Okavango Delta

- User Reviews
User Rating
110 Reviews
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Write a User Review
Rating Breakdown
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
0
1 star
0
Sort by: 1-10 of 110 reviews
By Wolfgang Stark from GermanyDE
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: August 2017  -  Reviewed: 20 Sep 2017

The Okavango Delta is simply beautiful, full of lush swamps and amazing scenery.

The wildlife features a large array of birds and crocodiles amongst other animals but these two were the most prominent and especially because you can't see them that easily in other places. The weather was perfect, we were there in August so it was roughly 25 with no mosquitos and nice and sunny. The transportation and guides were perfect, we went in a Jeep to the island and it was easy and efficient. The highlights were definitely seeing a local guide start a fire with some sticks as well as learning about how they use a tree to make alcohol. The main highlight was rowing through the delta in an old school canoe, it was incredible and one not to be missed. I wish I could attach photos but I do not think this is an option.

  • Sunset at Chobe

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Mark from United StatesUS
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: March 2017  -  Reviewed: 13 Aug 2017

Amazing place to visit

Everything was perfect about this safari, except the season. We've been there at the end of still wet season, with too much water around and too tall grass to hide for wildlife. Did not spot big cats at all. However, a lot of hypos, zebras, giraffes, elephants, different kinds of antelopes, beautiful birds.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Peculiar Perception from AustraliaAU
| under 20 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: June 2017  -  Reviewed: 1 Aug 2017

A safari full of humour and beauty

The Okavango Delta provided more beauty than any of other safari destinations we stayed at. The beautiful sunsets over the water gave us memories to always remember. The scenery was incredible. In terms of accomodation we had great food and excellent service. Our rooms gave us our own private balcony with a stunning view. The staff were very funny and good with kids. However, sometimes they joked around and would miss small details like birds. As we also stayed in safari lodges in Zambia, we found that the staff at the Botswana safari lodges had a lot more humour and seemed to love a laugh. One night they even sung and danced to us and the other guests. In conclusion, the Okavango Delta was a beautiful, enjoyable and fun experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Sully858 from United StatesUS
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: May 2017  -  Reviewed: 14 Jul 2017

Be Sure to See It From the Sky!

The Okavango Delta is truly a special place but to truly appreciate it nothing beats a flight tour offered by any number of charter companies operating out of the Maun airport. On our flight, we flew over herds of elephants, Antelope and Impala grazing at sunset. Hippos and Crocs bathed in swampy grassland ponds. Lots of wildlife and an incredible view from a couple thousand feet in the air. We took in this region and flight experience while on a three-week 2,200+ on and off-road motorcycle ride from Victoria Falls to Cape Town. We rented BMW
GS800s and stayed at a dozen or so places along the route. Incredible "bucket list" trip and the Okavango Delta was a special part of it.

  • 2,200+ miles from Vic Falls to Cape Town
  • THAKADU BUSH CAMP | Botswana

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Mandy from United StatesUS
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: December 2016  -  Reviewed: 24 Jun 2017

Beautiful, absolute serenity and once in a lifetime experience

Experiencing the delta through the mokoro boats is an incredibly peaceful and beautiful experience. I did the boat trip as well as a helicopter ride to see the vastness of the delta itself and it was stunning. Our mokoro guide was personable and even let us practice rowing ourselves. Camping inside the delta was great and morning bush walks allowed us to see elephants, wildebeast, giraffes, and zebras. Nature at its best.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By hjreitsma from NetherlandsNL
| 65 years of age or older | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: March 2005  -  Reviewed: 10 Jun 2017

The Okavango Delta

The Okavango Delta
Henk Reitsma
Some years ago my wife and I made a roundtrip through a number of countries in Southern Africa. We travelled with a group from Cape Town to the Victoria Falls. The absolute highlight was our visit to the Okavango Delta in Botswana. It was March, so in the wet season with the Delta completely filled.
We slept two nights on a houseboat placed on the edge of the Delta area.
We departed in the morning to the Delta and first had to drive a few kilometers with a truck (Photo 1), passing a small village with rondavel huts (photo 2). Along the road laid the carcass of an elephant (Photo 3), probably shot by the village people to protect their crops.
There were 10 boats (mokoro’s ) and 10 guides (Photo 4) waiting for our group with 20 participants and subsequently we started our tour over the Delta through high grasses and reed. In each mokoro two persons were sitting. The guides were very careful to avoid the hyppo’s and asked us not to make noise. We heard elephants in the distances and saw a glimp of the herd when standing in the mokoro. However I almost lost my equilibrium and almost fell in the water.
After two hours we entered a small island to have lunch (Photo 5) and subsequently made a walk (Photo 6) over this island guided by two guides. We found the remains of a buffalo, probably killed by a lion (according to our guide), which reminded us again that we walked through a terrain with wild animals.
On our way back we saw some deer in the distance. After 1 ½ hour we arrived at our point of departure. It was a splendid tour through a wonderful water world. Even after a couple of years I still have vivid memory of our visit to the Okavango Delta.
... more

Link to this review 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By RunningRalph from NetherlandsNL
| 35-50 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: January 2017  -  Reviewed: 13 May 2017

Amazing scenery

Both from the water (kokomo) and from the air (helicopter) the Okavango is an amazing landscape. We weren't lucky with the weather during our bush camp but it was still a good experience to see the canals an islands.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By philippejubeau from FranceFR
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: over 5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: January 2017  -  Reviewed: 11 May 2017

Fantastic

A safari on foot in the Okavango Delta is an unforgettable experience.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Daniele Zanni from United KingdomGB
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: April 2017  -  Reviewed: 4 May 2017

On foot, spotting elephant. On a mokoro, looking at hyppos

I loved spending 2 nights in the Okavango delta, camping and navigating with the traditional mokoros. Tracking animals on foot and spotting them from the mokoros has been the highlight of the trip. The food (prepared on a campfire) and the local guides were excellent!

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By manga_mom from United StatesUS
Rating
Visited: February 2017  -  Reviewed: 3 May 2017

It was very wet while we were there, which sometimes made travel challenging, but even so, the safari vehicles navigated through the water over the sandy bottom. We didn't see quite as much wildlife here as in Chobe, probably because of the water levels, but had great looks at hippos and numerous birds.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11

SafariBookings Expert Panel

Our panel of 22 experts wrote a total of 969 reviews about the countries and parks we cover.