Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 181
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 186 Reviews
Isabelle   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Dec 13, 2022

Email Isabelle  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A fabulously organised safari with Tanzania Roadside Expeditions
5/5

I wanted to choose a Tanzanian owned and run travel company for our family safari, and picked Tanzania Roadside Expeditions based on several good reviews, and their general responsiveness. I could not have been more impressed.
Paul Justine, who runs the firm, answered all my questions promptly, and was flexible in making adjustments.
My husband, two daughters (in their twenties) and I only had 1 week, and I therefore wanted it to be just safari, but recognising that my husband, in particular might need time to recover from the flight from London, we opted to spend 1 full day in Arusha, which we all appreciated, taking advantage of the Gran Melia's pool and massage. When I saw the suggested itinerary with 4 stops: Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Ngorogoro Crater and the Serengeti, I wondered if we were doing too much, and if we should skip Ngorogoro Crater, but Paul dissuaded me, and we were all glad that we didn't. James was our guide, and he could not have done a better job. He was extremely knowledgeable, seemed able to spot things from a distance so that we would often find ourselves on the scene of some key action before others arrived. He was also a wonderful driver., appeared tireless patient and kind.

The hotels that Tanzania Roadside Expeditions picked were all very comfortable, but the ones they arranged in Lake Manyara (Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge) and in the Serengeti (Kubu Kubu Tented Lodge) were exceptional.

It was all-in-all a truly magical trip that was beautifully arranged, and for an undoubtedly luxurious safari was extremely good value for money.

Giorgio   –  
Oman OM
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Dec 11, 2022

Email Giorgio  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very professional
5/5

We had a 3 days tour. We went to Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara. We stayed for 2 nights at Octagon lodge.
The trip was very well organised. The guides we had, James and Ezekiel, were great and always making sure we were ok and comfortable. They were also very patient - we travelled with our 2 kids (5y old and 2 y old).
The 3 parks we visited were really nice and different. James and Ezekiel provided a lot of additiona information during the trip.
The lodge was also very nice and conveniently located. The room was big and clean, the breakfast and dinner were very good. the lunch box was also good.
Before travelling we had a few email exchange with the tour operator to agree the itinerary and they were always very professional and quick in their answers. Everything went well and we would definitely recommend Tanzania Roadside!

Alban   –  
France FR
Visited: October 2021 Reviewed: Dec 8, 2022

Email Alban  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

I would surely recommend Roadside expeditions !
5/5

We had a perfect stay in mainland tanzania with roadside expeditions last october. Awesome driver who was safe, smart and really interesting !

Andrea Schwarz   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 19, 2022

Email Andrea Schwarz  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great service! Wonderful experience for our first safari
5/5

We had a great time with Tanzania Roadside Expeditions. The Service was great and our tour guide and driver explained a lot. We saw all big five, and were really lucky. The accomodations during the safari were great, and the tented lodge in the Serengeti was an interesting experience. We can absolutly recomend Tanzania Roadside Expeditions for a safari trip. We had a great time.

theron   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 9, 2022

Email theron  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A friendly and knowledgeable safari company!
5/5

We had an awesome 6-day "Great Migration" tour in Tanzania and Kenya in September. Sele and Fred were amazing tour guides and extremely knowledgeable. We had a lot of fun together and really enjoyed how they would get us the best spots for animal viewing. We saw everything (big 5) we wanted to, and so much more. I highly recommend this company. Everything went very smoothly and it was truly a once in a lifetime experience.

Tony Mc   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 9, 2022

Email Tony Mc  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Friendly and professional
5/5

I can't praise them enough this trip is etched in my memory for ever. We had very close encounters with lions and a cheetah which I put down to our guides excellent knowledge. Saw two Wildebeest Mara river crossings in one day, each with 20000 plus animals. It looked like the highs of one day were eclipsed by the high of the next day. When asked about the safari this is what I tell them.
The travel time was horrendous I live in the USA 19hrs going 22hrs on the return.
Jet lag was horrendous 7hrs time difference.
Extremely rough rough roads, makes our rough washboard roads seem like the interstate.
Yes it was worth it was
PHENOMENAL!!!!

Nico   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2022

Email Nico  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

5-day Safari with Tanzania Roadside Expeditions
5/5

After visiting Namibia a few years ago (self-drive), we wanted to return to Africa and realized we would need an organized tour with a guide/driver.
After research and reading reviews we choose Tanzania as destination as Parks are relatively close and did not want to spend too many days on the road.
Read good reviews and comments on TripAdvisor and other sites regarding Tanzania Roadside Expeditions.
From the initial contact they were very helpful and quick to respond, flexible to accommodate our wishes., with excellent pricing and conditions!

We did a private 5-day safari to Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara.
Our driver and guide, Eli, was phenomenal!! He is an excellent wild life spotter and
knew exactly where to take us for better views and photos, always in good spirit and very pleasant and easygoing guy!
We had good accommodations that varied from a real (temporary) Kati-kati tented camp in Serengeti ((fantastic experience / should have stayed for 2 nights instead of 1!) and very luxurious hotel as the Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge (Wellworth Collection).
Food was very good and we had great dinners, breakfasts and quite diverse lunchboxes for underway.
The driving from Lake Burunge-Tarangire to Serengeti was extremely long and took us 10 hours on rough, dusty and sometimes scary roads. We would have appreciated a bit more information regarding this.
Fortunately, Eli is an extremely experienced driver, always with a lovely smile on his face and he tried to accommodate all our wishes regarding travel times, stops for coffee (wonderful coffee in Tanzania!), photos, etc…

The only 3 details that could be improved would be:
1) better/newer seats in the 4x4 vehicle (at least ours)
2) information about distances and expected driving times to get to each destination.
3) better information regarding Lake Manyara, famous for its thousands of pink flamingos. However, since some time there are no flamingos anymore.
We would have preferred to stay an extra night in Serengeti (considering the long drive to get there, one night is too short) and would have skipped Lake Manyara.

We highly recommend Tanzania Roadside Expeditions (Paul Justine, General Manager) for their prompt responses, experience and professionalism, help with Covid testing, etc.
We highly recommend visiting Tanzania! Beautiful places and thousands of animals! We did see the Big 5 and much more!

Jackie   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 24, 2022

Email Jackie  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Flawless! The experience was absolutely flawless!
5/5

It's difficult when you're from another country to book a safari with a local company. You just never know what you're going to get. That said, Tanzania Roadside Expeditions gave us everything they said they would and more! Everything, everything was perfectly timed. Guides, drivers, everyone involved were where they said they were going to be when they said they were going to be there. The accommodations were perfect...comfortable, and luxurious! The food was excellent!

More importantly the guides were knowledgeable and friendly. They found all of the animals we wanted to see. They educated us on them and the ecosystem. The 'safari car was comfortable. All of the bad parts of a safari we had read about...bugs...sun...weather never affected us because of the vehicle.

There is nothing they could have done better! I have already recommended Roadside Tanzania to friends. If you're thinking about a safari; if you're wondering who can trust...trust Roadside Tanzania Expeditions. They are the best!

Carlos   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 17, 2022

Email Carlos  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Walter , The Wild Animal Whisperer Was Wonderful ! 5 “W’s” For A 5 “Stars” Experience
5/5

We did a quick 9 Day Safari experience which included 4 days in 3 Parks , 1 day touring in Stone Town (Zanzibar) & 3 days relaxing at a beach resort in Zanzibar. Our Safari guide , Walter, made this such a memorable trip. Living In Arusha, he knew and shared everything about the history, topography, food , local customs, Masai Warriors and of course animals and their behavior. Our accommodations were very comfortable at each place we stayed.

Tanzania Roadside Expeditions was dependable, honest & accessible throughout the entire planning of the trip as well as during and after the trip. We would highly recommend them.

One note: Next time we would try to stay 2 or 3 nights at Serengeti Park, it really was the highlight of the Safari. Trying to do 3 parks in 4 days ( our request) was overly ambitious and made for a lot of driving time and limited our enjoyment of accommodation amenities.

Kevin B   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2022

Email Kevin B  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible experience
5/5

We did a private safari with Tanzania Roadside Expeditions. Overall our safari was excellent !
Our guide made sure that we had the best stay possible!
Thanks to him we saw the Big 5 !!

Great selection of hotels/camps.

I strongly recommend them.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 181
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Tanzania Roadside Expeditions, not SafariBookings