Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 73
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 2

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 79 Reviews
Carole Troy   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 28, 2022

Email Carole Troy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Trip of a Lifetime
5/5

We had a 16 night safari in Kenya organised by African Sunset Safaris. Haron was excellent in suggesting possible itineraries and extremely patient every time I had to make changes. Our final itinerary gave us an amazing overview of this amazing country. We saw so much wildlife and had some wonderful experiences along the way. Haron and Charles were full of interesting facts and stories and my two teenagers especially enjoyed this. They both really ensured our holiday was a wonderful experience. All our accommodation which was selected by Haron was excellent and so comfortable. So great spots to see wildlife around watering holes. I would definitely recommend African Sunset Safaris and hopefully if we get to return I will not hesitate to use them.

Govindarajan Palaniswamy   –  
India IN
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 17, 2022

Email Govindarajan Palaniswamy  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A Very good tour operator whom you can totally trust.
5/5

Haron of African sunset safari is a wonderful guy. Starting from my enquiry and till finalizing with him, his response is immediate and to every query he has answered. He has taken all efforts to show the big 5 and all other in Mara park and other places like Lake Nakuru and Amboseli Park. He took good care of us . It was an awesome experience and you can trust him fully. Very composed man and not in a hurry to finish anything half way. Wish him all the best.

Aksh Lalith   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jun 29, 2022

Email Aksh Lalith  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Goes above and beyond to make your trip perfect!
5/5

The trip was everything we dreamed of and more. Haron really helped create a once in a lifetime adventure that me and my family will never forget!

Despite the time differences, i received a very prompt reply to my intial inquiry.
Haron communicated via Emails and sent me a detailed itinerary.

At African Sunset safari they go over board to adjust their itinerary to meet personal needs. Any upgrades or changes that we needed, we let them know, they respond very quickly to all our requests and helped "tweak" itineraries as needed. Bonus...reasonably priced as well

I really appreciated the attention to details, the recommendations for what to do in each place,and the arrangements made. Each and every hotel/lodge we stayed at was luxurious and incredible, food was amazing, world class service, game drives were fun, my family and I saw much more wildlife and live hunting actions than we had ever imagined.

It was all luxurious and perfect! I truthfully can't stop talking about coming back to Africa already!

Beth   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Apr 24, 2022

Email Beth  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing time in Masai Mara
5/5

Our driver Aaron was amazing on our safari in Masai Mara. He picked us up from Nairobi and drove us to the park. The car was clean and spacious and the fridge for drinks was very useful. Our time in the park itself was short but because Aaron knew the park so well we managed to see all the animals! We saw Lions, Cheetahs, a Leopard even a Rhino.

Aaron stayed with us after our time in the park and drove us all around Kenya. He was always punctual and ready to take us wherever we wanted to go.

We would recommend African Sunset Safaris to anyone doing a Safari in Kenya

Andreea Lotak   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2022 Reviewed: Mar 17, 2022

Email Andreea Lotak  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Beautiful trip in Kenya and Tanzania with African Sunset Safaris
4/5

The rating would be 4.5 starts if I could select that. Aaron and the entire team were professional and reliable and we felt taken care of during the transfers from Kenya to Tanzania and back. We communicated the whole time via WhatsApp and the entire team was very responsive.

There were some hiccups with COVID testing and some coordination with the payment (issues with the $100 bills) and final transfer back to Kenya, but a lot of COVID planning is difficult to do with constantly changing regulations. Aaron did take care of us after all and helped us get all of our tests needed before returning to the US.

We had a great time on the safaris and saw more than we were expecting, including a serval. Both Aaron and Geoff were very good at communicating with other guides and taking us where all the action was. We all throughly enjoyed the accommodations we stayed at (especially the camp in Serengeti) and the wildlife we were so lucky to see. It was, overall, a truly memorable trip and we’re grateful to the African Sunset Safaris team for making it happen. Would recommend.

Ryan Patrick Killackey   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2022 Reviewed: Mar 8, 2022

Email Ryan Patrick Killackey  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Excellent experience in 4 nature reserves in 2 countries.
5/5

I’m a fairly seasoned visitor to Africa, and lead a trip for myself and 5 friends. We specifically wanted to go to Maasai Mara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and Kilimanjaro for 6 people over 9 days.

When reaching out to different safari companies, we were told our trip couldn’t be done. We were always offered an alternative itinerary visiting places we didn’t want to see with a ridiculous price tag.

It appeared to me, many of these companies were operating out of the countries we wanted to visit, and were owned by foreigners. It was important to me to get the trip I asked for, and to support a local African company.

African Sunset Safaris offered a fair price for the exact trip I requested. Haron Gashao was extremely prompt to answer every question I had on WhatsApp, and his team of all local Kenyans and Tanzanians we great. The standout was our Tanzanian guide, Geoffrey Godwin, who guided us for most of our trip was most excellent.

Over the course of 9 days, we only experience a few minor hick-ups. All in all, everything ran smoothly, and the safari vehicles never let us down.

During our experience, we saw - 24 lions, 11 cheetah, 4 leopard and 1 serval cat. We also saw hundreds of elephants and other mammal, birds, reptiles and amphibians.

We were given several options for lodging, and chose the following lodges for our trip - Sarova Mara Lodge, Serengeti Safari Lodge, Bougainville Safari Lodge and Mille Salinero Lodge. The standout was Serengeti Safari lodge. At first sight the main lodge was rundown, but the wall tents were stunning, clean and had brilliant views. Additionally the lodge staff at Serengeti Safari Lodge were the best we experienced.

If you are clear with Haron about what you want, and are equally clear about your expectations, you will have an excellent trip with African Sunset Safaris

Justin Lotak   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2022 Reviewed: Feb 21, 2022

Email Justin Lotak  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Our tour operator was kind and enjoyable to be with
5/5

We had a great trip with African Sunset Safaris, and our guide Haron took care of our trip to ensure everything went smoothly (which was a difficult task with COVID changing so many rules so frequently). We saw more wildlife than we imagined we would - throughout Masai Mara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and Kilimanjaro. Overall it will be a trip we remember for the rest of our lives. Thank you Haron and African Sunset Safaris!

Paul   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2022 Reviewed: Feb 18, 2022

Email Paul  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Geoffrey Giraffe is the BEST!
5/5

A group of 6 of us went to Masai Mara in Kenya as well as Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater, & Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. Haron worked with us to coordinate the entire trip (including PCR testing) & was always quick to respond to our questions. Everything went smoothly as far as getting picked up on time & border crossings. I was especially surprised & pleased with the level of food & accommodations for our mid-range safari. I think we got a great value for our money. In Tanzania, our guide was Geoffrey who we began calling Geoffrey Giraffe (ever shop at Toys R Us?). Geoffrey is not only a great guide but also a great guy! He is a jovial character who made sure we saw as much as possible during our time with him. I highly recommend African Sunset Safaris!

Claire Robin   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: October 2021 Reviewed: Nov 18, 2021

Email Claire Robin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Best experience to see the mountain gorillas
5/5

We had an absolutely fantastic 7 day tour of Uganda travelling with Haron from African sunset Safaris. This trip had been planned for two years and had to be postponed in 2020. Haron was very responsive and accommodating throughout in making sure that my permits and reservations and accommodations were taken care of and rearranged.

Haron is knowledgeable and extremely professional in all aspects. He knows his way around all the parks and is familiar with many of the park rangers and staff in order to make sure you have the best experience. He enjoys taking photos as much as we do and he made sure we got the best photo opportunities whether we were in the truck or on my chimpanzee and gorilla tracking - he made sure the other guides were also taking care of me.

Haron provided great company and lots of interesting facts as we drove through the country. We saw different chimpanzees in different groups and mountain gorillas

Highly recommend Haron and African sunset safaris... thank you thank you.

Ernesto González   –  
Mexico MX
Visited: September 2021 Reviewed: Nov 6, 2021

Email Ernesto González  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent Job, he knows very well
5/5

Our trip was fantastic, my girlfriend and I took a 10 days safari tour that include Kenya and Uganda.
I began the communucation with Haron (the owner of african Sunset safaris) since july for planning all the places that we want to visit.
We have a vehicle for us and the trip guides (Haron and Charles). They have a good sense to found animals in the safari places and they told us about this characteristics.
The communication was very good, we was curious about kenyan and africancan culture, in highways time we make a lot of question that they kindly ask.
The service was excellent, in game drives we have enough time stop to see animals and take photos.
The trip was all included: hotels, meals, transport, fligth Nairobi to kampala.
We was lucky to see rinos, one cheeta, one leopard and many lions. In uganda we was very close to a gorillas family.
Really was a incredible experience

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 73
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 2
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by African Sunset Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by African Sunset Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions