Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 197
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-1 of 1 Reviews
Mark C.   –  
Canada CA
Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: May 13, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Kruger Park is amazing, however the contractor that supplied the open vehicles needs to be changed.
2/5

Our Safari in Kruger had a rough start, on the first official game drive ( late afternoon, with the open safari vehicle ) the vehicle broke down. When our driver/guide stopped to view animals, the vehicle refused to start. After soliciting the assistance of a passerby who had mechanic tools and knowledge, we returned to the camp safely and finished the game drive in a mini van.

The following day on our early morning game drive ( different open safari vehicle) we again broke down. This time a much greater distance from the camp and outside of cell phone range. We had to wait approx. 2 hours in the hot morning sun until another Safari company stopped and assisted in contacting the camp to arrange for alternate transportation. In the end we agreed to continue with the game drive, in another vehicle . However as a whole we were concerned for our overall safety with these vehicles and we had lost faith and trust in this tour company to deliver a product as agreed upon!

When you operate a Safari company in a huge Wildlife Park such as Kruger, you need to have safe guards in place. Having access to reliable vehicles for the game drives, should be their number one priority. Other communication equipment, such as satellite phones, that will provide contact to the camps in event of break downs or emergency medical issues, is a must. We were informed that the use of the open safari vehicles was fairly new to this company.

In closing, I found our driver / guide, to be very knowledge with the wildlife in Kruger and friendly. On the other hand , the other company employee whom we had direct contact with during this Safari was unacceptable. I felt he forgot who he was working for at times. His communication with our tour was very poor, at no time did he apologize for the inconvenience's of the break downs or inquire as to our safety during the break downs. We also witnessed his unacceptable rants towards our driver in front of us, blaming him for the mechanical breakdowns. He was very unprofessional and not a good representative of Wildlife Safaris !

Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Posted on May 16, 2014

Response from Wildlife Safaris
As Management we would like to apologise for the unreliable standard of open safari vehicles we were obliged to use for this tour . Our normal supplier did not have sufficient vehicles so we sub-contracted to another company . We were informed about the breakdowns when they happened on both occasions & we assisted with replacement vehicles . Consequently we have not used this company again & have made enquiries about alternate backup services .

We have requested reports from both guides involved with this tour & we are satisfied that following the delay on Day 2 , the game drive was extended later than usual so that guests received the services we had agreed upon .

Regarding communications , officially S A National Parks does not allow drivers to have satellite phones in Kruger Park because this leads to congestion at Big 5 sightings , so drivers have to rely on their own mobile phones .

As a qualified Tour Guide myself, I am aware of the stress caused by any interruption to an itinerary which may be due to mechanical failure , unexpected conditions such as floods or fire, ill health of passengers or dangerous animals . The guide is usually alone & has to deal with the situation as well as consoling his passengers which can be very difficult . We regret any altercation which took place between guides & they have been reminded to be more considerate to the passengers stranded out in the bush.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 197
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Wildlife Safaris , not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Wildlife Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions