Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 54 Reviews
Nordic Vagabond   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 25, 2023

Email Nordic Vagabond  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Superb: Highly Pleased
5/5

After having been to more than 100 countries and having done safaris in several countries over the years, I am pleased to admit that Fred and Frena Adventures have been one of the best tour operators I have come across so far.
Since day 1, Fred has been transparent, accommodating and forthcoming.
I requested a cross-border tour covering both Rwanda and Uganda.
He came up with interesting proposals and customized the proposed itinerary exactly as we had desired. We did Golden Monkeys in Rwanda,
It was a well-organized mix of activities. Lodges were exactly we were looking for; neat and clean without being falsely over-done. Meals were decent and service friendly all long.
In short, Fred delivered it without any negative deviation.

Neil   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 16, 2023

Email Neil  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very good service
5/5

We did a six day tour starting with gorillas in the Bwindi National park, progressing to the Queen Elizabeth Park and finishing at Kibale to see the chimpanzees. Communications before the trip were clear, including how to upgrade the lodges we were staying at. Our tour driver/guide was reliable and well-organised and the tour vehicle was very good. We thought the trip was good value for money and very well delivered.

Catherine   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 15, 2023

Email Catherine  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Helpful tour operator in Rwanda,
4/5

Excellent communication with Fred. Tour well organized. Driver was reliable.

Gabriel S   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Oct 13, 2022

Email Gabriel S  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Absolutely Amazing! Lake Mburo National Park Safari Tour (Uganda)
5/5

We were a group of 3 people doing a private Safari Tour and we had an amazing experience! We will most definitely use this tour operator again when we back in Uganda! Perfect service and our Driver Ronald was really great!

adam campbell   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2022

Email adam campbell  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

I learned so much about the nature in Uganda.
5/5

My family and i are impressed with their tour packages. Staff are very friendly; the tour guides are very informative. They have very good tour packages. the Murchison falls tour package is my favorite. The tour was amazing. I had a wonderful time. The bird watching was awesome, the Boat cruise to the Delta was interesting and I got to see crocodiles, hippos and the rare shoebill stork. The staff was friendly, the service was incredible and I learned so much about the nature in Uganda. I highly recommend Frena Adventures to anyone.

Isaac Rice   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 9, 2022

Email Isaac Rice  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

They are very affordable and provided an excellent service.
5/5

I had a great time on my tour with Frena Adventures. I booked their nature walk and bird watching tour. I wanted to see the Bigodi swamp and was able to see many birds and even a few antelopes! The tour guide Ronald was very knowledgeable about the area and was able to tell me information about the birds and animals we saw. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a tour of the area. They are very affordable and provided an excellent service.

Sarah   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2022

Email Sarah  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent & professional trip!
5/5

I had an amazing experience seeing the golden monkeys and gorillas with Frena. Ronald my guide offered very professional service and a smooth trip from Kigali to Musanze to Bwindi. Communication with Fred to coordinate the trip was also seamless. A fantastic trip, highly recommend!

Jasmyn HW   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 3, 2022

Email Jasmyn HW

Ronnie was the most dependable, informative tour guide we have ever had!
5/5

Thanks to Ronnie and Fred, with Frena Adventures, my husband and I were able to have an experience of a lifetime on our four day tour. I was communicating with Fred prior to the booking and he was so helpful, responsive, and knowledgeable that I made no hesitation in booking with Frena Adventures.

Ronnie, our amazing tour guide, picked us up at our hotel in a very comfortable vehicle and we made the long drive from Kapala to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. The drive didn't seem that long as Ronnie made a few fun stops (Equator Pics and Coffee, Fabulous lunch, etc). He pointed out some fascinating sites along the way and patiently answered all of my questions regarding the surrounding areas. We first stayed at the Rushaga Gorilla Havens Lodge and the view was just spectacular, as were the staff. The accommodations were as expected (mid range) and we actually slept very well there. The food was really good and we highly recommend this location.

The next morning, we woke up and went on our Gorilla trekking adventure in Bwindi and it did not disappoint- it was such an amazing experience! The guides, the locals, the guards- everyone was so nice and informative. We are still in awe of the experience. From there, we traveled to the Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort and this had to be our favorite accommodations by far. This in on one of the 99 islands in Lake Bunyonyi and it's so quiet and tranquil that we could have stayed here longer. You can swim off the dock, you can hike the island and see the local wildlife (monkey, zebra, waterbok, donkey, deer, etc), or you can sit on the terrace and enjoy the wonderful food and staff. The accommodations exceeded our expectation of a mid range lodge, and we highly recommend this location.

The next day we set off for the Queen Elizabeth National Park and we took a two hour private boat tour on the Kazinga Channel onto Lake Edward. Now this experience was completely unexpected- we saw a TON of hippos, Water Buffalos, and more bird species than we knew existed. But we also saw Elephants (in and out of the water), and monkeys, etc. Our tour guides were two young men and were SOOO knowledgable and friendly, we had a great time with them. We had a fabulous lunch of fresh caught fish and then we set off on our evening game drive in the QE NP. The game drive was amazing- we had a wonderful guide along with Ronnie and with their help, we were able to see Baboons, warthogs, elephants, waterbok, antelope (one heard of almost 1000), Buffalo, Lioness, Leopard, and more. We were just blown away by all that we were able to see.

We then headed to our lodging at the Queen Elizabeth Safari Lodge, which was a new hotel (new for Frena, as well). The hotel itself was very nice with new lodging and good amenities, but the service was inexperienced and slow and so it impacted our agenda marginally. Thankfully Ronnie was so good at keeping us on schedule that we didn't miss anything.

Our next morning, we ventured off on a chimpanzee tour that was phenomenal, we saw so many different types of primates and our guides were just so knowledgeable and friendly. A truly remarkable experience! We then started the long track to the airport in Entebbe and were dropped off with plenty of time to meet our 11pm departure.

A huge thanks to Ronnie for making this such a memorable experience, we couldn't imagine a more patient and knowledgable driver/guide. We have travelled all over the world and he is by far our favorite tour guide to date.

A few suggestions for folks considering the 4 day gorilla trekking tour with Frena Adventures:
-Ask Fred for a packing list, he has a great one that is helpful.
-Bring gloves... like gardening gloves for heavy thorns as this was extremely useful during the two trekks. Everyone else was trying to manage with large walking sticks but ended up abandoning them and using their hands to traverse some of the more steeper terrains. We were the envy of the group with the gloves.
-Make sure you have bills for tipping and buying souvenirs- Tips for hotel staff (3 locations), tips for Guides (6 on Gorilla, 2 on Boat, 1 on Game Drive, 2 on Chimpanzee); Souveniers- Batwa Cultural Experience; and of course- tip your drive/tour guide (at the end of the trip).
-If you can, bring pens for the local children. Everywhere you go kids will wave and smile at you, and we learned that a lot of tourists give them pens for school. When you drive up and down the mountains, you will see kids walking to get water or walking to school and so stopping to give them a pen would really go a long way. Don't bring chocolate or sweets as they don't have the dentistry to support that kind of sugar intake.
-Spend a little bit more for the Mid Range Lodging options. Even though they are midrange, not all lodges has shampoo/conditioner/soap for you, so be prepared.
-This 4 day trip will take you from extremely warm temperatures, to really cool temperatures so bring a sweater/jacket.

Romana Bark   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Sep 27, 2022

Email Romana Bark  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Best Gorilla trekking and Murchison Fall experience
5/5

I have been to uganda four times in the last five years and Peter the owner of East African jungle safari, is my go to guy for planning my trips. With his warm grin and excellent services, Frank fulfils all of my wishes for things to see and do. He has taken me on activities like white water rafting on Nile in Jinja and gorilla trekking in Bwindi. He set up chimpanzee trekking in Kibale, a boat to the bottom of the Murchison Falls, and a real tree home for me to spend the night. I have enjoyed zip line in the Mabira forest,coffee farm trips, and the magnificent Sipi Falls. Frank makes anything I can imagine come true, which is why I keep returning.

Romana Bark   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2022

Email Romana Bark  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

We loved the experience with them
5/5

We loved our experience with them. We were picked up from the airport by a driver Ronald and brought to our lodging. The staff were very friendly and the driver was very knowledgeable. We were very lucky to see many Chimpanzees in Nyungwe Forest. We were able to go on the canopy walk and it was all very exciting. We were able to get some great pictures and the whole tour was well organized.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Frena Adventures, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Frena Adventures are subject to their terms & conditions