Reviews

Average User Rating
4.7/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 8
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-9 of 9 Reviews
Sebastien   –  
Indonesia ID
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 16, 2024

Email Sebastien  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Some magic moments to renew again with you
5/5

6 nights safari in few different places, each of them différents indeed but all with lovely sceneries. Nice and comfortable 4x4 Land Cruiser, but what makes the difference is the driver. And James was great, very friendly and also professional with all animals knowledge and always trying to find them in the savannah.
Thank you to Splendid Vacations for this magic trip ! See you again soon.

Christian   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 2, 2024

Email Christian  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent, professional management, great guide, personal experience
5/5

It was an amazing safari, an incredible experience!! The Guide James was very good in finding interesting spots, often also off the crowd to allow for a very personal experience. The whole preparation and communication for the tour was very professional as well!
Loved it!! Very much recommended

Hannah   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 20, 2024

Email Hannah  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent experience, it was a perfect safari trip!
5/5

Planning and communication leading up to the trip was very prompt and organized. The vehicle was in perfect condition and very comfortable. The itinerary was well planned, we got to see so many different areas it was amazing. Our guide Alex was absolutely phenomenal! He has a talent for finding animals and really went above and beyond what we expected to show us some amazing sights. He has a lot of knowledge about Kenya and its wildlife; we learned a lot from him. My husband and I both agree our 10 day trip was absolutely perfect. Thank you Alex and the Splendid team for making this an incredible experience!

Victoria   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: May 1, 2024

Email Victoria  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Victoria and not that of SafariBookings.
Great at communicating, unhappy safari guide, poor planning and value for money ,
2/5

The communication from splendid was prompt and efficient. Vehicle was robust and well serviced. Driver/tour guide was grumpy and rude at times. Only on the last 1 hour drive of a four day tour decided to share his extensive knowledge. Company grossly misrepresented transit times between parks -2 hours was actually 5/6 hours. Hotels were fantastic.

Reply from Splendid Vacations
Reply from Splendid Vacations
Posted on May 4, 2024

Hello,

We would like to address the above review as follows;

1. The client booked a 4-Day Tsavo West, Amboseli, and Tsavo East National Park Safari starting from Diani Beach. The booking process was smooth with her daughters, responsible for the safari planning. On Day 1 of the safari, the journey started well, from Diani Beach to Taita Hills and Saltlick Lodge, and we didn't have any complaints from the client. On Day 2, the Southern Region Safari Circuit, which is Tsavo Parks and Amboseli National Park, was experiencing a lot of rain that forced the driver to use the longer route to Amboseli, which is a drive of about 5 hours. The driver decided to ensure the client's safety as our usual route was already flooded because of the long rains, and the driver couldn't afford to risk it as clients' safety comes first. After arriving in Amboseli National Park, the clients checked in at the Ol Tukai Lodge, had a sumptuous lunch, and proceeded for an afternoon game drive. After the game drives, the client contacted us after dinner and informed us that she was not willing to proceed with the safari to Tsavo East National Park the following day because she had back pains. The client insisted on staying in Amboseli National Park on Day 3 rather than going to Tsavo East National Park at no extra cost as they were unwilling to add any cost.

2. Given that the client requested a last-minute change during the night, we asked for the client to wait until the following morning so that we could call the reservations department for the hotel in Tsavo East for the cancellations and credit the amount already paid. On Day 3, the hotel in Tsavo East confirmed that they were not in a position to refund or credit the amount already paid as this was a last-minute cancellation. As a company that focuses on ensuring service quality and client satisfaction to all our guests, we opted to pay for the client's extra night in Ol Tukai Lodge and the park fees for the same day out of pocket, totaling USD 700. The client was not charged for this. We again paid for their train tickets afresh from Emali to Mombasa as we had previously booked them from Voi to Mombasa, and the time frame for cancellation had already expired. After all the changes, the client shared an appreciation message with the company for re-booking the hotels and the train tickets.

3. Alex is one of our best driver guides, as per other reviews. On Day 3, when the client wanted to stay longer in Amboseli, our driver was in communication with the client advising of possible alternatives if Ol Tukai Lodge wouldn't confirm the availability of an extra night at the lodge and just in case the train is full from Emali to Mombasa (given that it was during the Easter Holidays) the client seemed not to agree with the driver of the alternatives provided. She was mad at the hotel reception; even the lodge could confirm she was shouting at the driver. All our driver guides are well-trained and disciplined. They have excellent driving experience, game viewing skills, and vast knowledge about wildlife, birdlife, plants, and authentic cultures of different communities in Kenya. On the same note, we are having a sit down with the driver to understand what transpired up to this situation.

Our company remains committed to offering excellent customer service and continually enhancing the customer experience.

Penelope   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 27, 2024

Email Penelope  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very professional and reliable
5/5

James our safari guide was amazing! He made our experience memorable!

Malcolm & Kimberly   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 10, 2024

Email Malcolm & Kimberly  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

5-star Service, an Amazing Adventure
5/5

Booking our safari with Splendid was a great decision. The James was attentive, listened to all my wants and put together an memorable trip for me and my family which included a 4-day safari and 2-day beach trip.

We were paired with a knowledgeable guide, Alex, who was patient, understanding and funny. Our itinerary was followed closely but Alex was flexible when it came to our kids. He stopped for any animal they wanted to see, including squirrels. The photos and videos we took were amazing….National Geographic quality.

Our hotels were well-maintained, food was delicious and the staff were friendly and attentive. They were located within the parks themselves and offered great views of animals without leaving the property. At one property, we were offered a “big 5” wake-up call in case they came to the watering hole during the night.

All in all, no one in my family will forget this trip. Highlights included:
- 5 lionesses and 1 cub catching some shade
- A herd of elephants taking a red soil bath
- Two different elephant families greeting each other
- A wild dog family frolicking in the street and
- Two male giraffes fighting over a girl

Thanks to James and Alex for a wonderful vacation. It was an unbelievable experience, filled with wonderful memories and a trip we will talk about for years to come.

Diana   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 18, 2024

Email Diana  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Incredibly helpful, organised and affordable
5/5

I would a million times recommend Splendid Vacations to anyone looking to plan a safari. They were able to customize our trip. Communication was prompt and everything was organized from transport to luggage storage. It also seemed like they had premium deals and better prices with lodges. Knowing that everything had already been planned out and taken care of, we were able to relax and focus on enjoying the cozy atmosphere and unbelievable safari. Special thanks to Joseph for being enthusiastic and his support. I was generally pleased.

Ireyn   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 17, 2024

Email Ireyn  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent services & best tour operator ... We had a great trip organized
5/5

The trip was wonderful - lots of great memories were made. All the arrangements ( hotels, cab transfers) went as planned.....Thank you for your recommendation and putting the trip together. The resort was absolutely beautiful. The infinity rooms food and pools, the palm trees in the main pool,exceeded expectations. Very easy to get in and out, transportation efficient. You did a great job!! Big time pressure on you, trying to make sure the trip meets the expectations for the money.

Lynda   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Jan 17, 2024

Email Lynda  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Professional and determined on his work
5/5

Splendid vacation is a big company that no one would miss to book a vacation with i really had fun starting from the reception they gave us ,I booked a vacation to diani with them and let me tell you they booked us the best hotel in diani where by it felt good and fancy everything was on point until the last day .I really want to thank the whole organization of Splendid vacation for the good work and i promised my self to be booking my travels with splendid any day anytime.

Average User Rating
4.7/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 8
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Splendid Vacations, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Splendid Vacations are subject to their terms & conditions