​User Reviews – Lake Bogoria NR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-9 of 9 Reviews
CedricVandermeulen   –  
Thailand TH
Visited: March 2011 Reviewed: Aug 22, 2011

Email CedricVandermeulen  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Not that much wildlife in Bogoria - birding essentially, and a sometimes questionable scenic beauty due to the roadside pollution.

simbambili   –  
Italy IT
Visited: November 2011 Reviewed: Apr 7, 2012

35-50 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

worth the trip for the huge concentration of Flamingo and hot springs present there.

Chris M. Visited: February 2009 Reviewed: Apr 26, 2012

Hot springs, geysers, flamingos, and few tourists.
Overall rating
3/5

Lake Bogoria is off the usual safari circuit. It doesn't have the wildlife or resorts of Lake Nakuru and it isn't boat friendly like Lake Baringo. But it does have boiling hot springs, erupting geysers, colorful landscapes, and loads of flamingos. It's seriously hot here - an outdoor spa where you'll see locals taking in the steam to cleanse their skin, sinuses, and some say, their spirit. Worth a detour if you're in the area but not a destination in and of itself.

hollisa   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2009 Reviewed: May 7, 2012

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Nice lake with some hot springs and many flamingos but less mammals. If you combine it with a stay at Lake Baringo, it´s more interesting!

J C Mills Photography   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2016 Reviewed: Aug 29, 2016

Email J C Mills Photography  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Worth going for the flamingos and the setting. Avoid July -August as the only hotel here is overrun by van loads of Asian tourists giving it a package feel.

Linda Chen   –  
China CN
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Jul 24, 2018

Email Linda Chen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
3/5

We chose Lake Bogoria instead of Nakuru for the flamingo, but there weren't many in this time of year, much less than that in Amboseli.

Dan   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Aug 12, 2018

Email Dan  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
3/5

Unfortunately the rains limited our view of the park at Lake Bogoria the roads were not passable--- however we came here for the flamingos and it did not disappoint. We were up close to the many flamingos flying in and out. If you are not wanting to see flamingos then I would suggest you verify that the roads are accessible. We enjoyed our time here and the accommodation were nice and the food was great.

Ray   –  
Philippines PH
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Dec 31, 2018

Email Ray  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

A place to see hot springs and flamingos. Worth a stop on the way to Lake Baringo.

Ankit Desai   –  
India IN
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Mar 25, 2019

Email Ankit Desai  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
3/5

Can be given pass. Visit only if you are interested in Hot-spring and flamingos... Too far for travelers!

Average User Rating

  • 3.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 5
  • 4 star 7
  • 3 star 9
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review