Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 228
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 228 Reviews
Iryna   –  
Ukraine UA
Visited: February 2021 Reviewed: Mar 14, 2021

Email Iryna  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A wonderful experience
5/5

We were searching for a 7-days experience and chose the 6-day Tarangine-Serengeti-Ngorongoro-lake Manyara tour and an additional coffee-waterfall-hot spring day trip.

I made a lot of research myself before choosing Safari Soles, read reviews on different sites and asked lots of questions. I loved the balance of the company's good rating and reviews, budget-friendly price and the knowledge and support Bryson provided.

The tour exceeded our expectations. We saw lots of animals including the cats we wanted to see so much - many lions, a leopard, 2 serval cats and even a mother cheetah teaching her cubs to hunt! We also were lucky to catch endless herds of migrating wildebeest in Serengeti (were there on February 8-10) and saw how a baby zebra was born! We ever visited the Ndutu region where there were lots of animals and where budget safaris usually don't go.

Our dreadlocked guide Simba (David) was amazing - pleasant and cheerful, knowing all the animals and trained to spot them, telling stories when you want to hear them and just driving when you're tired. He had a cool playlist, drove well and made us feel welcome. Besides getting to know the nature and the animals, he made us a bit more familiar with the life and the people of Tanzania - so, we felt more like guests then like tourists, which we appreciated.

Our cook Shydia (not sure about the spelling) could do magic - he made restaurant food using a gas stove, some pans and the food we were carrying in the jeep. The cool food we had included pizza, lasagna, a fabulous banana-chocolate cake, and also nice curries and avocado salad! I've put on quite a lot of weight during the trip because the food was very delicious and there was a lot of it.

Although we booked the budget tour, the accommodation was cool. The basic but nice Arusha Tourist Inn, the Fig Tree lodge with a garden and a swimming pool, the Simba campsite at Ngorongoro with a beautiful huge tree in the middle and the lodge at Seronera with a campfire - all was cool. We expected to spend the two nights in Seronera at a campsite, but the upgrade to a lodge was a nice surprise.

The price for all this was quite low. Hard to imagine how many tour companies take several times more money, however, don't let you see more animals because you will see all the animals on a budget safari with a good guide. In case you're choosing the lowest price - consider that the 2-way airport transfer for the Arusha or Kili airport, accommodation for the nights before and after the safari, and all drinks including beer and wine are already included in the price.

As for those who are thinking about the length of the trip - for me the safari experience would be incomplete without the 2 nights in Serengeti and one night on the crater rim of Ngorongoro. The night in Mto Wa Mbu is necessary for the logistics and the Tarangine park is pleasant as well, with many elephants and baobab trees. So, 5 full days of safari seem minimum to me to get some knowledge of the region. If you have 6 days, I suggest adding the waterfall-coffee-hot spring tour - you will wee the beautiful nature of a different climate zone, see how many planks grow, have a chance to swim under a waterfall and soak in a nice hot spring, like the cenotes in Mexico. If you have 7 days - add lake Manyara, it was nice too, but the waterfall and hot spring were nicer.

Thank you, Simba, Bryson, Shydia and all Safari Soles stuff for our great holiday!

Paul R   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Jul 22, 2019

Email Paul R  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Outstanding local tour operator
5/5

Safari Soles is a local safari tour operator based in Arusha, Tanzania. My wife and I went on our first Safari in July 2019, and I really had no idea about the best way to go about booking. What I quickly learned is that there are plenty of western based operators who will charge you a small fortune. Now, don’t get me wrong, they have a place and I am sure there are plenty of people willing to pay a premium for the perceived dependability of a company based in LA, New York, London etc. I say ‘perceived’ because, in the end, I had such good service from Safari Soles, that I really began to question how much value those big companies really add. Just my opinion, your mileage may vary.

We booked a 4 day, 3 night safari with a guide and a cook. We camped which was excellent. We went to Tarangire National Park, The Serengetti and finally the Ngorongoro crater. If you need a little more comfort, Bryson and the Safari Soles team can arrange lodges instead of camping for an extra fee. It was truly amazing, I didn’t know what to expect but this trip exceeded my expectations is every way. Our booking covered the 1 for transfers to and from JRO airport, the first and last night in a hotel in Arusha (we were given a choice of 3) the services of an English speaking driver/guide (who had the sharpest eyes and spotting skills imaginable) our cook (who also helped with camp set-up and breakdown) 3 meals each day, campsite fees, and park entry fees. Only tips and souvenirs were extra. Bryson also added a short shopping tour of Arusha on our last morning.

Bryson and Safari Soles are super-dependable and trustworthy. We paid a 10% by Western Union (for which Bryson proactive emailed me his passport and ID cards for identity verification, we then paid the balance in cash (US$ in new bills are required everywhere in Tanzania) when we arrived. It feels really good to be putting money directly into the hands of local companies and not have fat margins skimmed off by middlemen. For me, this is really important.

Go on a safari and see these magnificent animals, it was wonderful.

Malgorzata Mrozek   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 13, 2024

Email Malgorzata Mrozek  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent
5/5

This safari flying in and driving out was in my 60thies unforgettable from begining to the end replying, questioning very smooth and quick unswer .We got Floridi driver very professional and carefull driver the roads in Serengetti and Ngorongo not easy to drive people who has sickness motion supposed to have patches otherwise you can get sick but the views are worth it any inconviences and money the peacefullnest of nature and animalls work together it's insane you need to be there to feel it I would recommended this driver and company for 5 star service I'm traveler allover the world and I love this place one of my favorite place and also I was shopping for this safari over the year and they have very resonable prices to compare others also I want to mention about the lodges Serena Lodges amazing

Vladimir Lupashin   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 7, 2023

Email Vladimir Lupashin  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A Memorable November Safari Adventure in Tanzania with Expert Guide Innocent
5/5

Our 10-day journey through Tanzania, meticulously planned by Renatus and Safari Soles Tours, offered a unique blend of cultural immersion and wildlife exploration. The adventure featured a 6-day safari spanning Tarangire, Serengeti, and Ngorongoro, guided by the exceptional safari guide Innocent, with enriching pre-safari experiences in Arusha, led by guides Chief and Andrew.
Our voyage commenced in Arusha, where we spent a day before embarking on the safari. Chief, our friendly and enthusiastic guide, introduced us to the African Cultural Heritage Center, immersed us in the local market culture, and guided us on a serene nature walk at the Kilimamoto crater. These experiences served as a perfect introduction to Tanzania's rich culture and breathtaking landscapes.
The highlight of our trip undoubtedly was the 6-day safari, covering the magnificent terrains of Tarangire, Serengeti, and Ngorongoro, an unforgettable experience significantly elevated by our guide, Innocent. His profound knowledge and infectious enthusiasm for Tanzania's wildlife and ecosystems transformed our adventure into a once-in-a-lifetime journey.
Tarangire, adorned with numerous elephants and their adorable offspring, as well as playful warthogs, provided a whimsical spectacle. We were also treated to thrilling sightings of cheetahs and lively lion prides with cubs, showcasing the park's diverse wildlife.
The vast expanse of the Serengeti equally mesmerized us. Here, alongside majestic giraffes and elusive leopards, we marveled at the large herds of wildebeest and zebras. Hippos added to the variety of wildlife encounters, while playful warthogs and majestic male lions dotted the landscape, making every moment in the Serengeti memorable.
In Ngorongoro Crater, our experience reached new heights with a distant rhino sighting, a rare and awe-inspiring moment. The vibrant flamingos in the crater added a splash of color, and we continued to be entertained by more male lions and the ever-charming warthogs.
We must emphasize the pivotal role of our guide, whose boundless energy and enthusiasm enriched every moment of our safari. Our daily plans were thoughtfully discussed the night before, accommodating our requests for early morning trips when animal activity peaked. Frequent stops for optimal photography opportunities were made, and park navigation was meticulously coordinated with other drivers. Innocent's captivating storytelling and comprehensive knowledge of Tanzanian wilderness breathed life into each location. His friendly demeanor, sense of humor, and eagerness to share his expertise made our journey both educational and immensely enjoyable. We were fortunate to have Innocent as our guide and driver, ensuring our safety and confidence in experiencing the park to its fullest.

Mark   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Oct 29, 2023

Email Mark  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

awesome
5/5

My wife and I did a bucket list trip to the 4 day luxury private fly/in and out - Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater safari in early October of 2023. We booked directly with Safari Soles and could not have been happier, and I cannot recommend them enough. I booked this myself, having contacted several safari companies and settled on Safari Soles due to their excellent communication and price. Thanks Happiness for the great communication!! We booked a private luxury safari for just my wife and I and I would highly recommend the splurge - It was so worth it in my opinion. Safari Soles handled our flights from Zanzibar to the Serengeti and from Arusha to Zanzibar and all the lodge bookings. As this was a trip of a lifetime, we were excited but nervous having booked thru the internet. But, Elias our driver (now known as triple E - Eagle Eyed Elias) picked us up from the Serengeti airstrip and off we went. I'd say within a hour we had seen Leopards, Elephants, Crocs, Hippos, Monkeys, Lions and so much more - amazing!! Elias was awesome and made the trip so much more memorable with his driving and guiding skill - we were able to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner with him and got to know him much better. He was able to cater to our wants during the safari. We basically were out all day and into some pretty far off areas of the Serengeti in search of all the animals. We really wanted to see Cheetahs after seeing all but the Rhino's in the Serengeti (rarely seen) and Elias delivered - we say 4 cheetahs and even got to see them hunting - an amazing scene watching there speed after gazelles. We did see rhinos in the Ngorongoro crater. It was an amazing experience and one we will never forget.

The lodges were very nice and comfortable with good food - buffet style for breakfast and dinner with packed lunch mostly for eating out in the Serengeti. We had snacks, and sodas and water in the Landrover available to us as well as wine and beer. It was amazing to hear lions roar from your room and night!! The staff at the lodges were very nice and friendly and helpful in walking to/from the main eating area at night - you had to call them as they did not want you walking alone due to possible animals being out. On the Ngorongoro crater lodge, literally right outside our lodge was 10 cape buffalo eating the foliage - so cool.

Again, a trip of a lifetime - super big thanks to Elias and Happiness from Safari Soles. Cannot recommend them enough and would for sure book thru them again.

Jack   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Oct 10, 2023

Email Jack  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Experienced, fun, and sharp eyed guide showed us the most that Tanzania could offer!
5/5

If you are searching for safari company in Tanzania, look no further, you have stumbled upon the best one!! Happiness helped coordinate my booking (7 days Mid-range Safari) from the start and have been accommodating my every last minute change. I initially had 5 people for the trip and then slowly adding more and more people until we reached 7, but Happiness still managed to book accommodation for all of us. For the deposit, I suggest paying by credit card despite the fee because the wire method did not work for both my Chase and BoA account, so save the hassle (also safer to do credit cards). Due to the timezone difference, sometimes the communication could be slow as well, but my questions were always answered.

In any case, upon arrival at the airport, we were picked up by our guide, the Safari Monster, eagle-eyed Estomih. Our safari started immediately on Day 1 with a visit to the Tarangire National Park and we already saw giraffe, elephants, zebras, wild beest and many other animals. Estomih was super knowledgeable in all the wild lives we came across. He even got many books with detailed descriptions of these animals in his car! On top of that, he could spot animals many many miles away. With his eagle-eye, we have found all the Big Five and have taken close photos of them!!! My most memorable moment was looking for rhinos in the Ngorongoro Crater. Since rhinos are rare, it took a long time to spot them even with 8 pairs of eyes, but Estomih was able to find 3 rhinos separately.

In terms of food and lodges, we were very well fed and sheltered. The lunch was always prepared by the lodge we stayed in the previous night. Most other safari companies I came across had lunch box, but we were always picnic style with stainless steel utensils, so very environmentally friendly. The lodge were very luxurious and we were surprised how good they were considering that most of them are in a secluded environment. The only down side is that most lodge had weak and inconsistent Wi-Fi, but the electricity was very stable. Surprisingly, a lot of lodge have mobile clinics and could help travelers.

In terms of schedule, we were more intense and woke up super early (5-6AM) for safari every day, but if you are more laid-back, do let the guide and planner know so you don’t become exhausted.

We also tried to do the balloon safari, which got cancelled due to strong wind, so don’t be surprised if the same thing happened due to unfavorable weather. We did got a 100% refund however.

During the trip, I bought an Ice-Americano from a local cafe (don’t drink local water ya’ll) and got diarrhea for couple days, and Estomih was super accommodating and checked in with me every day. At the Serengeti Lodge, he even brought me to the doctor whom issued me medicines. I was super thankful for having a knowledge local guide to help me navigate through unexpected situation.

All in all, I would recommend Safari Soles 10/10 :)

Matt   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Oct 8, 2023

Email Matt  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible safari experience in Tanzania!
5/5

My group of friends and I recently embarked on a once-in-a-lifetime safari adventure in Tanzania, and it's safe to say that our journey would not have been the same without the exceptional guidance of Raymond. From start to finish, Raymond not only exceeded our expectations but also left an indelible mark on our hearts.

First and foremost, Raymond's knowledge of the animals and the local ecosystem was simply astounding. He seemed to possess an innate ability to spot wildlife that we would have otherwise missed, even when camouflaged in the dense underbrush of the Serengeti. His explanations about animal behavior, migration patterns, and ecological significance added a profound depth to our safari experience. It was like having a living, breathing encyclopedia of African wildlife right by our side.

But Raymond's expertise extended far beyond the realm of wildlife. He had a deep understanding of the local culture, which he eagerly shared with us. Whether it was introducing us to the Maasai people, explaining their customs and traditions, or telling us captivating stories about the history of the region, Raymond's cultural insights enriched our journey and provided a meaningful context for the landscapes and wildlife we encountered.

What truly set Raymond apart, however, was his exceptional personality and genuine kindness. He didn't just guide us through Tanzania; he became a friend. His warm smile, boundless enthusiasm, and unwavering patience made us feel like we were exploring this magnificent land with a trusted companion. Raymond's positive energy was infectious, and he brought a sense of joy and camaraderie to our group that made our safari all the more enjoyable.

Raymond went above and beyond to ensure that our safari was safe, comfortable, and unforgettable. He meticulously planned our daily itineraries, making sure we witnessed the most breathtaking moments of the animal kingdom in action.

I cannot express enough how lucky we were to have Raymond as our safari guide. He possesses a rare combination of expertise, passion, and charisma that makes him an outstanding ambassador for Tanzania's natural wonders and cultural treasures. Raymond, you are not just an extraordinary guide; you are a cherished friend and a testament to the incredible people we meet during our travels. Thank you for making our Tanzanian safari an adventure of a lifetime, and we can't wait to return for more adventures with you in the future. Asante sana, Raymond!

Susana   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 7, 2022

Email Susana  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Impeccable
5/5

The team was always super friendly and reliable. They complied with everything. The driver Simon put a lot of effort into being able to see the animals and to take the best pictures. The car was well equipped to charge batteries and cell phones. They provided all camping equipment, including sleeping bags. The Action cook was impeccable and always provided vegan options. We saw the big 5 in one day! I loved the experience!

(automatic translation from Portuguese)

Rory Quirke   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 22, 2022

Email Rory Quirke  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Professional, Excellent Company and People . Above and Beyond our Expectations
5/5

Booking a safari with no experience can be a daunting task. For us, Bryson at Safari Soles was expert at ensuring the booking process was as easy as possible and then once we arrived delivered a trip far beyond our wildest expectations with stunning lodges and a safari guide we could only dream of.

We did 7 days total with Safari Soles. One night on arrival in Arusha followed by a day trip to Tarangire and a stay in “Farm of Dreams” in Karatu, to break up the drive to the Serengeti. Then on to the Serengeti for two days and nights at Ang’ata tented lodge followed by a stay at Ang’ata’s sister lodge in Ngorongoro with our last safari day at Ngorongoro and a drive back to Arusha with a final night’s stay there before we left. We also opted for a private safari, so it was just the two of us in the car plus our driver (if you can afford it, this is definitely the way to go).
The accomodations were 5 star to us and completely outdid our expectations (look them up separately).

I can’t say enough about how professional Bryson was throughout every part of booking our trip. He answered every question exactly and in a timely fashion. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. It was an absolute pleasure to deal with Bryson and his company. In truth, we selected Safari Soles due to Bryson’s responsiveness over other companies we enquired with (and the reviews, of course!)

On the day of our arrival to Kilimanjaro airport we were met and driven to our accommodation at Karibu Heritage hotel, which was basic, but served its purpose as a stop-gap in Arusha.

Our Safari then began as we were collected by our guide Simon at the hotel in our Safari Land Cruiser. A quick note here to say that the car was in excellent condition, had a charging plug at every seat for cameras and phones etc. as well as a fully stocked fridge, with wine, beer and water. We could see other people across the 5 day safari travelling with other companies that were not as lucky with many breakdowns and engines that struggled to start. There was none of that with our well maintained car and we really learned the value of this as Simon could turn off the engine at any point to allow us take still pictures without fear that the car wouldn’t restart.

The safari itself was incredible, we saw all the “Big 5” by day 3, plus many more. It’s well worth a visit to each of the three parks as each is so different and offers not only different landscapes, but also different concentrations of animals. If however you’re short on time, in our day trip to Tarangire we saw almost everything we came to see, but you can’t beat the Serengeti if you can make it there, but you need to give it two days at least as it’s so vast. If we had to leave one out, it would be Ngorongoro, but that’s not to say it wasn’t incredible too.

We can quite honestly say that the trip was made by our guide Simon Juma. There are no words for how amazing he was. Not only is he a wonderful person who we thoroughly enjoyed being with for our five days together, his knowledge of and passion for safari is second to none. He has truly fantastic English and an equally good sense of humour. He was great fun, but also patient and professional, always taking into account how we wanted the trip to go. He has the unbelievable skill of knowing animal behaviours better than they know it themselves! He anticipated every move, knowing when to wait at a sighting and when to move on. He proved this skill to us time and time again, as even when we were the last of 20 cars to come across something he would always position us so we would be in the very best position. Simon’s skills and knowledge gave us front row seats to everything, we felt that we had truly landed with someone special in having Simon as our guide. He was relentless in ensuring we saw everything we came to see and had the driving skills and knowledge of the parks and their back roads away from the big crowds to make it happen. Each day we shared a fantastic cooked lunch, not out of a cardboard box like many other tours we saw. We were really very well looked after. Simon became so much more than a guide and driver to us across our 5 days.

As far as we’re concerned you can’t go wrong booking with Safari Soles.
Bryson and Simon, thank you for a trip of a lifetime, we’ll be back soon!

Tsubasa   –  
Japan JP
Visited: January 2021 Reviewed: Mar 7, 2021

Email Tsubasa  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Thanks for everything
5/5

Three days private safari in Serengeti and Ngorongoro. It was the best experience ever. I saw many kinds of many animals. It was dreamlike days.
Three days was not enough for me. I wanted to stay in Serengeti for another day. I'm glad I chose Safari soles. Staff was very kind. Driver/guide always looked for animals seriously and respected our pace. And all the dishes cooked by the chef were good. I strongly recommend them.

No one concerned about covid in Tanzania. You can forget it altogether. I needed that kind of time.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 228
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Safari Soles, not SafariBookings