Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 31-40 of 49 Reviews
Marina   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2018

Email Marina  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great budget company!

The experience of doing a safari in Kenya was incredible! I did a five nights safari: 2 in Masai Mara, 1 in Lake Nakuru, and 2 in Amboseli.
Rose is very nice and answered all our questions. I just think that the communication could be better, specially right before and on the first day of the trip. I was a bit lost.
Our guide/driver, James, is very experienced. He knows where to spot the animals. We saw the big 5 in one day!
Really loved the experience!

Ope   –  
Nigeria NG
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Jul 20, 2018

Email Ope  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It was Wow experience. I will recommend them to anyone any time anyday

yes it was. They are really nice and have good customer service

Tony   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2017 Reviewed: Nov 19, 2017

Email Tony  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great 7-day safari

I did a 7-day tour with Safari Line Defender covering Maasai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha, and Amboseli National Park. It was a fantastic and positive experience. Rose was quite helpful as soon as I booked, constantly keeping me informed and asking how she could help. She even got me a discounted hotel booking and arranged all the airport taxis. The safari itself was busy and well planned. We had a very good guide, Patrick "Papa". He was knowledgeable, warm and very patient. All the arrangements worked well. The main issues in my safari were the state of the roads leading to the Maasai Mara and the traffic jams to Amboseli (between Nairobi and Mombasa). These need to be factored into all plans, but they are Kenya Government issues rather than the fault of the safari company. The campsites (at Maasai Mara and Amboseli) and the hotels at Nakuru and Naivasha were as expected for a budget tour. This was my first time in Kenya and it is a beautiful country, blessed with great wildlife and natural resources. Thanks Rose and Patrick for a great experience and I would definitely recommend this company.

Naheed   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2017 Reviewed: Nov 4, 2017

Email Naheed  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Disappointing....waste of money... major let down!!!

Having come close to the end of my tour in East africa, and having had an amazing time, i couldn't leave without visiting the masai mara. So I enquired about the 1 night 2 day tour with safari line defenders, Rose was helpful at that time and gave me lots of details about the tour regarding timings and what I should expect. Pleased with the information I had received I booked the tour...only to find out everything she had told me was a lie. She had basically falsified the details just to make a sale. She claimed the game drive would be 12hours over the 2 days, which I thought was a bit of a stretch for 2 days but it's her job she knows best, right?. No,  We drove for a maximum of 3 over the 2 days, so much time was wasted waiting around. We arrived at the campsite on the 1st day at 3pm ( although Rose said we'd be there for 1pm) and we waited around wasting time for the driver to take us on the drive at 4.30pm. Inside the masai mara,  the driver didn't make an effort to point out any animals or provide information about any of them. After 2hours of driving we returned to the camp...disappointed is an understatement of what I was feeling at this point, but I had the following day to look forward to. Come the second day we were ready to leave as requested at 6.30am. We made our way to the mara, drove around the same area again with not much of interest. The driver had told me the night before I would have to change groups, as the group I was with was not return today so I had to join a different group to return back. So he rang another driver to find out if I could get into their vehicle... in the middle of the masai mara I had to get out of my vehicle an into another. So the tour/ nightmare  continued so we drove around spotting some lions n cheeters on the way. At 8am the driver said we will now drive back. I was shocked I had paid a grate deal of money for this?? So we returned. The driver was to drop each of the group members back to our hotels, I said I wanted to go to the office as I wasn't happy with the tour. He decided to make a phone call to let the office know. Personally I think it was to forewarn Rose about how i felt. On arrival at the office, surprise surprise Rose was nowhere to been seen. The guy at the office said it was Rose's sale so he couldn't do anything and said Rose would call me that evening ( I was flying out of Kenya 5am the following morning). The evening came and went and I received no form of communication from Rose. I wasn't going to miss my flight so I packed my bags and returned to the UK. Rose did message and her resolution was to offer me a free tour the next time I came, I wouldn't be returning to Kenya any time soon to a couldn't take the offer, I told her. I requested a refund, but she refused and said I had to email the director of the company about my complaint, which I did. Did I get a response? No, no surprise there.
All in all a very disappointing experience and waste of money. I wouldn't recommend this tour company to anyone. If you want to experience a real game drive don't use this company.

Reply from Safari Line Defender
Reply from Safari Line Defender
Posted on Feb 28, 2020

We are sorry for the misunderstanding. you booked 2Days 1night joined safari.. As usual, The safari starts at 8:30AM. and get to the Masai mara at from 3pm. depending on the the road and weather. If you arrive late in the Masai Mara then there will be no time to drive to the Mara river which is quite a distance and that is schedule for the following day and evening game drive is done. According to the national park rules, The check out time is 9am otherwise you will have to pay the park fee for another day.

When joining a group,not everybody is doing the same days. so interchanging car is normal. and this is made clear before the safari starts.

The driver explained to you that going to The Mara river would not be possible due to the time limit. An overnight safaris is quiet limiting. Sometimes understanding is the key to happiness....

Akshay   –  
India IN
Visited: October 2017 Reviewed: Oct 30, 2017

Email Akshay  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent service; complete value for the price charged

Rose and David were exceptionally good ; we have no complaints. The tour is excellent for budget travelers; hotels are good for the price offered. David is excellent at spotting animals and tells a lot of details about each of them. Recommend them for everyone who wishes to explore masai mara without a huge dent in their wallets.

Jimmii Shin   –  
South Korea KR
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Oct 21, 2017

Email Jimmii Shin  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Such a lovely 7 days

I wanted to see Masai Mara, Hell's Gate, and Amboseli and I found this item. I actually contacted several other agencies but SafariLine Defender was most kind, so I decided to go with this.
Every day was so wonderful, each day had its own surprises, crews were nice, and group members were young and cheerful. (I am young and I was expecting people of my age) At the end at Amboseli, I almost disappointed, of course, you have already seen all the animals and nature on your previous 5 days, but on my last day sky was clear enough to see Mountain Kilimanjaro very clearly so I was satisfied.
Everything is as described, well.. wonderful driver/guide was not on description. Our guide 'Papa' made our trip even more great.
Hotels in Nakuru and Naivasha are really nice, although in Masai Mara and Amboseli it's difficult, of course it is budget range and it's campsite. If you are not up for tent accommodation, I think you can always ask for upgrade.
I definitely recommend SafariLine Defender. Thank you Rose!

Diptiman Sengupta   –  
India IN
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Oct 5, 2017

Email Diptiman Sengupta  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

An amazing Masai Wonders with Safari Line Defenders

I am a Travel Consultant from India by profession and an avid Amateur Wild Life Photographer. I was long looking for a good Service Provider for a business relationship to promote tourism in Kenya and had been in line with plenty of operators. Finally came across Safari Line Defenders and though before starting a business relationship, I should personally have an understanding of the quality of service. Thus, booked a 6N 7D Trip covering Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Naivasha, Hell's Gate & Amboselli trip with them. I would if not 100% would surely rate them 99% for their prompt service delivery and quality. I would recommend all to try them out for your Wild Life trip to Kenya for sure.

Jordi Cardenas   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2017 Reviewed: Aug 15, 2017

Email Jordi Cardenas  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Everythings it was fine.

Your adress in internet is not correct and i was stay in Nairobi looking for your office by taxi but we can not found in this adrees. The rest of our trip is was very well.

Best regards

Piotr   –  
Poland PL
Visited: July 2017 Reviewed: Aug 3, 2017

Email Piotr

Nice for backpackers!

Nice safari considering short time sacrificed for it. Guide was really experienced! I can recommend it for backpackers :)

Jacques   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: July 2017 Reviewed: Jul 24, 2017

Email Jacques

A great experience

Very good driver and guide, unique views of wild animals, interesting meeting with Masai people, good food and normal tent camp.

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 34
  • 4 star 11
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 2
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Safari Line Defender, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Safari Line Defender are subject to their terms & conditions