Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,136
  • 4 star 89
  • 3 star 7
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 5

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 89 Reviews
Joe W   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 11, 2024

Email Joe W  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic Safari and Guides
4/5

Really good value for money. We got to see absolutely everything we wanted to see over the 6 days on Safari. We got split across 2 tour guides over those days, particular mention to one of the guides Francis who was amazingly friendly, engaging and insightful. He really put the cherry on top of a really great trip especially when there's a lot of travel time between locations. Accommodation was good, the only thing that could have been better was a noise issue in our hotel in Nakuru but the tour company apologized and the other places we stayed were nice. The Masai Mara accommodation was SUPER basic so just be prepared for that. The food was generally ok, local cuisine which usually was rice, veg and a protein. As a veggie it was usually lentils and beans. Not a huge amount of variety over the week but you do get fed A LOT! I would say if you're veggie, try and be specific about what you want in your packed lunch beforehand because we got pretty stingey stuff compared to the meat eaters...

The Manjara Camp in Amboseli was super accommodating with the food though. What a lovely place to stay as well!! It was the best place we stayed by far! Henry was an amazing host and if we could have stayed longer there, we would have!! Special shout-out to Chef, she blew us away with how much she catered for us.

All in all, we had a fantastic time. If your focus is on seeing animals and being treated amazingly by very experienced guides, this is deffo for you! Bear in mind you spend maybe 10-15% of your time at camp so if you just want the basics like we did, it's perfect without all the bells and whistles!

Sara   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 9, 2024

Email Sara  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The best part of the tour operator was its guide Jimmy
4/5

- Jimmy our tour guide was excellent, patient and kind. Made the trip worthwhile. Always made every effort for us to get the most of the trip and seeing the animals up close in every given opportunity. Patiently attended to every request. Also, excellent driver. We saw other vans running up to issues and we did not had one. Jimmy always helped every one who needed.

- The tour operator was overall ok, but some things could have been better.

- Responses to emails was quick but sometimes did not answer to everything
- We were told that we could either pay by cash, or by a link provided that had a 3.5% bank commission fee or bank transfer with a 20 USD bank commission fee. We chose the latter, but when in Nairobi, at the office to proceed to the payment, the guy kept trying to negotiate a "bank fee" ranging from 3-5% over the price of the safari. We denied and managed to just pay the safari price, proving that there was indeed no bank commission fee.

- Accomodation was good, some more basic then others but overall good. Specially enjoyed Amboseli Manjaro Tented - lots of contact with nature.

Overall, great trip! If you are thinking about this operator highly recommend Jimmy as the guide

Thomas   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 8, 2024

Email Thomas  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Jimmy is an excellent guide however Jocky tours themselves were sometimes tricky to work with.
4/5

I'll first start by saying that our guide, Jimmy was absolutely excellent throughout the whole trip and went above and beyond to make everything memorable for us!

Initially upon booking, email responses were fast but a bit short. Sometimes I'd send an email with a few important questions and only receive answers for one. We were told we could either pay the $2600 dollar fee by cash in USD (not really comfortable carrying that much cash with me), pay by card and incur a 3.5% fee for "processing", or make a bank transfer and pay an extra $20 to cover bank charges. I chose the latter. Upon arriving in the office, we were told that wasn't an option and repeatedly had a card terminal thrust at us. He said the 3.5% covered bank charges but he could make it 3%, then 2%... (Dodgy). Finally he dropped the fee and we paid the $2600 by card with no fee - I'm still not certain whether this fee is genuine.

We were asked to take 3 guests with us on the 6hr drive to Masai mara. We agreed but feel like many others would prefer not to - having paid a lot more for a private tour - it is difficult to say no when put on the spot like that.

The tour itself was great - Masai mara was excellent and saw so many animals close up thanks to our guide Jimmy. He was one of the highlights of our trip - kind, knowledgeable and skilled at driving off-road. Where many others got stuck, Jimmy didn't. Lenchada tented camp was great - basic but that is what we bought. Hot showers and nice beds. Good food with vegetarian options.

Nakura accommodation was great. Good food and pool. Next morning was Nakura lake game drive which was a highlight - black rhinos and lions and much more. Naivasha lake was also cool with a boat ride to see hippos and other animals on the shore.
Hells gate national park was excellent where we rented bikes and cycled among zebras and gazelles to the canyon. Factor in an extra $20 per person for bike rental and a guide for this.

The long drive to amboseli was next but unfortunately Jocky tours had neglected to book our guide a room leading to him having to find accommodation some distance away from us. This meant the next days pre-morning game drive was delayed till nearly 10am and by then Kilimanjaro was covered in cloud. A bit annoying but I must stress this was not the fault of our guide.

Overall a great trip and amazing memories made, could have been a bit better on the organisation side by Jocky.

Ben   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 7, 2024

Email Ben  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great time on the safari, wish office was communicative.
4/5

Had a great time on the 5 day budget safari to the Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Lake Navaisha, and Hell's Gate. Raheem, our driver, was a great guide that tried hard to find animals and get us close.
I wish the office was a little more communicative after booking the safari through the phone, received little to no information or communication until the morning of and that was only what time the driver was supposed to should up.

Rebecca   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2024

Email Rebecca

Great price/value however hard to get complete answers from agency before hand
4/5

Great guide (Jeff ❤️), we felt safe on the road and Jeff made his best for us to see all animals on the safari! Price/value great, however I struggled to get quick and complete answers from the agency beforehand.

Rima   –  
Oman OM
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 1, 2024

Email Rima  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Safe and secure with Johny Johnson
4/5

It was a great experience with Jocky tours and this was made unique by our guide Johny whi went to all extent to spot all animals at all national parks. He was very patient and understanding. Although we had some issues with the accommodation, all those were covered with the attitude of Johny. Will strongly refer him for your safaris.

Roland   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2024

Email Roland  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

I recommend Jocky tours and Isaac
4/5

Our tour guide Isaac of Jocky tours made all the difference. He was very friendly, drove carefully, and took care of every aspect of our journey.
The chalky tourist person is friendly and helpful
We were lucky to see and experience wildlife.

Benny   –  
Norway NO
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 9, 2024

Email Benny  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Honest
4/5

Good safaritour guide who took is thru Masai mara. Loved it

Alex   –  
Greece GR
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 7, 2024

Email Alex  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Good budget operator
4/5

Moses was an excelent driver and guide. Very helpful. We loved dealing with him . Super professional.

Raffaela   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 30, 2023

Email Raffaela  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It was a stunning experience with many beautiful sceneries, animals and people
4/5

Before the tour the communication was sometimes slowly. Apart from that everything was excellent. I loved to visit all those beautiful national parks and to see so many different animals. The people were very kind. The driver, whose name is Albert, was very well-managed, relaxed and knew how to handle everything. I’ve never experienced someone with such great driving skills before. The accommodations were fine and each time we got a better one than before. The first park was stunning because of the scenery and the huge amount of different animals (Masai Mara), the second (Lake Nakuru) was beautiful especially because of the lake and the different birds, the third one (Amboseli) even got a lion family living in it and we saw the great Kilimanjaro.
It was a great and stunning experience and the company is reliable.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,136
  • 4 star 89
  • 3 star 7
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 5
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Jocky Tours and Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Jocky Tours and Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions