​User Reviews – Pilanesberg GR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 89 Reviews
Nittaya   –  
Thailand TH
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 17, 2024

Email Nittaya  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

From the game, we found many animals, but for big 5 we found only 3 (Leopard, Elephant, Rhino). However, our driver, Lethabo, he is an experienced driver with lot of knowledge. He tried very hard to find the places where we might see Lion and Buffalo. Anyhow, it was a great experience and exciting day.

Dr. Lucy Damasane Marshall   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 16, 2024

Email Dr. Lucy Damasane Marshall  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

The tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable of the wild life.

Deon   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 15, 2024

Email Deon  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Deon and not that of SafariBookings.
The wildlife is abundant
Overall rating
3/5

The roads are in horrific condition and beyond repair. I would not recommend traveling with a standard sedan. Pilanesberg Center is a must see. Road from Bakgatla needs a complete redo. Wildlife is abundant. Pilanesberg WAS the crown jewel of the North West province. I assume mismanagement and incompetence being the reason for the decline of this once wonderful park. At least the Wildlife is still there.

Francine   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Feb 8, 2024

Email Francine  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing Days and Nights
Overall rating
5/5

Since we were staying in and flying out of Johannesburg, we chose the closer Pilanesberg over Kruger NP so we would have more time viewing animals and less time driving in the two days we had for the safari. It did not disappoint us at all. We travelled extensively through the park and especially enjoyed when our guide Shade took us to the less explored areas where there were fewer people, beautiful views, and interesting animals. In our two days which included evening and early morning exploration, we checked off all the Big 5 and so much more! We watched a pride of lions hunt and succeed in securing a meal, watched the elusive cheetah have a morning drink at the waterhole, and adorable baby elephants. I'm sure some of the larger parks may have a more wild feel and vibe, but we were very happy with our experience in Pilanesberg!

Aurelia kelly   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Nov 2, 2023

Email Aurelia kelly  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Breathtaking, absolutely love it there, it's so peaceful and calm, so much to see.
Overall rating
5/5

I absolutely loved this place, great get away with my family, amazing wildlife, I'm not a early morning person but getting up for the the game drives was worth it........ we had the best time!!! Would def do it again

Molahlehi Khiba   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2023

Email Molahlehi Khiba  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

My experience
Overall rating
5/5

I love this place and I'll be back. The air was fresh and I saw all the big 5.

Bongumusa   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Oct 29, 2023

Email Bongumusa  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Nature at its finest.
Overall rating
5/5

The accommodation is very clean, and facilities are stunning. Everything about the place is great. Had a wonderful wildlife experience. I will surely come back again!!

Vee   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Oct 5, 2023

Email Vee  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Greatest experience of my life can do it again with my family and friends without a second thought.
Overall rating
5/5

The experience was truly and amazing one going back

Desirei   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2023

Email Desirei

The review below is the personal opinion of Desirei and not that of SafariBookings.
The toilets in the park is disgusting.
Overall rating
1/5

It is an embarrassment to see that they take tourist to the bathroom in the game park. It is disgusting how dirty they are.

Tracey Skagias   –  
Greece GR
Visited: May 2023 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2023

Email Tracey Skagias  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

I have been around many game parks in my life - I was born and raised in Kenya. I know you have to be lucky to see certain animals. I did find the tarmac road through the park rather unusual, and although I understand the why, I found rhinos without horns a bit sad. The grass was very long so visibility was a bit difficult for things like warthogs, lions etc. It was very pleasant and my colleague had never been to Africa before so she found it wonderful.

Average User Rating

  • 4.4/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 48
  • 4 star 31
  • 3 star 7
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review