Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 431
  • 4 star 53
  • 3 star 4
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 5

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-4 of 4 Reviews
Alex   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 12, 2022

Email Alex  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very good driver
3/5

Very good value for money. Saw the full big 5 in massai mara, with a very skilled driver. Camp side was very nice, with own bathroom.

Jazz   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2022 Reviewed: Apr 18, 2022

Email Jazz  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Good price, bad safari.
3/5

If you can only afford a budget safari and just want good pictures of animals, then this one might be a good option. The cost includes all meals, park entrance fees, transport and everything was well organised. However, if you would like a good safari with nice animal encounters, then I'd recommend going with another operator.

We were driven around in the Masai Mara for 3 days by Isaac from Jocky Tours. Isaac had his radio on constantly, listening out for reports of sightings. As soon as a sighting was reported (which was pretty much constantly, the charm of the Mara!), he'd put the accelerator down and drive full pelt to the sighting location. You'd be thrashed around at the back of the vehicle. Isaac would go off road at every possible opportunity. The Mara is scarred with tyre tracks, even though guides are supposed to stick to the roads. Once we'd reached the animal, Isaac would do all he can to get in the path of the animal, and as close as possible. Sadly, most other cars had the same idea, making the animals very stressed as lots of cars (most of the time 15+ cars) fight to move within 2 metres of them. As the animals move, the cars move too, constantly creeping closer and interrupting their path. This meant that most of our animal encounters were actually just distressing, rather than enjoyable. This appears to be a problem with most drivers in the mara, not just Isaac, and needs to be sorted.

We asked Isaac if he could slow down, stop driving in the animals path and we said we did not want to go close to the animals and cause them stress. However, he didn't listen and continued to do as he liked.

There were a few nice moments with animals, where we asked Isaac to stop and turn the car off. But any peace was disrupted by the radio or him on the phone. He'd also decide quite quickly that he was bored and start the car and drive off, cutting our nice moments with animals short.

I left the Mara feeling quite sad, realising that the chaotic and cruel interactions between animals and the drivers that I'd experienced, most likely happen on a daily basis.

If you are looking for an enjoyable safari and a guide that actually cares about the wildlife, I would not recommend Jocky Tours. Despite the price tag for this Jocky tour trip being so appealing, I'd recommend finding another operator and being clear to them before booking about what type of safari you'd like to go on.

Rich   –  
Slovakia SK
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Mar 22, 2019

Email Rich  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

good office interaction, driver not perfect
3/5

Minneh was great helping get this organized at the start and was quick to respond to our questions and queries, which was fantastic. But there were some mixups on what time we were supposed to be picked up at our hotel to start. Not a big deal, but we were told three different times and ended up ready at 7am while the driver said he was told to get us at 8am. A bigger deal was the 45min wait at the tax office coming home while our driver sorted out permitting issues on the way out. Other safari teams came through the tax checkpoint quickly, showed their receipts, and left -- less than 60 seconds -- while our paperwork wasn't quite right, and so we waited and waited and waited.

The animals of course were great, which is what you want to remember from the experience. And Keekorok lodge, while dated, was a great location and had super friendly staff.

I'd probably be okay using Jocky Tours again for the ease of payment and organizing, but just double and triple check how things are supposed to go on timing. And maybe avoid Leonard as a driver. We didn't get as a warm a fuzzy with him as we might have liked -- he'd clearly done this a lot before, but spent a lot more time on his phone while driving that we would have wanted.

Marc   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2016 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2016

Email Marc  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Nice safari, old and broken vehicles and poor staff
3/5

Although Safari was amazing and we get to see all animals, there's a huge room to improve in staff/drivers and vehicles. Our vehicle was broken two times, we've change to another vehicle, and this was broken again. Drivers due not explain many things, and they drive looking all the time the mobile phone, so the trip was not safe. They don't provide you waters even it's included on the price, you have to request them all the time. On a stop to a restaurant, the driver and vehicle has disappear without saying nothing with all our bags, because they have to repair the vehicle, a bad experience. Price is good.

Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Posted on Sep 7, 2016

Hi Marc, Glad that you loved the safari part. We unfortunately regret and apologize for the vehicle breakdowns you had and unprofessional nature of our driver guide of the day. You traveled during peak time of the season and therefore there was a strain in resources, all our guides and vehicles were full booked and therefore we had to out source the guide you used on this particular day and leased his vehicle too. Sorry for the inconveniences caused to you.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 431
  • 4 star 53
  • 3 star 4
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 5
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Jocky Tours and Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Jocky Tours and Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions