Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 31
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-1 of 1 Reviews
Valerio Ruscito   –  
Italy IT
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Nov 25, 2023

Email Valerio Ruscito  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Valerio Ruscito and not that of SafariBookings.
They ruined my safari
1/5

Attention! do not go to any of these safari agencies (Kilimanjaro Adventure Safari Club, Kima, Safari Moja Matata) especially not to Mister Thomas. I think they are scammers.
We paid Mr. Thomas 3800 USD to have a 8 days safari, at the end of July 2023: Serengeti, Lake Natron, Olduvai Gorge, lake Maniara. Starting from Arusha. He promised us the new car which pics he sent us by whatsapp when we contacted him, but a very old Toyota was used for our safari. The car was very very old and dangerous and Mr Thomas put us in a very serious DANGER and RISK for our LIVES! AND HE KNEW IT. That was a criminal way to work with people.

First of all, we paid Kilimanjaro Adventure Safari Club; the safari program was by KIMA company, and to enter the parks the name of the company was Safari Moja Matata. We don't know what happened.

The Toyota Prado sx 30 turbo (plate  T457 ANR) had very worn tyres, left windows and doors didn't work (we can't get out of the car, we can't close the windows when the road was dusty), brakes didn't work and produced smoke and bud smell, brake fluid came out from the left front wheel, rear shock absorbers didn't work so the car skided dangerously and the engine made strange noises. The car was very very dirty and rusted. The driver (Juma) had to drive very slowly because the car swerving when improved the speed, so we lost a lot of time for visiting the parks. We were very afraid for our safety.

After a day driving, we wrote and phoned to Thomas to ask him for changing the car for a better one as those in the picture he sent, but he said it was the only avaible car. He said the car was ok, but it wasn't at all. 

In fact, on 25th July one of the bald tyres broke. They mount the spare wheel but he broke after 20 meters! The spare tyre was very bald too.

We stand on the road for hours to wait for new wheels. I called Thomas to protest, he said we was right and he would refund us for that day, but he didn't it. That was the last time he answered at calling or sending messages.

Finally Thomas sent a private car that carried us to Lake Natron but we arrived in late and we had only 2 hours to visit the side in a great hurry. 

By night, the driver Juma arrived to Natron with the same old car again and 2 new tyres and we continued the safari on the same old car.

The safari continued driving always very very slowly and we always must wait 2/3 ours for the payment for entering the parks because Thoms were always in late in that. We lost a lot of time every time.

On 27th July in Serengeti the brake fluid came out from a wheel that made bad noises. So we couldn't arrive to Serengeti Central and we had to pass the first night in another camping near the border of the park. Because of the slow driving and the in late payments we arrived on 28th July to Olduvai Gorge only 1 our before the closing! INCREDIBLE! We have no enought time to visit all we wanted.

On 29th July, during descending Ngorongoro slope, brakes caught fire! The company put us in a great danger! We could have a serious accident during the deep descent. A lot of other drivers stopped to advise us about the dangerous situation. 

On the way back, climbing the Ngorongoro slope, the car stopped because the engine produced smoke. We all pushed the car trying to restart the car unsuccessfully. Another car gave a ride to the top of the slope. The old and dangerous car broke definitely and our driver left it in Ngorongoro.

We remained with no safari car, and we continued our safari changing different private cars for the remaining 2 days with great discomforts and delays, while you disappeared at all!
On the way back to Arusha we went to the Arusha Tourist & Diplomatic Police station to make a report to the police.
The police said that surely one of the three safari companies was a fake.
Our safari and our holiday are ruined, and we risked our lives!
After the report at the police, Mr Thomas promised to refund us 1500 USD, but he disappeared without doing it.

Reply from Safari Moja Matata
Reply from Safari Moja Matata
Posted on Nov 30, 2023

Thanks and Sorry....

I do not agree with the document you attached does not show Customer Name.
My few questions for the client

1; Why don't you have proof of the receipt showing his payment of 3800 dollars made to Safari Moja Matata. Please submit this as evidence

2. Any customer has an email conversation or WhatsApp conversation between SAFARI MOJA and the customer. Please submit this as evidence

3; why did you sue Thomas of KIMA police?? As you complained here SAFARI MOJA MATATA to ruin your trip

the one you sent is the entry to visit the Ngorongoro Crater and it does not show the Payment or itinerary against SAFARI MOJA MATATA

I ask immediately delete your information from our pages. I will take strict legal action against you.

Look forward to hear from you.
Leopard Ngowi

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 31
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Safari Moja Matata, not SafariBookings