​User Reviews – Okavango Delta

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 111 Reviews
Jane Moran   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 27, 2020

Email Jane Moran  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Knowing that there was little water in the Delta, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience and saw more than we anticipated

Karmen Reid   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2019 Reviewed: Jan 12, 2020

Email Karmen Reid  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

The days were full of animal viewing. Excellent guides who found wonderful game for us to view.

Pippa   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Nov 4, 2019

Email Pippa  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Stunning, not many people and lots of animals that aren't accustomed to people.

Tina   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2019

Email Tina  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Birders’ paradise; did not camp here so can’t say much about Bush life

Vidyasagar Premkumar   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Aug 31, 2019

Email Vidyasagar Premkumar  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Great wildlife sightings (both predators and plains animals) and birdlife. Delta from the air is magical for photography, with sitatungas in the channel and same as kwando - focus of guiding on what we are there for - wildlife

Karen   –  
Canada CA
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Aug 1, 2019

Email Karen  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Magical safari experience.

Alex Bruce   –  
Canada CA
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Jul 22, 2019

Email Alex Bruce  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A once in a lifetime trip that did not disappoint.
Overall rating
5/5

From the moment we arrived at Belmond Eagle Island Resort, we were made to feel like royalty. The entire staff greeted us at the entrance in song, followed by refreshments and tour. The accommodations redefine the term "glamping" with our beautifully appointed tent that included an outdoor shower (as well as an interior shower and soaker tub), a walk-in closet and infinity pool on our deck. The food was as expected, just wonderful.
We chose the month of June as it's the ideal time to see the wildlife due to the fact its the wet season. Unfortunately, it just happened that it was the driest June they've experienced in 10 years. That said, it did not hamper or affect our visit in any manner. While sitting on our deck in our first minutes of arriving, we watched elephants, hippos, antelope, eagles, warthogs etc....thinking, who needs to go on a drive when you're surrounded by all of this wildlife.
We were assigned a guide when we arrived. The daily routine was, your guide comes to your tent at 6:00am with coffee for your wake up call. Breakfast at 6:30 then meet at the jeep for 7:00 - 7:30. The morning drive goes until approx 11:00am, return for lunch and then 'siesta' time until 3:00 when you meet at the main lodge for "tea" then back to the jeep for 3:30 for your afternoon drive. The afternoon drive lasts until sundown which ends at a scenic spot at which the guide sets up a little bar so you can enjoy a cocktail while you watch the sunset.
Being winter at that time, the morning temperature can be quite cool (between 5-10 degrees celsius). While they advise you to wear layers, fleece lined ponchos were provided as well as blankets for the morning drive. By the end of the morning drive however the layers are peeled off at the temperature shot up to the mid 20's. I don't think we saw a cloud the whole time we were there.
As a professional photographer I was thrilled that we had drives that included the beautiful 'golden hour light'. I was also very happy that our driver had a good understanding of light for photography and would always position our vehicle for the best possible angle to take pictures.
I won't get into the actual wildlife we witnessed, only to say that we pretty much saw it all, including the Big 5 - Lion, Leopard, Rhino, Elephant and Cape Buffalo. Our guide was amazing in his ability to track the various animals along with his knowledge of the area and wildlife.
Being a private reserve, we rarely saw another vehicle which for me enhanced the experience. As a bonus, I treated myself to a helicopter ride over the area which was a highlight of the trip, to see and photograph the animals from a different perspective. I would highly recommend the Belmond Lodges for that 'once in a lifetime trip and experience'

Eunice Horne   –  
Australia AU
Visited: April 2019 Reviewed: May 16, 2019

Email Eunice Horne  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Out of this world

Tess S   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Apr 18, 2019

Email Tess S  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

The bush walks in particular were extremely exciting. We also got to take a helicopter ride which was a beautiful way to see how the Delta is situated.

Kirstie Bankslyon   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Nov 5, 2018

Email Kirstie Bankslyon  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Hippos and elephants - as we were on a walking Safari the other animals were quite far away

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 111
  • 4 star 22
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review