Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 97
  • 4 star 6
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 103 Reviews
Nina & Blaz   –  
Slovenia SI
Visited: August 2014 Reviewed: Mar 7, 2015

Email Nina & Blaz  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Pure excellence of 18 days in safari and Zanzibar with Sunset Africa
5/5

We were on a trip last August and it was fantastic. We saw a lot of wild animals from very close distance. Also nature was amazing. From yelow grass in Tarengiri to pure green trees and grass in Ngorogoro. We were amazed with the kindnest of people.The staff is excelent, Goddy is friendly gentelman who help us with organization of the trips. The other staff on safari is great. The driver - mr. Ben told us many useful informations of wildlife. Food was uniqe and tastefull. The cook was with us for the whole time. We were there for 18 days, 13 days on safari and 5 days on Zanzibar. We saw Masai village, snake park, NP Tarengiri, NP Manyara, NP Serengeti, NP Ngorogoro and bushman people at lake Eyasi. On zanzibar we saw Stone town and Spice tour, then we were relaxing on the beautifful beach for a few days. In the future we will come back four sure, we still want to visit Kilimanjaro.

Familie Leermakers   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 6, 2023

Email Familie Leermakers  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A good preparation and a good communication resulted in a great trip!
5/5

Our safari adventure started with planning our trip. Emma provided us with a lot of information and great options to choose from. We were counting the days and finally the date of departure arrived. A few days before that departure, we received the last travel information from Emma. That was nice, it helped with our preparations in these last days.

At Kilimanjaro Airport we met with Sele, our guide. He brought us safely to our hotel.
The next morning we started our safari and Sele was a great guide. He told us many things, spotted beautiful animals and was a great driver.
During our trip we also had a cultural day planned, we learned a lot about the Tanzanian culture and habits.

We stayed at some beautiful tented camps, for example Migombani Camp, which has a beautiful view on Lake Manyara. We also stayed at Osupuko Lodges, located on the Serengeti. A very special place to stay and showering with the bucket shower was a great experience.

During our trip Sele showed us Tarangire National Park, Serengeti National Park and the Ngorongoro Crater. We learned so many things about the animals that lives here. It was a special moment when we (well, Sele did) found a large lion-family. No other cars around us, in silence we admired the beautiful animals.

We just had a great trip, a beautiful adventure. We (a family of five, with children in the age of 17, 15 and 11) will never forget this, with many thanks to Emma and Sele.

Floris   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 29, 2023

Email Floris  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Friendly, helpful, and responsive to our wishes!
4/5

We had a lovely safari experience with Sunset Adventure Safari. The tour operator, Emma, was very patient with our many questions and was very quick and clear to provide answers. She was always available through e-mail or WhatsApp to communicate with us. The tour guides were also very friendly and open to our suggestions for our safari experience. They did their very best to accommodate to our wishes. Both Emma and the tour guides were also very open and responsive to feedback. Some planning about the safari experience was unclear to us, but through talking with Emma and the guides, we got the planning straightened out. I suggest you ask about this at the start of your safari so the tour guides can fill you in on the details of the experience.

Overall we were provided with great service. The tour guides really worked hard to show us as much wildlife and scenery as possible, providing very interesting facts and information and answering all our questions. Every night they also set up all the tents for us (since we booked a camping safari). The cook also provided us delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday, waking up very early to prepare it all! Some feedback I gave about the camping gear, was to provide extra protection for the mattresses - so as to reduce the dust they collected along the drive - and some pillows - as these were not provided. Again, Emma and the tour guides were very responsive to this feedback and assured us that they would look for solutions to provide comfortable camping gear.

I would say we got a great value for our money with Sunset Adventure Safari. The tour itself was amazing, with many unique scenes. The staff were open to our suggestions and proved their reliability towards those suggestions. I recommend booking with this company as everything went very smooth!

Lachlan   –  
Canada CA
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 23, 2023

Email Lachlan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The best service & hospitality we have had anywhere in the world
5/5

Omari!
Mzuri sana! You are the tazanite of Tanzania because you’re such a gem(from Erin). We know that it is not an easy job to be a tour guide, driver and friend all at once but you did it all with grace.
- We were very impressed with your driving and we felt safe the whole time.
- We very much appreciated that you were checking in with us all the time about needing bathrooms or being comfortable in the vehicle.
- We really appreciated that you always paid attention to which animals we said we liked and wanted to see. You always went above and beyond trying to find them for us, such as searching for giraffes and arranging our walking Safari in Ngorongoro specifically so we might see them (and we did!)
- We were very impressed when we came off of our flight that you were the very first person holding a sign with our names!
- You were very accommodating and we liked that you always asked us what time we would like to start the next day

All of this shows your professionalism and 16 years experience!

But most of all we felt very welcome in your country. We loved getting to know you and learning about your life. You are extremely knowledgeable about animals and the history of Tanzania. Your jokes always put a smile on our faces and we will keep practicing our Swahili!

We already miss you and cannot wait to be back again. Asante sana, nimefurhrai kikuana nawe!

Sunset Adventure Safaris
Emma thank you for your clear and fast communication. We felt very confident in booking and we appreciated your flexibility in customizing our itinerary!

Also we want to thank you for noticing our arriving flight was into JRO and not ARK. We also know that it was an extra drive for Omari so thank you.

We highly recommend sunset adventure. Our expectations were so far exceeded. Asante sana Emma the team.

Ruth K-W   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 26, 2022

Email Ruth K-W  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Fantastic, unforgettable experience
5/5

We truly had a fantastic trip with Sunset Adventure Safari. It was the first time my mum had done a safari and it is something she will remember for life. Our guide Omari was excellent, a good driver, very knowledgeable and all-round nice person and company. He went out of his way to accompany us and make us comfortable. He met our every need, always available but not intruding. He was very considerate about the things we wanted to see and we never felt rushed. All hotels were good, especially green mountain and Maranda valley lodge. Lunches were excellent and very filling. Dinners were also good. The walking tour was an unique experience , especially coming face to face with a male lone elephant :) We felt the trip was also very good value. The pre-departure communication and information was very detail and timely and the owner, Emma, was a lovely person to deal with. Thanks for making it such a unforgettable experience.

Kristin   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2022

Email Kristin  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE! Would highly recommend:)
5/5

Hi! We took the 5 day Safari through the Serengeti through Sunset Adventure Safaris and it exceeded every expectation we had. We did a private safari for two people. First of all, our guide Sele was always early which made going out and doing the drives earlier to try to see as many animals as possible. He was super informative and you can tell he really enjoys what he does and being out in the bush. He also appreciated our senses of humour and we would have a laugh! It’s important to have a good relationship with your guides as you will be spending many hours with them in the car. Also fun fact, Sele was also really good at taking pictures and getting the right angles which was something that I struggled to do in the car. When he heard on the radio that cheetahs were close, he told us we were going to meet some other cars but kept the cheetahs a surprise which made it MUCH better since we weren’t expecting it. I mean, absolutely did not ruin the surprise and let us see them ourselves first. Personally, love this because we would get so pumped trying to keep our eyes peeled. Another thing, he was really good and manoeuvring the safari vehicle so we could get best view or where he thought the animal would be. When he heard there was a rhino, he actually randomly stopped and took out his binoculars because he figured the rhino was moving in our direction. He didn’t go to where the other vehicles were and we were able to see the rhino before the other vehicle met up with us. He’s a real champ!!

Our Safari vehicle was super sweet. One thing I noticed in comparison to all other companies was the number of seats on the vehicles. Our vehicle had 2 seats in the back with the rest of the space open for walking around/having room for photos without stepping on seats. Other vehicles had 4 to 6 seats but if it was only 2 people in the Safari, they had to stand on seats to manoeuvre around. All we had to do with stand up. This made it way easy for both of us to stand on the same side of the car to take pictures (because you want good pictures). Sele was also happy to take photos from the front seat of us with the animals. I would definitely say, only 2 seats in the back for 2 people gave us leg room and made the long drives more comfortable.

In addition, Emma helped us book the safari and she always responded quickly and was super courteous. She was able to answer all our questions and even helped us loads when our plans changed and dates changed.

Overall, I would definitely recommend Sunset Adventure Safari!!

Marleen   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: September 2021 Reviewed: Sep 16, 2021

Email Marleen  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Sunset Adventure Safari arranged a perfect 5 day safari tour.
5/5

We started from Arusha for the 5 Day Safari with our driver Omary to Tarangire National Park through the Maasai region. In the park we saw a lot of Maasai boys who were busy with cattle herding. In the park the landscape was fantastic, with lots of big baobabtrees and the typical umbrella acacia. Thanks to the sharp eye and the knowledge of Omary we saw lots of animals like lions, a group of elephants in front of the car, lots of giraffes, zebras, gnoes…
The Lake Manyara National Park was very special, driving along the border of the lake, through the forest to the hot springs. Again we saw a lot of elephants, giraffes and baboons. Some were playing on the hood of our car. Omary was never in a hurry. He took time to observe the animals and gave us a lot of opportunities to take pictures and video’s. He was an excellent driver with lots of humor: could’nt be better.
The Serengeti and Lake Ngorongoro were very different because of the yellow dry landscape with also lots of animals like zebras, gazelles, gnoes, buffalos,baboons… We were very lucky because we encountered 3 leopards eating there prey in a tree, 3 male lions passing our car to rest under a tree nearby, a cheeta preparing to hunt and a big group of hippos. The views were fantastic even with clouded weather that day.
On our way back to Arusha we wanted to make a visit to a Maasai village. We were welcomed by a group of dansers; we visited the school were children from 3 to 8 were singing to us andwe were invited to see a Maasai house. Very interesting to see how they live.
The lunches we got every day were very tastefull on a nice spot. The lodges were perfect, nice people and very tasty food. Even in the tented camp where it was not allowed to go outside by night, because of the wild animals in the surrounding. Therefore without hesitation we highly recommend this trip and driver.
Sunset Adventure Safari made a perfect arrangement for a very good price. Thanks a lot.

Roy   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2021 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2021

Email Roy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

It was amazing!
5/5

Halfway June (2021) we started looking for a company to plan and book a safari with to enjoy everything Tanzania has to offer. We came across Sunset Adventures Safari and never regretted it. The safari itself was wonderful, especially how good and easily it was arranged. We could communicate in Dutch with Emma, which was really helpful to let exactly know what we wanted and expected. But the safari was beyond our expectations. The communication was quickly as well, Emma responded always very fast with good and clear ideas. Furthermore planning the safari was really comfortable and flexible, since the safari was personalized as much as possible. Also with planning the safari we did not have any trouble with the Covid-19 situation, because the cancellation policy was really flexible. We started with the first nights at the same locations and with comfortable beds, since we just came from the Kilimanjaro (also organized by Sunset Adventures Safari), this idea was advised by Emma. After all we had the most amazing safari possible thanks to Emma, our great guide Omary and excellent cook Isak. We therefore advise everyone who books a safari at Sunset Adventures Safari to ask for Omaray and Isak, you will not regret it! Omary was excellent at spotting the animals even at great distance. Furthermore he had a lot to tell about every animal, from lions to hornbills he always had something interesting to tell about them. Besides his knowledge about the animals he always had a funny joke prepared as well, he has a great sense of humor. Additionally Isak made delicious meals for us just with one gas burner. He is also very passionate about his cooking by telling exactly what he made and how he made it. It is great to see how happy he is when he comes to you with again another amazing meal.

Bart   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2021 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2021

Email Bart  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An astonishing safari to remeber for ever
5/5

We have had the most amazing experience with our safari organized by Sunset Adventures Safari. The safari started at lake Manyara after we had climbed the Kilimanjaro, we stayed there for 3 nights as this was advised by Emma. Afterwards we were really happy with this, since it was comfortable to stay at the same location for a couple nights with a good bed and hot shower. At lake Manyara we did 3 different types of safaris; hiking safari, night game drive and day game drive. We have spotted a lot of animals in just one day at lake Manyara. But walking through the park while noticing the animals are so close was a thrilling experience just as the night game drive when we stumbled on 5 lions on the hunt. However seeing the African animals is amazing, the most impressive experience was visiting the local tribes at lake Eyasi. It is wonderful to get to know their culture and way of living. The local a people are really friendly, make you feel welcome and most importantly very proud of their culture and eager to share it. After visiting the tribes the journey continued to the Ngorongoro crater, this is by far the best place to see a lot of different animals in big groups together. Although the best place according to us is the amazing Serengeti. To see prides of lions laying in the grass eating their prey at just 5 meters away really takes your breath away. At the Serengeti it is also possible to do a balloon safari and this is astonishing and definitely worth it. The view of the first rays of sun light shining over these endless planes is indescribable and also the animals are clearly visible while up in the air. The last day we exited the Serengeti through the western corridor, this is not visited by tourist that much. However it was just another beautiful part of an unforgettable safari. There is more vegetation here and therefore also a better change at spotting elephants. Which we saw in big numbers, even more than 20 together and they were big, really big!
We had a great time at our safari and therefore want to thank our guide Omary and cook Isak for making it possible. They made sure we went home with great stories and unforgettable memories. They were a great company during this safari and Isak lived up to his nickname Mister Delicious!

Eckhard und Gisela aus Dresden Visited: December 2014 Reviewed: Mar 15, 2015

It was great, safely, friendly and first class organisation, but very nice
5/5

Wir waren vom 1. bis 19. Dezember 2014 in Tanasania und verlebten 8 Tage auf Safari mit unserer tollen Crew.
Unsere Erwartungen wurden mehr als erfüllt, wir haben unendlich viele Tiere gesehen und jeder Elefant und jeder Löwe war ein Ereignis. Es waren unglaublich tolle Erlebnisse in den verschiedenen Nationalparks und unsere Fahrer Omary war ein echtes Adlerauge, ihm entging kein Tier im Baum oder Busch.Unser Guide Hashim hat uns sehr viel über Fauna, Flora und das Leben in Afrika erklärt und geduldig all unsere Fragen beantwortet und uns in jeder Situation geholfen. Dil unser liebenwürdiger Koch hat stets ein unglaublich leckeres Essen gezaubert, keine Ahnung wie er das immer hinbekommen hat. Wir wurden sehr sehr gut von unserer Crew betreut , versorgt und behütet und möchten uns bei unseren 3 Männern nochmals ganz herzlich bedanken, sie haben entscheidend dazu beigetragen, das Afrika für uns das Erlebnis wurde. Aber auch im Vorfeld wurden wir gut beraten, betreut und die Reise auf unsere individuellen Wünsche zugeschnitten. Frau Minka ebenfalls ein herzliches Dankeschön für ihre Geduld und die perfekt Organisation auch für die Tage auf Sansibar.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 97
  • 4 star 6
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Sunset Africa, not SafariBookings