Average User Rating

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 31
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 32 Reviews
Konstantinos   –  
Greece GR
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 15, 2024

Email Konstantinos  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Safari Moja Matata is a traveler’s dream come true, delivering an unforgettable mix of wild Tanzania

Just got back from a safari in Tanzania with Safari Mika Matata, and it was epic! Traveling with friends, we saw it all - lions, leopards, elephants, you name it. The highlight? Visiting a Masai village, a total once-in-a-lifetime thing.

The camp where we stayed was top-notch. Comfy and close to nature, it hit the sweet spot. And our driver, Rama? Guy’s a legend. Knew the land like the back of his hand and had a sixth sense for spotting wildlife.

In short, if you’re planning a safari, Safari Mika Matata is the way to go. Great vibes, amazing sights, and a feel-like-home kind of experience. Highly recommend!

Bogdan Stanila   –  
Romania RO
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 13, 2024

Email Bogdan Stanila  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Well worth the trip and very impressed

The first contact with the company started from România. We felt safe the whole time. Matata is the point of contact and he answers to all the questions and he is very polite. Our trip was for 2 days. We were picked from the hotel in Zanzibar and taken to the airport ( sometimes the flight times change from one day to another so you have to understand that because you are on a different continent). We arrived at the Nyerere National Park, where we were picked by Bugusa.
I want to thank Bugusa for answering to all our questions and to offering us the best time possible in the Safari. He is a very polite man who has a lot of knowledge of the surroundings. My advice to you is to ask him whatever comes into mind because in this way you will really understand the nature. He made our trip one to remember for life.
The kingdom of animals is so much different from the zoo. Sometimes you are filled with adrenaline when you are searching through the park.
I truly recommend this company and wish you a great Safari with them!

Peter Ganster   –  
Austria AT
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Dec 9, 2023

Email Peter Ganster  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Everything very well organized

Safari Moya Matata team is highly recommended. We were on the mainland from Zanzibar (Nungwi) for 5 days/4 nights. Everything was organized very well at our request. I.e. from Hotel Tanzanite Taxi to Stone Town, ferry ticket there and back, pick up from Dar es Salaam port and round trip with visit to Nyerere National Park (former Selous Game Reserve) and Mikumi National Park. Our drivers Matata and Bugussa, Bastian our guide, were very helpful. We got to know Tanzania and felt safe and in good hands. We will happily travel with this agency again. Sigrid and Peter

Fco. Javier Fernández   –  
Spain ES
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2023

Email Fco. Javier Fernández  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Moja Matata is one of the best guides in Tanzania.

Hello, in November we went as a family to Mikumi Park in Tanzania. We entrusted Moja Matata (guide and expert of the park) with our visit and we were absolutely right. Moja took care of everything from picking us up at the airport, taking us to Mikumi, booking the hotel, taking us on safari for two days and taking us back to the airport. He and his assistant; Sebastian, they were excellent hosts and I advise anyone who wants to go through those beautiful lands to contact Moja Matata who will help you with everything. Thank you Moja for your attention.

Valerio Ruscito   –  
Italy IT
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Nov 25, 2023

Email Valerio Ruscito  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Valerio Ruscito and not that of SafariBookings.
They ruined my safari

Attention! do not go to any of these safari agencies (Kilimanjaro Adventure Safari Club, Kima, Safari Moja Matata) especially not to Mister Thomas. I think they are scammers.
We paid Mr. Thomas 3800 USD to have a 8 days safari, at the end of July 2023: Serengeti, Lake Natron, Olduvai Gorge, lake Maniara. Starting from Arusha. He promised us the new car which pics he sent us by whatsapp when we contacted him, but a very old Toyota was used for our safari. The car was very very old and dangerous and Mr Thomas put us in a very serious DANGER and RISK for our LIVES! AND HE KNEW IT. That was a criminal way to work with people.

First of all, we paid Kilimanjaro Adventure Safari Club; the safari program was by KIMA company, and to enter the parks the name of the company was Safari Moja Matata. We don't know what happened.

The Toyota Prado sx 30 turbo (plate  T457 ANR) had very worn tyres, left windows and doors didn't work (we can't get out of the car, we can't close the windows when the road was dusty), brakes didn't work and produced smoke and bud smell, brake fluid came out from the left front wheel, rear shock absorbers didn't work so the car skided dangerously and the engine made strange noises. The car was very very dirty and rusted. The driver (Juma) had to drive very slowly because the car swerving when improved the speed, so we lost a lot of time for visiting the parks. We were very afraid for our safety.

After a day driving, we wrote and phoned to Thomas to ask him for changing the car for a better one as those in the picture he sent, but he said it was the only avaible car. He said the car was ok, but it wasn't at all. 

In fact, on 25th July one of the bald tyres broke. They mount the spare wheel but he broke after 20 meters! The spare tyre was very bald too.

We stand on the road for hours to wait for new wheels. I called Thomas to protest, he said we was right and he would refund us for that day, but he didn't it. That was the last time he answered at calling or sending messages.

Finally Thomas sent a private car that carried us to Lake Natron but we arrived in late and we had only 2 hours to visit the side in a great hurry. 

By night, the driver Juma arrived to Natron with the same old car again and 2 new tyres and we continued the safari on the same old car.

The safari continued driving always very very slowly and we always must wait 2/3 ours for the payment for entering the parks because Thoms were always in late in that. We lost a lot of time every time.

On 27th July in Serengeti the brake fluid came out from a wheel that made bad noises. So we couldn't arrive to Serengeti Central and we had to pass the first night in another camping near the border of the park. Because of the slow driving and the in late payments we arrived on 28th July to Olduvai Gorge only 1 our before the closing! INCREDIBLE! We have no enought time to visit all we wanted.

On 29th July, during descending Ngorongoro slope, brakes caught fire! The company put us in a great danger! We could have a serious accident during the deep descent. A lot of other drivers stopped to advise us about the dangerous situation. 

On the way back, climbing the Ngorongoro slope, the car stopped because the engine produced smoke. We all pushed the car trying to restart the car unsuccessfully. Another car gave a ride to the top of the slope. The old and dangerous car broke definitely and our driver left it in Ngorongoro.

We remained with no safari car, and we continued our safari changing different private cars for the remaining 2 days with great discomforts and delays, while you disappeared at all!
On the way back to Arusha we went to the Arusha Tourist & Diplomatic Police station to make a report to the police.
The police said that surely one of the three safari companies was a fake.
Our safari and our holiday are ruined, and we risked our lives!
After the report at the police, Mr Thomas promised to refund us 1500 USD, but he disappeared without doing it.

Reply from Safari Moja Matata
Reply from Safari Moja Matata
Posted on Nov 30, 2023

Thanks and Sorry....

I do not agree with the document you attached does not show Customer Name.
My few questions for the client

1; Why don't you have proof of the receipt showing his payment of 3800 dollars made to Safari Moja Matata. Please submit this as evidence

2. Any customer has an email conversation or WhatsApp conversation between SAFARI MOJA and the customer. Please submit this as evidence

3; why did you sue Thomas of KIMA police?? As you complained here SAFARI MOJA MATATA to ruin your trip

the one you sent is the entry to visit the Ngorongoro Crater and it does not show the Payment or itinerary against SAFARI MOJA MATATA

I ask immediately delete your information from our pages. I will take strict legal action against you.

Look forward to hear from you.
Leopard Ngowi

Sabine et Christian   –  
France FR
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 9, 2023

Email Sabine et Christian  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Unforgettable experience

This is the third time we have gone on safari with Matata (in 15 years) and everything is always perfect.
Matata does everything to satisfy its customers and adapts to everyone.
We returned delighted from 8 days of Safari (Mikumi - Ruaha - Saadani): we had the price of a mixed lodge and bandas formula in autonomy with an outstanding cook.
Matata is a former ranger and therefore knows the wildlife and the terrain perfectly. Kindness, flexibility, availability and very good value for money.

Cristian Parv   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Oct 8, 2023

Email Cristian Parv  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari


We had 2 extraordinary days with them in Mikumi and Masai village. The road from Dar es Salaam to there was a bit long, but once we arrived we enjoyed every moment. Thank you very much for those 2 unforgettable days.

Annalisa & Carlo   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Aug 18, 2023

Email Annalisa & Carlo  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very friendly and always attentive

We traveled for 1 week with Matata who was always available to our requests, patient and friendly in letting us know the culture of a country as fascinating as Tanzania. We were here for humanitarian aim, and although we hadn't booked a safari with him, along the way when he saw wild animals (zebras, giraffes, impalas, baboons, etc) he always stopped to let us admire them and he explained us a lot of things. We warmly recommend him. We had a great week together!! Super!!

Fabienne & James   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Aug 13, 2023

Email Fabienne & James  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Friendly and Knowledgeable

Matata helped us with some research we were doing on tobacco farms around Iringa. From the first minute, the relationship was friendly and relaxed. Matata was interested in what we were trying to achieve and tried to help as much as possible. He then guided us for 4 consecutive days through the Ruhaha Park which he knows pretty well. He never counted his hours and was creative in the content of the daily tours to cover as much ground in search of animals and different landscapes. Since our trip Matata has remained part of our long-distance friends and we get in touch from times to times just to say hello. Would recommend any time.

Alex   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 6, 2023

Email Alex  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very respectful, helpful, and trustworthy. Keeps the group immersed the entire trip with interest…..

Very good communication, brought good food everyday for us, amazing tour.

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 31
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Safari Moja Matata, not SafariBookings