Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 108
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 111 Reviews
Julia, Jean-Michel and Jules Monod   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 18, 2023

Email Julia, Jean-Michel and Jules Monod  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Our safari was simply perfect
5/5

After a long search for a Kenya safari we stumbled onto the Transtrek website and based on the excellent reviews sent off an email. On very short notice Daniel Francis put together a safari for us, for the dates we specified, taking into consideration all our wishes. We chose the Samburu Five and Big Five 10-day safari, which took us to five parks representing a varied range of landscapes and wildlife. We initially had some reservations about the fairly long drives between parks but soon realized the advantages of a much more flexible schedule and the opportunity to see the changing terrain, towns and villages.
It was our first safari and one of our best trips ever! The carefully chosen accommodations were all top-notch and our driver and guide, Peter, made sure we missed nothing – pointing out invisible birds and well-camouflaged animals while negotiating challenging terrain. A true professional, well liked by all the other guides, with an uncanny instinct for just where the animals were going to be, Peter was as enthusiastic as we were, and even ecstatic when he spotted a striped hyena for only the second time in his career!
We were amazingly lucky to find Transtrek and recommend them unreservedly – our safari was perfect down to the last detail (and very reasonably priced). Ten days went by in a blur and we’re looking forward to going back!

Andy   –  
France FR
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 12, 2022

Email Andy  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very professional throughout the preparation and the safari itself and exceeded my hopes.
5/5

I had decided to treat myself to an exceptional retirement present and do something I'd wanted to do since childhood. Initially, I approached Transtrek based upon the reviews, here, and everything fell into place. There were numerous telephone, e-mail and WhatsApp exchanges with Daniel to plan an itinerary based upon his advice, onsite logistics and my wishes resulting in a 16 day tour to take in Tsavo West, Amboseli, the Aberdares, Samburu, Ol Pajeta, Lake Naivasha then two camps in the Masai Mara. A lot of driving between parks and conservancies but well worth it. Peter, the driver guide, was impeccable. Very flexible, always ahead of time for the game drives and somehow managed to spot and namle the wildlife while manoeuring the land cruiser across rugged terrain. There were some simply incredible moments. A family of cheetahs feeding on a kill, a leopard nursing her cub, lion cubs playing in the pride, a pair of maned males drinking at the river, crocodiles basking on the bank, elephants taking priority at a waterhole, a pair of ostrich with a dozen chicks in tow .... the list continues ... Excellent accommodation too, no hassles. Priceless memories.

Jamie   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Sep 30, 2022

Email Jamie  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing!
5/5

Good day!

I wanted to send a huge shout out to Peter, who led our recent safari trip in Kenya. He was extremely knowledgeable of all the flora and fauna and went out of his way to share his wealth of information with us. We felt safe in his capable hands and he always had our safety in mind when we were with him. Peter was plugged-in with the other guides and was always in the communication loop when animals were nearby. We could not have asked for a better experience - as we looked back on the trip we talked about how great he was and that we were lucky to have had him as our guide. My brother and his wife live in Nairobi loved the great feedback and hope to use your company again for future guests.

All the best from Texas , USA , 5 happy guests- ages 13 to 74!

Sarah   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 20, 2022

Email Sarah  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Safari of a life time
5/5

It was fantastic – it was the best thing we’ve done. Really enjoyed every second of it and all went smoothly. We especially appreciated Mara River Camp – couldn’t have asked for a better setting or friendlier staff – we were upset to leave!! Kamau our driver was lovely too – made us feel informed and safe and was clearly very knowledgeable and caring toward the wildlife. He went out of his way to cleverly get us into fantastic viewing spots. We even managed to see a little of the migration! We honestly don’t have any negative feedback to give you and thanks again for organising it all. We are really hoping to come through you for our next Kenya safari (after we have time to save up).

Gerard Winnard   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 8, 2022

Email Gerard Winnard  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Superbly organised, left us nothing to worry about and exceeded our expectations
5/5

We went on the Sumburu five and the big five trip. We've never been on safari before and were super excited if not slightly nervous having never been to Africa before. We needn't have worried we had a superb driver and guide , Garoua (Peter), he looked after us superbly well, we new exactly what we were doing every day , and he was happy to adapt the plans for the day. The whole safari was very varied with something new every day. There were some longish travelling days but that gave you the chance to see the sights of Kenya. Some of the highlights for us were the lion tracking, night drive, the trip to see the migration and finally spotting a leopard on our last day (thanks mainly to the perseverance of Garoua). The accommodation and food were of a good standard and the level of service from the Kenyan people was excellent. I thought the trip was extremely good value for money . I would highly recommend Tanstrek and when we return in a few years we'll definitely be using them again

Lucy   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 8, 2022

Email Lucy  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very organised and reliable. Always accommodating.
4/5

We had an amazing trip. Travelled many miles and hours in the back of Peters Jeep. Stayed in some lovely safari lodges. Peter was really knowledgeable and reliable. Nothing seemed to faze him. Thank you.

Leena   –  
Finland FI
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jul 28, 2022

Email Leena  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very well-planned
5/5

We are a family of 4 grown-up persons, and went to Kenya for a 13-day safari tour organized byt Transtrek safaris. We stayed in 6 different places, and really enjoyed each of them. We saw lots of different animals, and it was incredible how near of them one could go, if lucky. A lion just beside your car! A giraffe coming to greet you to your balcony! Our guide Peter was very good in spotting animals, we even saw a newborn dik-dik.
I can highly recommed.

Ian and Beth   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2021 Reviewed: Jan 15, 2022

Email Ian and Beth  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Third Trip with Transtrek
5/5

Kenya is like a magnet and a breath of fresh air after last year's UK's virus straight-jacket. This was our seventh safari in Kenya and the third with Transtrek who are becoming a go-to brand. For this trip we opted for an extended Wilderness and Waves package focusing on Nairobi, then Parks to the south east (Amboseli, Taita Hills and Tsavo), ending at the beach at Chale Island.

All parks offer something different and this trip was a welcome revisit to the area after several years of exploring locations lying in a band from Samburu to Mara. Tsavo was much greener than when we last visited. Game viewing was very good in all parks - we saw a plethora of elephants and giraffes, one group of giraffes being unusually large at 19 or 20 strong. At Kilaguni we were treated to an elephant parade down to the waterhole; a one-tusker had probably the longest tusk we have yet seen in the wild. There was also a multitude of birds, sadly often overlooked by many travellers as there is so much beauty in creatures smaller than the big five. We started the journey with visits to the Giraffe Centre, Karen Blixen’s house, and a revisit to Sheldrick’s Orphanage. These conservation centres are moving places, playing a critical role in wildlife preservation and are well worth exploring and/or supporting.

The quality of all safari camps was excellent with special mention going to Kibo and Satao where the cuisine was outstanding. These camps were new to us and we would rank them amongst the best in all our previous safaris. Rigorous precautions at all times in all camps made us feel completely comfortable regarding Covid. Also, the quality of service at all times was excellent. Kenya has always made us feel welcome.

On this trip we were guided by Peter who made it a wonderful safari. His joy and enthusiasm for creatures great and small was quite evident and infectious. As amateur photographers we really appreciated his efforts to place us in good positions for photo shoots. Daniel’s organisation, as usual, was excellent. Transtrek will certainly be in pole position for our next trip to Kenya. I have no hesitation in recommending the Company and would be delighted to see visitors returning in numbers to the Country.

Tritensor   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2021 Reviewed: Jan 12, 2022

Email Tritensor  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent Safari From Transtrek
5/5

We went to 2 Game Parks (Sand River in the Masai Mara, and Tortillis Camp in the Amboseli), and a Coastal Destination (Chale Island, The Sands) as well at the Giraffe Manor in Nairobi. It was all excellently organised by Daniel at Transtrek Safaris. The entire series of destinations were visited without a hitch (transfers, pickups, flights, etc). I would highly recommended that Transtrek be used on future safaris.

Ian and Beth   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 26, 2020

Email Ian and Beth  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Return Customers
5/5

This was our sixth safari in Kenya and our second trip with Transtrek, here visiting the Mara and Naboisho. After a telephone discussion Daniel organised our trip superbly at relatively short notice. As enthusiastic amateur photographers we much prefer the freedom of independent (v group) travel, and Transtrek admirably supplies that option. Tony guided us for the second time; he has previously worked with professional photographers and knows exactly how to position you for great shots. I have no hesitation in recommending him to other keen photographers. For this trip Naboisho comfortably edged the Mara, in part due to the heavy rains. We much look forward to our next Kenya visit.
Ian and Beth

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 108
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Transtrek Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Transtrek Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions