User Reviews – Mahale Mountains NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 11 Reviews
Emerson   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Jan 31, 2020

Email Emerson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Another exciting place to take in.

Rudiger Schultz   –  
Finland FI
Visited: January 2018 Reviewed: Feb 7, 2018

Email Rudiger Schultz  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

The Park is excellent as is its wildlife and nature. The standard accommodation there is not overwhelming but all in all I rate the price-quality-relation as satisfying.

John Q   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2017 Reviewed: Jul 25, 2017

Email John Q  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Although when we did a one day hike the Kilimanjaro clouded over we enjoyed the plant and animal life so much. We did get clear views before and after our hike.

Eleanore Avery   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2012 Reviewed: Apr 19, 2017

Email Eleanore Avery  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Lovely camp setting on Lake Tanganyika. I did NOT so much enjoy vicious Chimpanzees.
Trekking terrain can be very difficult for a senior :)

Andre Gilden   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: October 2014 Reviewed: May 2, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Mahale is a very good park to see the chimpanzee. Lake Tanganyika is very good for fishing and sunsets. In the lake live a lot of endemic cichlids.

Code Redsniper   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: September 2010 Reviewed: Nov 11, 2012

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

very difficult to see the wildlife here

David Visited: September 2008 Reviewed: Jul 25, 2012

Mahale is a unique safari destination
Overall rating
4/5

There are no driving safaris in Mahale. You are on lake Tanganyika on one end and a very dense forest on the other. Viewing the chimps requires hiking to find them. Some of the hikes can be difficult, so you should be in good enough physical condition for the hiking. You cannot hike deeply within the park without a park ranger and guide. When not hiking, you can sit on the beach, kayak, snorkel, bird, and or relax.
Tanganyika is famous for its chiclids, so grab mask and snorkel and see them! The water is nice and calm.
Other than the Chimps, there are not a lot of large mammals to be seen. There are other monkeys in the forest and you may see an occasional hippo in the water, but that's about it. If you want to see the big 5, this is not the place. You can combine Mahale with another park to see the big 5 and to make a more complete Safari experience. For chimps in the wild, Mahale is amazing.

peter the safari maniac Visited: February 2009 Reviewed: Apr 11, 2012

Overall rating
4/5

Nice if you love Chimps and Jane Goodall and I do!Greystoke Mahale look for them they also do KataviFly but it will coast you like a charter!

butforthesky Visited: December 2011 Reviewed: Apr 5, 2012

Overall rating
3/5

A little too close to Arusha to really feel like you're on safari, but decent viewing and scenery

nilsrinaldi Visited: November 2010 Reviewed: Jan 23, 2012

Discover the chimps!
Overall rating
5/5

Mahale Mountains NP is not your average african safari destination: it is remote, wild, and does not bear the usual african wildlife. The main purpose for us to go to Mahale was to see the Lake Tanganyka, and to meet with the chimps. We were not disappointed. Landscape were totally amazing and different, with beautiful beaches along the lake and steep hills just behind.
And we got to see chimps all three days we went into the bush. When looking at a chimp, you are not merely looking at a wild animal. You feel that they are looking back, that something more than just animal instinct is happening inside their brains. Amazing experience!
We did get to see also some hippos, swimming in the lake (in clean water for a change...), and with a little luck we could have seen crocodiles swimming the lake as well. We also spotted baboons on a regular basis, and a few wild boars.
Go, you will not be disappointed!

Average User Rating

  • 4.2/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 4
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review