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 23
  • 4 star 7
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review