Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 357
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 357 Reviews
Daniela   –  
Mexico MX
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 23, 2023

Email Daniela  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent
5/5

It was such a delight working with Spirit of Kenya. From the moment i arrived at the airport everything was as scheduled, the pick ups, the drop offs, the game drives. The Lerai Safari Camp in the Masai Mara exceeded all of my expectations everyone that works there is so loving and took care of me since the moment I arrived, but the best part of it all definitely was my Masai guide Jamlick who went over his way and beyond to make my game drive experience undescribable. He was always so worried for my safety, comfort and making me happy, I will never forget it. I will be forever grateful for this once in a lifetime experience. Thank you Spirit of Kenya.

Richard W   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 22, 2023

Email Richard W  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Exactly what you need for a perfect safari!
5/5

This was our first experience at a safari after meaning to go for a number of years. There is quite a wide variety of operators and countries to pick from but we decided upon Spirit of Kenya and went to visit both Kenya and Tanzania in one trip. From the moment we got in touch with Spirit of Kenya there was a wealth of information passed on to us via email, a special thanks to Andre for his patience, knowledge and super quick response time!

All transactions were easy and gave us confidence that once we arrived in Kenya we wouldn't have any issues. Needless to say the whole trip was fantastic from start to finish. Both our guides listened to what we had to say and gave us the opportunity to see any animals of our choice. Thank you Micheal & Gabriel for being such amazing guides. In Kenya we managed to see the big 5 so by the time we arrived in Tanzania we could slow down a little and just take it as it came as to what animals we saw. All the accommodations we stayed at were of high quality, there is a great range of styles and budgets which were given as options for us to choose from.

We would recommend travelling from Masai Mara to Serengeti as although the route is long you do get to see all different kinds of villages and towns which add to the experience. All in all, the trip was incredible and has given us memories to last a lifetime, so thank you Spirit of Kenya for the experience. We will be back and wouldn't hesitate to use you again and recommend you to anyone else who would like to go on safari.

Regards
Richard & Maria

Cecilie   –  
Norway NO
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 15, 2023

Email Cecilie  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Absolutely amazing tailor made safari !
5/5

Are you looking for the very best
company to organize your dream come true safari - look no further! SPIRIT OF KENYA is what you are looking for!
From the very first email (André ) we received from them, we were convinced that this was the right agency/safari company to book with!  Oh boy, were we right! Spirit of Kenya have been absolutely fantastic to us, they have swiftly responded to all our questions and emails with a combo of excellent professionalism, knowledge and warmth.

Therefore - we had very high expectations when we arrived in Kenya - and we were NOT disappointed- to the contrary!!!

We were greeted by George - our driver. What a wonderful person he is! A fantastic gentle, smooth comfortable and safe driver!!  (he made the 5-6 hour car transfer from Nairobi to Masai Mara a very pleasant journey.( And he took so good care of my 78 year old mother who has some walking issues) 

And then - when we entered the national park - George was such a great and experienced guide!! He knew his way through the national park - and he seemed to have a sixth sense when it came down to know exactly where to spot the different animals. Wow!! We got to see all the animals we dreamt on seeing - and even more. (Cheetahs, lions, buffalos, wildebeests, elephants, a leopard, sebras, giraffes, hippos, crocodiles, hyenas, thousands of different deer, warthogs and many more species

And then our accommodation in Ilkeliani camp! Absolutely amazing! The staff, the family tent (suite) OMG! The entire crew that works there; Diana, Simon, Rubin, Sera, Joseph, Geoffrey, and many more. Absolutely fantastic people. You have got to love them!

Ronny   –  
Romania RO
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 14, 2023

Email Ronny  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent driving safety!
5/5

Thank you very much for making the most memorable vacation to my family, the five days tour was well planned and executed. The importance given to the driving safety is much appreciated, the vehicle equipped with speed recorder and speed limit monitor, and the driver (Julius) demonstrated a good driving behavior. The trip was memorable largely because of Julius, he is very knowledgeable, friendly, and always try to give us the best experience. We couldn't ask for a better experience. Please free to quote this comment in your website and a BIG thank you again to Julius.

michael   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 14, 2023

Email michael  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

professional company
5/5

we travelled with our family, 2 adults and 4 kids between 2 and 9 years old.
we had private toyota landcruiser with opening roof and driver Franco during the full 8 days.
we really had the impression to see a fair bit of the country, although we only threaded the south (maasai mara, naivasha, amboseli, tsavo west).
kids were enchanted by the many animals and colourful masaai.
some of the journeys were quite long for the kids, but we tried to entertain them with playcards and games.
our 2 year-old was ill for most of the trips, but she got better once we stopped the malaria pills. (probably not really needed anyways. low endemic regions for malaria.)
mid-range hotels were sufficiently comfortable: zebra plains, great rift valley hotel (really comfortable), Serena Camp (amboseli), Severin Camp.
we slept in tents in 2 out of the 4 camps, and especially the unfenced camp in Tsavo West was a great experience.
a bit of rain on the first day in maasai mara with 18degrees C , but else getting hotter by the day as we came down in altitude towards the coast.
Tsavo was more difficult to see the same abundance of wildlife as we saw in Maasai Mara & amboseli.
This due to the many bush, trees in this reserve and due to the current drought in this region animals were probably hiding near the water.
the driver dropped us in Watamu at the end to spend a couple of days on the beach.
all-in-all this was one of our best holidays in recent years.

Hillary G.   –  
Italy IT
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 9, 2023

Email Hillary G.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Spirit of Kenya was responsive, flexible and helped us to create a trip of a lifetime.
5/5

The value compared to other tour operators was amazing. We enjoyed the company and professionalism of the entire SoK team. From Andre who helped to set up our tour and worked with us through the pandemic and rescheduled our trip twice. To our driver, Moses and game driver, James. Everyone is professional, knowledgeable and anxious to share their love of their country with visitors.

Kathryn hutson   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 7, 2023

Email Kathryn hutson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

George was brilliant, friendly,knowledgeable,punctual,flexible and thoughtful
5/5

George, along with the staff at “the cliff” and particularly “ilkeliani” made our safari trip to Nakuru and the Masai Mara one of the best of our lives. Saw the “big5” which was a bonus.
Our accomodation and food at the above camps was fabulous.

Francesca   –  
Italy IT
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Dec 31, 2022

Email Francesca  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Professional, reliable and available tour operator that satisfy all our requests.
5/5

I can start saying that the Safari was simply amazing.

The trip was really well organized by the company Spirit of Kenya. They are reliable, always answering to our requests and needs. The organization was perfect and we think that was really good to see different parks (Amboseli, Nakuru and Masai Mara).
All the accomodations were good, especially Ashnil in Masai Mara park. It was clean and really beautiful.

Last but not least, I say thank you again to our driver Johnstone that was really nice to us. He made a lot of effort to let us see all the animals. He was always very friendly, professional and ready to explain everything.

Thank you again Spirit of Kenya for this amazing experience!

Laura & Pavol   –  
Slovakia SK
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Dec 15, 2022

Email Laura & Pavol  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very proffesional tour operator! We had a great time while in Maasai Mara!
5/5

The tour was really cool! We spent 4 days /3 nights with Mike from Spirit of Kenya in Maasai Mara. Communication with the operator before the booking was very professional. They offered us several accommodations with different pricing, explained everything in detail, and provided all the help needed while planning our stay. Communication was professional and friendly.

We chose Julia's River Camp - it is fantastic accommodation, has very friendly staff, the food was freaking delicious, and the fact it's surrounded by wildlife is just incredible! Mike, the driver, was also great! He was very friendly, helpful, and flexible. He did his best to show us as many animals as possible. We had an insightful talk with him about life in Kenya, how national parks operate, and so on. 

Also, we were not sure if to book a 4x4 van (it's cheaper) or Landcruiser. We chose a Minivan and it was a good decision. We saved some money and we get the same comfort and view as in Landcruiser. So in case you're thinking about a minivan don't be afraid, you gonna enjoy it!

Really, I can't say anything negative. The prices here are a bit higher, but the service is excellent.

Thorsten and family   –  
Germany DE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Dec 11, 2022

Email Thorsten and family  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A fantastic African experience and a great tour guide!
5/5

We had a fantastic Kenya safari!

The tour organisation by Spirit of Kenya was very convenient, easy, and efficient. All payment processes very safe and secure.

Most importantly: We had a marvellous tour guide - Mike from Kenya, who guided our family safely. We enjoyed every day in Amboseli, Lake Naivasha and Masa Mara with him. Mike always cared for our individual interests and preferences, was knowledgeable and well connected with the locals everywhere; he always managed to find the best spots for the big 5 and all other great things to see.

Mike - thank you very much and salamu kutoka ujerumani.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 357
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Spirit of Kenya, not SafariBookings