Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,265
  • 4 star 94
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 6

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-4 of 4 Reviews
Rejeanne lacoste   –  
Canada CA
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 28, 2024

Email Rejeanne lacoste  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Rejeanne lacoste and not that of SafariBookings.
Better speak to your manager at the camp , she was not very happy to serve us , the food no good
2/5

We have nothing to say about our guide PITA , he was excellent , he try hard to find animals in the safari to show us, he explain everything , I recommandent him , his the best. But about the camp , the ladies there were not very at there place to received tourists, always said , wait a minute…no smile, they laughed together, they said that the power is on at 6 to 10 , but it was not that. And the food , so bad for the price Jocky Tours charge us. We have the same night meal , 2 times, the beef was too hard in our mouth, you have to review your meals and the staff at the camp. We were 2 couples and my friends had a frog in his bathroom and ants in his mattress…

Julie   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Dec 16, 2023

Email Julie  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Julie and not that of SafariBookings.
Possibly poor computer security
2/5

We contacted Jocky Tours for a quote. They responded and we started communicating with them through the email address on their website info@jockytours.com. All communication was to / from this email. We sent payment as requested. When we got to Nairobi, they had no record of the emails or the payment. We suspect their email was hacked and our communications were being directed to a fraudulent third party. We have opened a fraud investigation on our side but caution anyone to be careful doing business with them.

Ronald   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Feb 10, 2023

Email Ronald  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Ronald and not that of SafariBookings.
Over promised, and under delivered.
2/5

The guide Joseph was fine. He was accommodating and knowledgeable.

The accommodation at Lenchada Tourist Camp was super sub-standard.

1. I was in a single tent that looked nothing like what was presented on the website. The bathroom looked like a prison bathroom; it was unclean with plenty of cracked tiles and mold.

2. There was no Wi-Fi, even though the website promised Wi-Fi. When I inquired about the service, I was told, "It's broken".

3. The food service was chicken; chicken and more Fing chicken cooked the same exact way every dinner. And it was not high-quality food. It was a buffet designed to spend the least among of money. They frequently run out of food.

4. The security was below standard. My tent zipper kept malfunctioning and would not close properly. A baboon was able to entire my tent and steal my backpack while I was on safari. Although the backpack was recovered, my clothes were spread on wet ground, plus my laptop and camera were damaged.

5. Luke warm water that you had to request be turned on.

6. Limited electricity (6:30 pm - 10:00pm and 5:30 am-7:00 am). Again, this was not disclosed in the advertisement.

7. Dirty carpet and plenty of insects.

8. A mosquito net with holes.

Not worth the $340 cash (they insisted on cash for a good reason, I would contest the charge on my card if they accepted credit or debit) I paid for three days. In short, the trip was over advertised and under provided.

Farida   –  
Russia RU
Visited: March 2015 Reviewed: Mar 10, 2015

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Farida and not that of SafariBookings.
Overrated. Had no luck with a guide driver.
2/5

So the main complaint is about information. It seems that our guide driver Matu was a lier! Or a joker, but it was not good that information about animals he gave us and other guides gave was very different. As not an local we cannot prove anything so it was kind of unfair. Also, he was late every day. Talked a lot with somebody on the phone and with other drivers. It was very uncomfortable to travel with him. He never commented his actions. We were driving about 3 hours under the hot sun with no words where are we go and what a going to do. And he had very bad accent. He always said "glass" instead of "grass" and other words.
Also it is a complaint about hot drinks. It was highlighted in the contract that drinks like sodas and beers are not included. But they didn't say a word that hot drinks are not included into lunches and you should buy it!
But they gave us a better price for that time. But at the same time the hotels and camps they are providing are so poor and incomfortable. Other proc is that they didn't want a prepayment (you know that e-payment systems are not brillliant in Africa) and the water was included in price.
I want to say a big thanks for Vinsent.

Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Posted on Mar 13, 2015

Thank you Faridah for your honest feedback about your safari Experience with us.We have made follow up with our guide Matu and found out that he indeed acted very unprofessional.All the drinks were included and you were not supposed to buy any drink by yourself,Matu says he didn't read the program well,which is nonprofessional. About "glass" and "grass" its his local/native language accent influence which we regret and apologize.We also apologize for learning that the hotels and camps we recommended you to didn't meet your expectations,though its because of the budget you wanted.
Thank you again for your honest feedback that will help us better/upgrade our service,We have suspended Matu for being unprofessional and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused to you.
We would like to invite you or your friends back to experience better service.Again Thank you Faridah

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,265
  • 4 star 94
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 6
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Jocky Tours and Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Jocky Tours and Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions