Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 31
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-5 of 5 Reviews
Sabyasachi Basu   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 4, 2024

Email Sabyasachi Basu  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent trip of a lifetime! 2-weeks Bush and Beach Safari
4/5

We – 3 couples in our 50’s and 60’s –returned yesterday from a 2-week Bush & Beach Safari from Kenya. In this trip, we covered game drives in Masai Mara NP (1 ¼ days), Amboseli NP (1 ¼), Nakuru NP (1 day) and Naivasha (1 day). We enjoyed 3 nights/4 days beach vacation in Diani (Mombasa) and also had city tours in Mombasa (1 day) and Nairobi. The entire trip was organized by Salina Wild Adventures.

We approached several tour organizers listed in safaribookings.com. In the end, we selected Salina for their competitive pricing and responsiveness. Our initial contact was with Charles and were handed over to Teddy, who was very responsive to all our queries and demands. He customized a tour based on our necessities. Teddy is based in Nairobi but kept in touch with us throughout the tour.

The accommodations were superb – special mention for Lotos Inn and Suites in Nairobi for their cleanliness and superb Chinese food, and Sentrim Elementaita on the shores of Lake Elementaita, for the excellent location, comfortable accommodation and the excellent buffet spread.

We travelled in a 4 x 4 Toyota Landcruiser during the safari section and had 1 – 2 cars during the city & beach sections of the tour. We always had a vehicle at our disposal and 95% of our meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was included in the tour price.

Our driver, John, during the safari section, was fantastic. He was Masai and was very knowledgeable about the animals, the local customs and traditions. He took extra effort to drive great distances in the National Parks to spot the animals.

Future travelers should take note that the luggage space in the Safari vehicle was quite cramped for 6 travelers and their 6 suitcases and personal baggage.

Perhaps the only complaint we had during the trip was that the vehicles provided during the city parts of the tour both in Nairobi and Mombasa could not accommodate all 6 of us in one vehicle. We had to constantly call Teddy to make alternate arrangements. This was annoying at times, especially after tiring journeys. Also, the bottled water was a tad inadequate during whole-day car travels, though it was supposed to be covered by Salina.

Overall, we were quite satisfied with the arrangements made by and the competitive pricing of Salina. We will certainly recommend them to our friends and families who would like to undertake a journey of a lifetime in Kenya. We wish our very best to Charles, Teddy, John and everyone in Salina for their future.

Craig   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Sep 13, 2023

Email Craig  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Personalised focus to match your Kenya holiday aims.
4/5

Having decided that we wanted to explore Kenya with its acclaimed wild life and pristine beaches, we made comms with Charles at Salina Wild Adventures who was very attentive and flexible in creating a bespoke 8 day tour of Kenya.

We took in the sights and sounds of Masaai Mara, Nakuru, Naivasha and Diani Beach.

He offers a wide range of options and price points - be as precise as you can be and Charles will make it possible.

He took care of every detail and was very responsive.

The hot air balloon flight over the Mara will live with me forever!

Thanks Charles

Louise   –  
Australia AU
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 1, 2023

Email Louise  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great Customer Care
4/5

I did a 9- day safari with Salina, visiting Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Amboseli, Tsavo West and Tsavo East National Parks.

I chose Salina after spending quite a bit of time researching on safaribookings.com.

From the beginning, Charles responded to me quickly and was very helpful, tailoring the safari to suit my needs.

The safari itself went well, although it was probably a little bit too long. I figured I was only going to do a safari in Kenya once in my life! My favourite parks were definitely those further East - Amboseli and the two Tsavos. Masai Mara was disappointing- very dusty, very busy, poor roads and a lack of infrastructure.

My only criticism relates to the accommodation. I stayed in five different places, and the quality varied a lot- it was very hit and miss. I think part of the challenge was that I travelled in high season, and despite booking 6 months in advance, some of the better places (within my budget) were apparently booked out. The cream of the crop are most definitely the Sentrim properties.

Dave   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 22, 2023

Email Dave  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great safari for the price, but budget level is quite basic.
4/5

First off, communication with Charles was excellent. He was responsive to all of my questions and helped with other travel arrangements.

We did a 7 day budget group tour to Massai Mara, Nakuru, Naivasha, Hells Gate, and Amboseli. We usually had 6 people in our van and occasionally 7.

The wildlife viewing was simply incredible. The guides are constantly communicating to each other what they're finding. The parks are gorgeous, and it was interesting seeing the differences between each of them. Our guide was great about stopping for as long as we wanted at each viewing.

So much of your experience depends on the guide you get, which I don't think you'll know till the morning of your trip. Ours was great at finding the animals and answering our questions, but he didn't really offer information without us asking.

Things to be aware of:
This tour included a substantial amount of driving, and you're also in the van during all of the game drives except for Hell’s Gate.

This was a budget tour, and accommodations reflect that. We had broken mesh and zippers at one of our tents. Hot water was not consistently available. There was some construction until pretty late at night. Food was very functional. Not a lot of variety, but it'll keep you fueled.

Each of our accommodations had wifi sometimes, which was great for checking in with family.

Ask about how much drinking water you're allowed.

Game drives typically start very early to get the best opportunities to see what you're there to see....wildlife!

Overall, it was a very positive experience, but I wish Charles had explained a bit more what "budget" really meant.

Elisa   –  
France FR
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 1, 2023

Email Elisa  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Good experience
4/5

We had a good first safari experience with Salina Wild Adventures.
Charles is very kind and avalaible.
During our 6 day safari, we had 3 different drivers-guide (so 3 cars and 3 different groups), which was ok for us but there was a little disorganization because of it. Nevertheless, Charles managed it and it was ok.
Our drivers were determined to find animals but we think they could have explained us more things while searching for animals. It is always better to learn things!
Accommodations and food were good.

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 31
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Salina Wild Adventures, not SafariBookings