Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 41-50 of 268 Reviews
Richard Hollebon   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2014 Reviewed: Mar 15, 2014

Email Richard Hollebon  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris


The whole experience was life changing, everything went to plan and our guide was brilliant, we saw all the normal thing you expect but what lifted the whole thing was the in depth knowledge of our guide, we saw so many small things and an incredible array of bird life, he was able to name them all, the accommodation was clean and comfortable, the attention to detail shone through and we will be booking again

Lyle and Maria   –  
Canada CA
Visited: December 2013 Reviewed: Mar 24, 2014

65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing experience

We're still overwhelmed by our Kruger experience and frequently relive it through our many pictures. The trip was well organised by Wildlife Safaris (Pty) Ltd. Clive was a great guide, providing a wealth of information to accompany our amazing wildlife sitings. Accommodation in Kruger and Chisomo tented camp was excellent. The downside of the trip was learning about the poaching crisis in Kruger and the knowledge that many of the rhinos we were blessed to see will likely have already fallen victim since our visit. We feel immensely fortunate to have seen so many of these majestic creatures in the wild and hope future generations of South Africans will be able to experience the same. We hope Wildlife Safaris (Pty) Ltd will join in calling on the South African government to do everything possible to eliminate this scourge!

Ryan   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2014 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2014

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Top Shelf 4 Day Kruger Adventure with Wildlife Safaris

My experience with Wildlife Safari's was exceptional across the board. Christine at the office was responsive and quickly translated my safari desires into packaged reality, Nik managed the tour and all on the ground logistics with exacting professionalism and safari expertise, and Willem and Kylie were proved extremely knowledgeable and fun guides on the game drives into the bush. The service level was excellent, end-end, and even though the operation was 'very well oiled', the staff were such a pleasure to spend time with it never felt like a 'machine'. It felt like I went on an adventure with friends, and that was the transcendent quality that turned an amazing trip into an incredible journey.

Arne Visited: March 2014 Reviewed: Apr 14, 2014

Educational, safe, fun!

The guide was knowledgeable and willing to point out both flora and fauna. Will do it again when the opportunity arises. Enjoyed the variety of game drives and courtesy of the guide.

Shannon & Nancy Visited: March 2014 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2014

Trip of a Lifetime

Amazing experience from beginning to end.. Excellent communication when booking the safari with prompt responses and informative answers to MANY questions that we asked. Made us feel comfortable as we were booking this trip online from the USA. They made an excellent recommendation for B&B prior to pick up as we travelled from Cape Town to Joburg the day prior to leaving for the safari. On time pickup from B&B. Tour guide.. Susan Wilson was AMAZING... Extremely knowledgable about all aspects of the trip from travel from Joburg to Kruger National Park. Excellent experience with her for our 3 day, 2 night trip. Knowledgable to all wildlife and the park itself. Accommodations in park were nice, well maintained and clean. We will use Wildlife Safaris when we book out next safari.

Dorothy Baker Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: May 2, 2014

Fantastic safari

From the moment we were picked in Johannesburg, we knew we had chosen the right tour operator. Hoppy, our driver, was caring, very knowledgeable about wildlife and looked after us very well. We stayed two nights in the Kruger National Park and one night at Mohltabesi Private Lodge. Our safaris were brilliantly organised and we were fortunate to see many species of wild animals close up and beautiful birds in abundance.

We would thoroughly recommend Wildlife Safaris. At every stage we had personal attention and felt well cared for.

Mark C.   –  
Canada CA
Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: May 13, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Mark C. and not that of SafariBookings.
Kruger Park is amazing, however the contractor that supplied the open vehicles needs to be changed.

Our Safari in Kruger had a rough start, on the first official game drive ( late afternoon, with the open safari vehicle ) the vehicle broke down. When our driver/guide stopped to view animals, the vehicle refused to start. After soliciting the assistance of a passerby who had mechanic tools and knowledge, we returned to the camp safely and finished the game drive in a mini van.

The following day on our early morning game drive ( different open safari vehicle) we again broke down. This time a much greater distance from the camp and outside of cell phone range. We had to wait approx. 2 hours in the hot morning sun until another Safari company stopped and assisted in contacting the camp to arrange for alternate transportation. In the end we agreed to continue with the game drive, in another vehicle . However as a whole we were concerned for our overall safety with these vehicles and we had lost faith and trust in this tour company to deliver a product as agreed upon!

When you operate a Safari company in a huge Wildlife Park such as Kruger, you need to have safe guards in place. Having access to reliable vehicles for the game drives, should be their number one priority. Other communication equipment, such as satellite phones, that will provide contact to the camps in event of break downs or emergency medical issues, is a must. We were informed that the use of the open safari vehicles was fairly new to this company.

In closing, I found our driver / guide, to be very knowledge with the wildlife in Kruger and friendly. On the other hand , the other company employee whom we had direct contact with during this Safari was unacceptable. I felt he forgot who he was working for at times. His communication with our tour was very poor, at no time did he apologize for the inconvenience's of the break downs or inquire as to our safety during the break downs. We also witnessed his unacceptable rants towards our driver in front of us, blaming him for the mechanical breakdowns. He was very unprofessional and not a good representative of Wildlife Safaris !

Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Posted on May 16, 2014

Response from Wildlife Safaris
As Management we would like to apologise for the unreliable standard of open safari vehicles we were obliged to use for this tour . Our normal supplier did not have sufficient vehicles so we sub-contracted to another company . We were informed about the breakdowns when they happened on both occasions & we assisted with replacement vehicles . Consequently we have not used this company again & have made enquiries about alternate backup services .

We have requested reports from both guides involved with this tour & we are satisfied that following the delay on Day 2 , the game drive was extended later than usual so that guests received the services we had agreed upon .

Regarding communications , officially S A National Parks does not allow drivers to have satellite phones in Kruger Park because this leads to congestion at Big 5 sightings , so drivers have to rely on their own mobile phones .

As a qualified Tour Guide myself, I am aware of the stress caused by any interruption to an itinerary which may be due to mechanical failure , unexpected conditions such as floods or fire, ill health of passengers or dangerous animals . The guide is usually alone & has to deal with the situation as well as consoling his passengers which can be very difficult . We regret any altercation which took place between guides & they have been reminded to be more considerate to the passengers stranded out in the bush.

Francois Potier   –  
Canada CA
Visited: May 2014 Reviewed: May 16, 2014

Email Francois Potier  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic experience with highly professional team looking after guests to ensure the best moments!

It was really a fantastic experience with highly professional team (Antony) looking after the guests to ensure the most memorable experience. Understand the wild life so well that we could benefit extra view, undersatnding the animals habit.
A peaceful moment in our life. Thanks for that amzing experience. Antony has exceeed all expectation we had. He raise the bar of detailed service at a new levels. he BBQ, drive carefully, nice and quiet, polite and so experience and knowlageable with animals, birds, trees, etc.
Also, a special thanks for recommending the Waybury guest house and arranging the pick-up from the airport and drop-off afterward. Everything was executed perfectly! 100% right.

Thanks again Antony from your guest: Francois, Alexis and Karine.

Vincenzo Somma   –  
Italy IT
Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: May 26, 2014

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari


Everything was organized in a perfect way.
A qualified and well prepaired tourguide accompained us all the the time allowing us to take the best of our 3day safari tour. The care received made this trip an exciting experience.

Coralie and Mathieu   –  
France FR
Visited: May 2014 Reviewed: Jun 15, 2014

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect days

Our guide, Anthony came to get us at our hotel. As soon as we met him, the holidays began....He's very nice, he laughs all the time. We were lucky enough to be only 4 with him, and we felt privileged. He's a real bushman, with great knowledge about the bush and South Africa, always available, but most af all, he's a great person. At the end, we considered him as a friend and were very sad to leave him.
About the safari, the landscapes are amazing, we could see very animals, even leopards, lions, elephants...
Two weaknesses:
- The visit of the elephant sanctuary after 3 days in the Kruger is not a good thing. Elephants are locked like in a zoo and we didn't enjoy it at all.
- The drive night was not with our guide Anthony, but with guides from the Kruger Park. We had to take a bus for 10 persons, and felt like tourists. It was too crowded. It was not so interesting as it's too dark and you can't see animals.

Thanks to Wildlife Safaris for their availability, flexibility and enthousiasm!

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 253
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Wildlife Safaris , not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Wildlife Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions