User Reviews – Samburu NR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 73 Reviews
Ray   –  
Philippines PH
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Dec 31, 2018

Email Ray  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Good to see the different species compared to the south of the country, but would not make this a priority.

Irma   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Nov 26, 2018

Email Irma  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great
Overall rating
4/5

Wildlife very interesting, scenery beautiful, weather good, accommodations good, food ok, transportation most of time good, guide Alois excellent

Dan McCoy   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Oct 26, 2017

Email Dan McCoy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

I liked Samburu but it seemed as though it was a bit on the small side for the number of safari outfitters there- thus when a lion or leopard were spotted there were immediately 10 vehicles chasing after it.

Migara Wijesinghe   –  
Sri Lanka LK
Visited: July 2016 Reviewed: Aug 15, 2016

Email Migara Wijesinghe  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Samburu was the hottest park (in terms of weather) and the wildlife, is simply unique to each of the parks.

mwangee   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: July 2015 Reviewed: Apr 4, 2016

Email mwangee  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

This place is wild! Wild and beautiful. The Ewaso Ng'iro river makes it even more beautiful with animals flocking to its shores to quench their thirst every day.

Gunhild & Ina   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Sep 27, 2015

Email Gunhild & Ina  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Dry and hot, but worth to see. Few animals at this time but nevertheless awesome.
Overall rating
4/5

Elephants, giraffes, zebras, lions, impalas, okapi, dikdiks, baboons, cheetah, ostrich, different birds... to see!
Hot and dry but great weather. Sentrim Samburu camp very nice (warm welcome, friendly people, nice food and accomodation). Umoja women camp not be recommended (unfriendly people, very basic)
Nice game drives, very nice driver, sunrise...

sebastian brandner   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2015

Email sebastian brandner  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

We stayed at the Saruni Samburu Lodge, which is more upmarket that the Offbeat Meru. It is located on a rock, overlooking the plains. Guests come from all continents. The rooms are spacious, with electricity and a weak wifi, which is good enough to download the occasional email, and browse the web. The accommodation and the main dining and entertainment areas are separated by 200m concrete paved trail making is easy and safe to walk between the two places. Shower was not sufficiently warm, making it a bit unpleasant to shower in the morning or evening. However it was a special experience to shower outside at night overlooking the vast valley and watching the starry sky. We have however not complained about the cold shower so the management may not be aware.
The overall service was more upmarket and the food was higher quality and more refined than on Offbeat Meru, and comparable with Ol Seki in the Mara Naboisho. We were really fantastically entertained by Tom, a young British Camp Manager, and he looked after all guests very well. We had relatively junior drivers, who were familiar with the wildlife, but explained less and we had the impression we saw less wildlife than in Meru. The vegetation is hilly shrub land an there is one large river, where lions wait for a catch. The red terrain makes it a great photography area for landscapes. The drivers had less experience dealing with photographer, but still we were able to make a few excellent photo-shots

ninara Visited: December 2014 Reviewed: Apr 24, 2015

Overall rating
4/5

Beautiful scenery and a lot of animals

Tom Vohya Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2014

Overall rating
4/5

We went to Samburu for an early morning game drive with a guide. We drove for quite a while without seeing much, but then saw a lion just as we were leaving the park.

Ronald Vriesema Visited: December 2010 Reviewed: Aug 21, 2012

Overall rating
4/5

Easy to travel around. Lots of wildlife. Samburu people in the area are good to visit.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 55
  • 4 star 18
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review