Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 73
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 75 Reviews
Alessandro   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Apr 10, 2024

Email Alessandro  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Professional, competent and passionate!
5/5

King Charles, simply the best! We couldn't have wished for better.
We (couple, mid 30) were on a customized tour (11days/10nights) end of January 2024, starting from Kigali (Rwanda) ending in Entebbe (Uganda).
From the very first sight our guide Charles gave us a very good impression. Coming from tourism industry myself, I know that the first impression is half the battle. Slowly we started to discover the amazing country (Uganda) and Charles’s virtues and qualities. As he studied geography, he has a very high level of expertise when it comes to fauna and flora, but also has a huge knowledge about climate zones, mountains, agriculture, culture and also about politics of his country. One of his passions are birds, and no one can beat him there.
Charles is a friendly, humorous, and talkative person who is highly appreciated by his clients and also by all his colleagues from other TO. He knows how to command respect, has great assertiveness is very resilient, patient and always on time. He loves his job and does it with passion. Charles definitely stands out of the crowd.
Before getting to Uganda, reading reviews about safety on the road, we were a little worried. Fortunately, Charles is an excellent driver, so we never had to experience fear. Even when we got stuck in heavy mud, he managed to get us out on his own. The Landcruiser we used was very comfortable, always clean, had binoculars and also books about Ugandan wildlife.
With the accommodation we were also very happy, in my opinion some of them were worth much more. The rooms were clean and spacious, staff was friendly and the food everywhere good or even excellent. The only negative was the laundry service at Chimpanzee Forest Lodge where we got back our clothes in xxs, with stains and all in pink, without price reduction for the washing or apology from staff.
What we liked the most, was the transparent communication and his attention to details. We always knew what to expect from the next day/s as we sat down together every evening to speak about issues, desires, and other needs. If there was a problem with something he spoke with us and gave us at least one alternative. We always knew what was going on, he told us a lot about what we saw and was always able to answer all our questions. He took great care of us, asking about toilets or food stops and even if we were on short time, he made us happy, by giving us more time. Almost from beginning we developed kind of telepathy, he always knew where we wanted to stop without communication.
Thanks to Charles we could make this amazing experience not only from the sight of a tourist but also from the sigh of a “local”. You enriched us greatly with your knowledge, but above all with your personal life stories, which were only possible thanks to the friendship and trust you gave us.
Thanks also to Elvis with who we organized the trip. Only advice I can give you, is to provide more information once the client has made the payment. As at some point I was doubting about the whole trip. Fortunately, then we had an informative video call and everything went perfect.

Samantha   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2024

Email Samantha  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Fantastic trip to Uganda
5/5

My tour to Uganda with Otis was amazing. I booked a tour to do gorilla and chimp trekking and both activities did not disappoint. I also visited Queen Elizabeth National Park and Lake Mburo. As a solo female traveler Otis made me feel safe and comfortable throughout the trip.

Constantia   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 28, 2024

Email Constantia  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Smith created such a great environment that we will never forget !
5/5

*Very organized
*Great price
*The lodges that are part of the package are top notch !!!!
*Smith our tour guide was a sparkle of happiness throughout the trip !

Nate R   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 19, 2024

Email Nate R  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Lulu Safari Gorilla Trek and Much More
5/5

What can I say about Lulu Safaris and my wonderful guide Smith:

Truly some of the best days of my life creating amazing memories. From the beginning Lulu Safaris was extremely flexible on my last minute scheduling (3 days in advance). Smith, my guide, picked me up from my hotel and gave me a wonderful tour of Kigali before heading to the mountains. Smith catered to my every need, stopping to take pictures wherever I desired and answering every one of my questions. Smith is extremely knowledgeable about Rwanda and Uganda and his enthusiasm and humility is contagious. Every leg of the journey Smith had friends to make the experience even more enjoyable. Getting to learn about the culture and hang out with locals was so rewarding. Seeing the gorillas and golden monkeys so close and in such great numbers exceeded my expectations. Every lodge I stayed at was 5 star accommodation and service. I cannot recommend Lulu Safaris enough and I most certainly will be back for more adventures. Thank you so much Smith and Lulu Safaris for an unforgettable experience.

Susanne   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Mar 9, 2024

Email Susanne  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic!
5/5

I am so happy I chose Lulu safaris for my gorilla trekking safari! Elvis created a perfect itinerary for me and was always prompt and helpful in responding to any questions I had. My guide Smith made me feel welcomed as soon as I arrived and ensured I had an enjoyable and pleasant experience throughout the tour. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Lulu safaris to others and would hire them again on future excursions to East Africa. Thank you again for such an amazing and memorable adventure!

Daniela   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 1, 2024

Email Daniela  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Uganda gorilla trekking via Kigali!!
5/5

We absolutely loved our tour. Gorilla trekking had been on the bucket list for years and it was absolutely incredible! We had Audence and Simon as our guides and they were wonderful so joyful and upbeat adding so much to our trip. We drove from Kigali to the Bwindi Impenetrable Forrest and the drive there through Rwanda and Uganda’s country side was stunning. We also saw golden monkeys in volcanos national park which was great! Couldn’t recommend this tour more and it made us really want to come back and explore more of Uganda as we only had two days in the country!

Bodil & Ole   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 22, 2024

Email Bodil & Ole  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

This tour exceeded our expectations
5/5

We went on an 8-day safari with a pick up i Kigali. Our guide and driver, Derreck, was knowledgeable, skilled and very competent, and he did his utmost to make us feel at home in Rwanda and Uganda. Starting out in Rwanda, we first visited Karagera Nat. Park doing a great boat trip (late evening), then Volcanoes Nat. Park seeing Golden Monkeys, and from there we went to Uganda. Our first stop was Bwindi Nat. Park, where we saw gorillas, and we also visited a local village. From there we went to Queen Elizabeth Nat. Park. The lodge, Buffalo Lodge, was out of this world! We did game drives, seeing tree-climbing lions, as well as a wonderful boat tour, where we saw elephants bathing. It was so great! From there, we went on to Mburo Nat. Park, with a great game drive and a hike, which was a great chance to get really close to the animals. Last but not least it is really Derreck’s efforts and great personality that made the tour such a success. The tour exceeded our expectations and we can highly recommend Derreck and Lulu Safari.

Shannon   –  
Costa Rica CR
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 10, 2024

Email Shannon  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing experience for solo traveler!
5/5

I am so grateful to Lulu Safaris for an amazing experience in Uganda and Rwanda! Coming from Costa Rica and as a solo female traveler, I was a little nervous about making this week-long trip to Uganda and Rwanda. But I really had nothing to worry about! From the very beginning, Elvis was easy to get in touch with, answering all my questions quickly and being patient with me as I finalized dates and made my final decision on traveling. I arrived in Kigali and they had someone waiting for me, and I was well taken care of until the moment they dropped me off at my hotel at the end of my tour. My tour guides, Audence and Simon (trianee), were both fantastic. They were friendly, knowledgeable, and open to sharing personal stories and answering all my questions. They were organized, always on time, and they knew their way around perfectly, using their strong connections to other guides, the hotels, the national parks, etc., to ensure the best experience for me at every moment. They were very sensitive to what I might need at every moment, and I felt very well taken care of 24/7. And of course, the places they took me were also fantastic! I absolutely loved gorilla trekking in Bwindi (Audence made it much better by checking with the rangers the night before and agreeing on meeting at an entrance to the park nearer to where my family of gorillas had last been seen the day before, so we found the gorillas early and spent a long time with them), I loved the game drive in Queen Elizabeth Game Drive Park, etc. All this said, it is important to go with an open mindset, ready for the unexpected. Things happen and plans change, and it is important to go with the flow. I found some of the changes in our itinerary ended up being some of the best parts of the trip. I can't recommend Lulu Safaris highly enough, and I hope to come back with my whole family sometime soon.

Normans   –  
Latvia LV
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2024

Email Normans  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

It's worth it to be here!
5/5

Yes... being back in Europe we still want to go back to Uganda with its nice climate and exoticism...
We understand that everyday life in this country is not as nice as it looks to tourists, but it is already in almost every tourist trip.
The moments with Lulu Safari in Uganda were great..even despite the fact that I suddenly fell ill with a high temperature (advice-wear masks at airports)-Lulu Safaris reacted quickly and changed the route, arranging extra days of stay in other hotels... Already in the first days we saw almost all the big animals - rhinoceroses, giraffes, buffaloes, elephants, hippopotamuses, chimpanzees.. we were not lucky with the representatives of the cat family, but probably the break in illness stopped us.. we did not complete the whole program...
About currency-it's take some time to understand UGX amount at USD or EUR, at the end of January 1 USD was approx. 3800 UGX, it's time for mathematic :)
Thanks to the guide Samuel - a very responsive, knowledgeable and professional guide, apparently the whole team with Elvis Masiga at the head is like that!
During the trip, everything went exactly, the accommodations are great, the food is even too great, the level of organization of the trip is much better than in some European countries... We plan to return to gorilla trekking, which we didn't do on this trip :)
Oh Uganda, Land of Beauty!

Charlotte   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 1, 2024

Email Charlotte  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

LOVED my adventure & guide!
5/5

What a fabulous adventure! Gorilla trekking was bucket list for me and I’m SO glad I went with Lulu. All of my excursions were great (game drives, gorilla trekking, chimp trekking, gold monkey trekking, channel/boat rides) and when the horseback ride was canceled due to the stable guy being a jerk, they immediately found an even better excursion for me where I got to do a walking safari and got up close to giraffes with an amazing guide—who spotted a leopard! There was no question that Lulu went above and beyond to make sure I had the time of my life! The whole experience was amazing, the lodges they selected were unique and delightful in their own ways! Some had incredible views of forests or mountain and birds, some had lake views and traditional decor and all had very comfortable beds and really delicious food. My guide was open to adding things I wanted to do like shop at the handicraft stores and visit art galleries. My guide Smith was a bright and cheerful travel companion, I felt lucky to adventure with him! It was easy to communicate and he’s super fun!! I can’t say enough great things about Smith and Lulu. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 73
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Lulu Safaris Uganda , not SafariBookings