Reviews

Average User Rating
4.3/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 48
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 5
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 7

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-5 of 5 Reviews
Loks   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: December 2019 Reviewed: Dec 18, 2019

Email Loks  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Change in itinerary, no communication maintained, overall a bad time
3/5

Communicated that pick up will be 07:45 am but the driver appeared at 6:30 and was insisting to join immediately as some other people are waiting. On the way after asking the driver I came to know the itinerary is completely changed and Jimmy didn't inform anything. Picked up from my hotel dropped at another hotel. Picked up by another driver and dropped to a camp in Manyara where I had no itinerary to go. After waiting for 2 hours picked up by the actual safari vehicle at 11 am and drove to Serengeti while the original itinerary was Tarangire for the first day and next day early morning start for Serengeti. The whole day gone driving to Serengeti and reached at 7 pm. No game drive on the first day and lost the whole day in travelling.
They didn't inform that the tents to be pitched by ourselves. Had to do that in the rain at night!
After Serengeti & Ngorongoro, no information received who will pick up and which camp as this group had the last day on Safari.
Finally was dropped to a camp near Manyara. The camp was fantastic, the first time in 3 days was feeling well in Tanzania.
Last day the driver was supposed to pick up at 7:30 am and the driver arrived at 9:30. As I had the flight scheduled at 19:40 from Kilimanjaro airport, one driver was supposed to pick up at the park gate so that others in the group can continue with the safari. No driver arrived. The safari had to end early for others also and drove on the way to Arusha. On the way petrol ran out and the driver was complaining that the safari company didn't pay full amount to fill petrol. Somehow he arranged petrol on a highway garage.
After a drive I meet the driver who is supposed to drop me to Arusha. The driver was driving the car as if its a bullock cart and he was so scared of driving in traffic.
I insisted that I am dropped in the taxi stand for taking a taxi negotiated with good rate for Kilimanjaro airport. I was informed one driver is waiting at Arusha to drop me to the airport and I was in an impression that the drop off could be complementary for making my life so bad for last 4 days! :) The driver dropped me and asked the full amount 40 USD. I could have easily take a taxi from the taxi stand with less fare if I was dropped there and in time!
Overall what is experienced is they are very bad at communication and tour management and do not care about client satisfaction. Although most of the people are good at heart and very simple. They need to improve communication & management.

Reply from Swahili Paradise Tours & Safaris
Reply from Swahili Paradise Tours & Safaris
Posted on Dec 30, 2019

By the way Lok the sharing safari can start with any destination but all destination or parks listed on the confirmed list of itinerary MUST BE VISITED, so the group you join was already departed in a day before and it was already in Manyara thsu why we transferred you to Manyara to the meeting point where the group was located at the time being. But you visited all 4 parks and no park was scaped...hope you can confirm this.

Lizzie   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Sep 11, 2019

Email Lizzie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The ‘guide’ Philemon really let it down
3/5

Communication with Jimmy before the trip was good. We paid a 50% deposit, and the rest the morning of the trip. The best thing about the trip is the price as it was much cheaper than almost all others. I suppose in this case, we got what we paid for. Pick up was well on time and journey was smooth. However, when we arrived, we were put with another group (which we expected) but with another guide called Philemon, which we had not been told about beforehand. We believed we would have Jimmy as our guide as that’s who we’d done our research on, but he didn’t even tell us he wouldn’t be the one taking us. This was really disappointing. It would have been ok if Philemon was a better guide. From the start he told us how much to tip him and the chef, which is a big no and far far too much. He was disinterested in us for the rest of the trip, and was purely a driver, telling us nothing about the animals as we went around. The bottom line is - if you go on safari to the Serengeti/Ngorongoro crater, you will have an amazing time. There are so many animals, and we saw everything up close including lions elephants zebras giraffes gazelles a leopard, birds, hippos wilder beast cheetahs and warthogs. we didn’t see a rhino up close but did as a tiny spot from the viewpoint at the end. However, if you want a guided and attentive tour, this is not the tour for you. Philemon would stop when necessary for most of the trip to let you view the animals, and particularly when other jeeps stopped, but as the trip went on, he got impatient and drove far too fast to see things and wouldn’t stop for animals. This was particularly on the last day, when I was actually shouting at him to stop so we could see what I believed to be elephants in the jungle part of the Ngorongoro crater on our last drive, and he heard me and refused to stop and dangerously went even faster right out of the crater til the end. This was so disappointing to miss the final animals and completely unacceptable as a safari guide. We were all so shocked. One of them might’ve even been a rhino but we’ll never know as he didn’t give us a chance to find out which felt a bit like we’d been robbed of an opportunity. An elephant walking around our campsite right up close when we got back made up for this, but I felt very let down. To top it off, we had asked jimmy to arrange us a lift back to the airport from Arusha, and the driver knew nothing about it so we had to get another. The chef didn’t even say goodbye after he left and we’d tipped him. The animals were amazing, food was pretty good and we saw incredible things, therefore we still had an amazing time. However, this was definitely not down to the ‘guide’ Philemon. The car had also lost suspension on one side which my boyfriend noticed and the driver admitted and had to keep checking which is really quite dangerous. The highlight was being able to get out at a hippo lake and see amazing hippos right up close. Because it was so cheap and the animals were amazing , this deserves 3 stars.

Fiona   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2018

Email Fiona  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Poor communication but ended up with an amazing experience.
3/5

Communication started off good early into the planning of the safari but ended up poor. After a while the responses i was getting were vague. What really annoyed me was when i was told that once i got to my hotel in arusha the night before safari someone would be waiting at the hotel to collect the remainder of money that needed to be paid and an intinerary of the next day would be given. Arrived at the hotel with no one from the tour operators to give any information. Spent half an hour trying to get through to them to get some information with no answer. Eventually they called the hotel back to give us our pick up time and no apology or explanation of why they were not there when they said they would be. If your gonna say your going to do this then i would expect this to be done. Other then that we had exceptional service due to our tour guide Oscar. Great guy who provided us with a great knowledge of the all the animals and history of the serengetti. Overall i was happy with service that was provided but the lack of communication was rather annoying.

viachaslau   –  
Belarus BY
Visited: March 2017 Reviewed: Mar 27, 2017

Email viachaslau  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

But the animals was not many
3/5

Over 4 days our group (6 people) visited 3 national parks of Tanzania: Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Tarangire. I spent the night at the Lodge, and others in tents. I recommend to spend the night at the Lodge is slightly more expensive, but very convenient. More just like Ngorongoro. Tarangire is between Ngorongoro and the Serengeti. In Tarangire a lot of elephants. In the Serengeti the animals were not much. 4 day Safari for me was worth 900$. It is expensive. The driver was not very good: the road was driving not very confident, Not always stayed near the animals, he said himself the amount that I should give tips for him. Couldn't care less about tourists. The food was good. The accommodation was good. But a whole tour like 4. But the animals was not many.

tony   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: May 20, 2016

Email tony  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

money hungry
3/5

when i booked this trip the owner insisted i paid upfront so i did i paid all the money through a bank transfer but somewhere along the line one bank took a $40 dollar fee which when i went into my bank said it was not them but he insisted i had to pay it so i would suggest you use another company

Reply from Swahili Paradise Tours & Safaris
Reply from Swahili Paradise Tours & Safaris
Posted on May 27, 2016

But Tony remember when you arrived you refused to pay that $ 40 and we charged you only $ 20 , because it was a fault of intermediary bank which charged that as bank transfer fee, we were not the one who deducted that .

Average User Rating
4.3/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 48
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 5
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 7
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Swahili Paradise Tours & Safaris , not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Swahili Paradise Tours & Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions