Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 251-258 of 258 Reviews
John A Darwin NTAustralia   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2014 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2014

Email John A Darwin NTAustralia  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Bucket List

Everything went to plan and the Bush House at Madikwe was great. I have no issue recommending Wildlife Safaris or the Bush House.

Didier B.   –  
France FR
Visited: July 2014 Reviewed: Aug 25, 2014

Email Didier B.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

With Wildlife Safaris you are in good hands

My son and I did the 4 day classic Safari. From the first exchanges, through the Q&As, organisational aspects, paperwork and tour itself Wildlife Safaris were responsive, helpful and very professional. We were a group of 6. Hoppy was a great guide, very friendly and good humoured. He was worried that the food at the camp might not be good, but it was perfect. We saw all the big five, and much more: cheetah, hyenas....Standard accommodation (bungalows) was well equipped and tidy. Weather was cold in the morning and evening and pleasant during the day. Day 4 consisted mainly in a quick last safari on the way out, breakfast and travel back. Hoppy is a fast driver who should keep more distance with the vehicles in front. I am satisfied with Wildlifesafaris and happily recommend them.

Ellen ADJAHI   –  
Benin BJ
Visited: December 2013 Reviewed: Jan 28, 2014

Email Ellen ADJAHI  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Christmas in Kruger Park

We enjoyed the tour. Our guide was very professional and friendly. We met our expectations to see most of the big 5 and had great time with our kids.

Christophe Visited: October 2013 Reviewed: Nov 18, 2013

An exciting and educational tour with a highly experienced guide.

Wildlife Safaris was very good value with ample opportunities to spot the wildlife while enjoying comfortable accommodation and hearty meals right inside Kruger National Park. Nick our guide was friendly, courteous and very knowledgeable.

Julie   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2013 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2013

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Always feel safe in the hands of both Clive and Anthony

Just a quick note to say thanks to everyone at Wildlife Safaris once again. I always feel safe in the hands of both Clive and Anthony

Louise and Marc   –  
Australia AU
Visited: May 2013 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2013

Experience level: first safari

Our trip to Kruger was wonderful - we saw everything we wanted to see and more

Our trip to Kruger was wonderful - we saw everything we wanted to see and more . Hoppy was a wonderful guide and it was great that we were able to stop not only for animals but also birds , something we may not have been able to do with a larger group . Thanks to everyone at Wildlife Safaris especially Hoppy .

Germán Peñafiel   –  
Chile CL
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2023

Email Germán Peñafiel  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Germán Peñafiel and not that of SafariBookings.
All good, but evening safari was a scam

The tour itself is very good. Hoppy (our guide) was very experienced and could spot animals really well. He also geve us a lot of information about the animals and respond every single question we asked. Accomodations and food were also good.

The really bad part of this tour is the evening safari. The guide was very unexperienced and just cared about driving, keeping his eyes on the road all the time, and talking a lot and veeeery slow. The few animals we saw were spotted by the tourists, not the guide. In addition, the torches were supposed to be operated by the tourists, but we had no instructions about it.
Definitely the worst safari I have ever had in Africa. WildSafaris sould change the operator for this safari, as it is very unprofesional that they put unexperienced and non-motivated guides.

Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Posted on Dec 7, 2023

Hi German - we are sorry to hear the sunset drive was a disappointment. This activity is operated by National Parks and their vehicles are the only ones permitted to drive in Kruger Park after sunset. Consequently we cannot look for an alternate Operator. However we do offer itineraries which include private safari lodges so I expect this option may suit you better next time. Thank you for your feedback - we will follow up.

Admin Wildlife Safaris

Mark C.   –  
Canada CA
Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: May 13, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Mark C. and not that of SafariBookings.
Kruger Park is amazing, however the contractor that supplied the open vehicles needs to be changed.

Our Safari in Kruger had a rough start, on the first official game drive ( late afternoon, with the open safari vehicle ) the vehicle broke down. When our driver/guide stopped to view animals, the vehicle refused to start. After soliciting the assistance of a passerby who had mechanic tools and knowledge, we returned to the camp safely and finished the game drive in a mini van.

The following day on our early morning game drive ( different open safari vehicle) we again broke down. This time a much greater distance from the camp and outside of cell phone range. We had to wait approx. 2 hours in the hot morning sun until another Safari company stopped and assisted in contacting the camp to arrange for alternate transportation. In the end we agreed to continue with the game drive, in another vehicle . However as a whole we were concerned for our overall safety with these vehicles and we had lost faith and trust in this tour company to deliver a product as agreed upon!

When you operate a Safari company in a huge Wildlife Park such as Kruger, you need to have safe guards in place. Having access to reliable vehicles for the game drives, should be their number one priority. Other communication equipment, such as satellite phones, that will provide contact to the camps in event of break downs or emergency medical issues, is a must. We were informed that the use of the open safari vehicles was fairly new to this company.

In closing, I found our driver / guide, to be very knowledge with the wildlife in Kruger and friendly. On the other hand , the other company employee whom we had direct contact with during this Safari was unacceptable. I felt he forgot who he was working for at times. His communication with our tour was very poor, at no time did he apologize for the inconvenience's of the break downs or inquire as to our safety during the break downs. We also witnessed his unacceptable rants towards our driver in front of us, blaming him for the mechanical breakdowns. He was very unprofessional and not a good representative of Wildlife Safaris !

Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Posted on May 16, 2014

Response from Wildlife Safaris
As Management we would like to apologise for the unreliable standard of open safari vehicles we were obliged to use for this tour . Our normal supplier did not have sufficient vehicles so we sub-contracted to another company . We were informed about the breakdowns when they happened on both occasions & we assisted with replacement vehicles . Consequently we have not used this company again & have made enquiries about alternate backup services .

We have requested reports from both guides involved with this tour & we are satisfied that following the delay on Day 2 , the game drive was extended later than usual so that guests received the services we had agreed upon .

Regarding communications , officially S A National Parks does not allow drivers to have satellite phones in Kruger Park because this leads to congestion at Big 5 sightings , so drivers have to rely on their own mobile phones .

As a qualified Tour Guide myself, I am aware of the stress caused by any interruption to an itinerary which may be due to mechanical failure , unexpected conditions such as floods or fire, ill health of passengers or dangerous animals . The guide is usually alone & has to deal with the situation as well as consoling his passengers which can be very difficult . We regret any altercation which took place between guides & they have been reminded to be more considerate to the passengers stranded out in the bush.

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 243
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Wildlife Safaris , not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Wildlife Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions