Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 229
  • 4 star 28
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 6
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 265 Reviews
Jean luc   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: November 2015 Reviewed: Mar 9, 2016

Email Jean luc  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Awesome Experience at Viva Safaris
5/5

We had an unbelievable time at Tremisana Lodge where we stayed for a few nights. The accommodation was great, the people were very helpful and the hospitality we received was like we were family. We saw some unbelievable sightings and the rangers were very knowledgable. I particularly enjoyed the early morning Game walks. It felt like we were really living the bush experience and I would recommend anyone who's looking to go on a safari or looking to have a break under the African sky to stop over at Viva Safari's for an unforgettable experience.

Cathy Martin   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2014 Reviewed: Mar 9, 2016

Email Cathy Martin  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The Jewel of Africa
5/5

In 2010 at the age of 50 something I finally decided to follow my lifetime dream and visit Africa. As it was a solo trip and had no idea where I wanted to go, I spent many weeks searching the web for the perfect and safest place that met all my requirements. I finally was guided to Viva Safaris website and I knew this was the one. Six years on and I have returned many times.

Viva Safaris has not just become another Safari company offering a wide range of activities, they are now family and treat me as such. I have seen their programme of activities grow throughout the years offering guests a more personalised adventure that is suitable for both adults and families at a very competitive price.

From the moment you are collected from your accommodation your adventure begins until you finally have to bid farewell you leave with memories that will last a lifetime.

The transfers to and from Johannesburg is aboard a 12 seater comfortable mini bus, the journey does take around 6+ hours there is many stops on the way and also an hour stop for lunch. The time goes by very quickly as you get to know fellow guests.

On arrival at Tremisana I was met with a warm friendly welcome from the Hostess and staff providing cool drinks for all guests. The first thing I saw was the beautifully kept tropical gardens surrounded by thatched roof lodges and a swimming pool. The lodges are spacious, comfortable and very clean, each one has its own distinct African feel about it. The en suite lodges also have tea/coffee facilities. The Lapa area is where breakfast is served and it borders Balule Nature Reserve which is part of Kruger National Park. This area is so peaceful (when the vervet monkeys are asleep) and I have spent many hours sitting on the swing bench reading and observing the wildlife around the watering hole. There is a bar area where you can relax with a beer and access the free wifi. The dining area gives you no doubt that you are in Africa with its open firepit and the smell of delicious variety of home cooked food.

The Game Drives were everything and more than I could have ever imagined. The Balule Reserve and of course visits to Kruger National Park has an abundance of wildlife and the open game viewers gives you the ultimate viewing platform to see magnificent wildlife up close. The Wildlife Guides are all very knowledgeable in conservation, animal behaviour and identification from the largest to the smallest inhabitants that they share their lives with, all done with amazing sense of humour. The Bush Walks opened up another world to me and gave me the understanding why everything down to trees, termites, Elephants and everything in between is connected and why habitat protection and conservation is vital for wildlife.

I could continue to talk about dining in the middle of the African Bush with wildlife just feet away under a blanket of stars, or visits to the amazing work of the Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre, visit to Tshukudu Lodge where the cheetahs are often found lying around the pool area. Each day is different and each day you find something else to add to this unique African experience.

I also became very involved with the orphanges, missionaries and schools that Viva Safaris sponsor and to date have raised over £5000 supporting a local school with necessary educational materials and sports equipment and I am currently raising funds to construct a multi purpose sports area for one of the schools in Acornhoek. I couldn't have achieved this without the full support of Viva Safaris who have encouraged me with my ideas to bring hope to the children and provide a better understanding of the importance of protecting the wildlife and their habitats in Africa.

You can become an involved visitor or enjoy everything Viva Safaris have to offer. I would recommend a visit to Marc's Treehouse Lodge, I love this place so much that a few years ago my partner and I became engaged under the African night sky...so romantic. The Treehouse is definitely a unique experience. The treehouses come in varies shapes and sizes with picture size windows allowing you to see your very own incredible view of the African Bush and its wildlife. Again the accommodation is very clean and comfortable, food is incredible and the staff are just amazing.

If you are like me and find it difficult to choose from so many different options for your travel plans, I can in all honestly recommend Viva Safaris, it has changed my life, it is not just another holiday destination for me, every time I say goodbye to my Viva family and return to Scotland I leave part of me behind. I look forward to seeing everyone again in September 2016.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions I will be happy to respond.

Inger-Mari Aikio   –  
Finland FI
Visited: February 2016 Reviewed: Mar 9, 2016

Email Inger-Mari Aikio  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic 4 Day Safari, lodging at Tremisana Game Lodge
5/5

After a simple and informative booking process, we were collected on time as promised by our guide. The accommodation was perfect, the drives were expertly handled by our enthusiastic and professional guide James.
Our sightings were superb and we have many photographs to sift through. The Bush Walk was very interesting and educational, a great way to learn about the wildlife of Africa.
The food was superb, the highlight being our Boma braai (barbecue) on the first night.
Highly recommended, will be back as soon as we can.

Vicky Franklin   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2010 Reviewed: Mar 9, 2016

Email Vicky Franklin  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent
5/5

I had a fabulous trip on safari with my mother as part of a group of 5. Jonathan and the team were very knowledgable and enabled us to see 4 out of the big 5 among many other animals as well. Our experience of the guiding, catering and accomodation were excellent. I really hope I can return one day. Trip of a lifetime and highly recommended.

Anne & Noel   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: May 2010 Reviewed: Mar 9, 2016

Email Anne & Noel  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Novel and stimulating bushveldt experience.
5/5

All communications were clear and easy to comprehend. The service at Tremisana was impeccable and the food was five star. Accommodation upgrades had not quite been completed, but was very comfortable.
The whole experience was beyond our highest expectations, as we usually favour self-catering time share and self-drive options for our nature reserve visits. Our guide, Bongani, was extremely knowledgeable and informative. We would highly recommend these wilderness safaris to anyone, but especially to any overseas visitors who wish to become familiar with our fauna, flora and bush topography. They will be treated to an exhilarating experience, in the lap of luxury.

Murielle   –  
Canada CA
Visited: March 2016 Reviewed: Mar 10, 2016

Email Murielle  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A greatest experience
5/5

Very nice place, people are so sympatic and very thoughful and professional. The timetable is perfect, you have time to enjoy the place and the game drive was amazing.
Food and accomodation are perfect.

Joao Rodrigues   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: Mar 10, 2016

Email Joao Rodrigues

Excellent experience. Very friendly and competent team and very knowlegeable game rangers.
5/5

Viva Safaris lived up to their promises and the Safari Tour itself was beyond our expectations.
Punctual, friendly and very good at what they do.
Highly recommended.

Robertino bechis   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Mar 12, 2016

Email Robertino bechis  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful and unrepeatable experience; special and unforgettable !
5/5

I and my family spent a few days in Balule game reserve at Tremisana Lodge. The room was clean and neat and eating very good; The staff and guides are very friendly and prepared. They made a huge difference in our stay, in game viewing and in having a true contact with natural habitat. It was very exciting the bushwalk and the Kruger Park experience. Even if we stayed a few days there, we fell nostalgic for all of you e we never forget the people of Tremisana Lodge and this memorable holiday.

prof. rodney uphoff   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2015 Reviewed: Mar 12, 2016

Email prof. rodney uphoff

excellent budget safari
5/5

Viva safaris provides a quality safari experience at an affordable price . The staff are very friendly and the guides are excellent. You will see a lot of game and have an amazing experience.

Cyril Bigara   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: April 2015 Reviewed: Mar 13, 2016

Email Cyril Bigara  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

This was really an adventure and a memorable safari experience.
5/5

The friendliness of the staff is the first impression. While in camp, you are always comfortable and well fed and so rested and prepared for the abundance of bush activities. Two highlights are the evening bush-braai ( a magical and unique experience) and the uplifting morning bush-walks (with the really experienced and knowledgeable guides). Our vehicle tour of Kruger was a huge adventure and the sightings were beyond expectations. What an experience!

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 229
  • 4 star 28
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 6
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Viva Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Viva Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions