Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 31-40 of 70 Reviews
Kawther   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: April 2019 Reviewed: Apr 15, 2019

Email Kawther  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful experience and was beautifully planned, I want to do it again.

The standards were amazing and even better than expected, we had our own private 4x4 which was wonderful and gave us the privacy we need. They catered our needs and dietary requirements which was wonderful. The entire trip felt very smooth and no hassle involved. Many thanks

Nduta   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: April 2019 Reviewed: Apr 11, 2019

Email Nduta  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

This tour operator is a joy to work with.

Communication: Verbal and email communication with Skywide travel is handled with utmost professionalism. All responses are also given within reasonable turn around times.
Service: Their service is impeccable. Simply faultless.

I had to make a last minute change and this was handled with utmost grace. They always give their best.

Abdihakim   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: April 2019 Reviewed: Apr 10, 2019

Email Abdihakim

"Splendid 2 day in Maasai Mara with Sky Ward Tours and Travel"

My first contact with Skywide Tours and Travel was with David, who was constantly in touch with us during the planning and booking phase of our safari. David was very professional and effective and was willing to go all the way in making us have the best weekend getaway. The actual trip with our guide, Mr Wamachanga, was incredible and unique in the sense that we got to see the big five. He even spotted 5 lions in the park during the evening game drive which was exclusive as it was only us who spotted them.

We also appreciate the services of Sarova Mara Hotel as the rooms and facilities were clean,nice and the staff lovely. The food was also fantastic.

Dorothy Ndunge   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Feb 26, 2019

Email Dorothy Ndunge  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

He was the best and prompt

From the initial booking request every thing was prompt on responses and all our expectations were met for the Safari.

Boniface Musyoka   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Feb 15, 2019

Email Boniface Musyoka  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent service from the staff, choice of destination and trouble-free pick ups and drop offs

The company has an effective and outstanding communication channels -emails and calls. magnificent service by their staff. the company met my expectations twice. The tours were wonderful with no hitches. pick ups and drop off to hotel and to airport was extremely good and wonderful selection of destinations. we have already started planning our December 2019 holiday with them for a package tailored to our expectations ......

Kudos Skywide Tours and Travel!!!!!!!

Lorna Macharia   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Feb 14, 2019

Email Lorna Macharia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

They delivered beyond my expectations I had no disappointments in my vacation

It’s well organized
All went as planned.
I would highly recommend them.

Nancy Sullivan   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Jan 22, 2019

Email Nancy Sullivan

Great Safari, terrible organisation & communication.

We booked a 10 day trip with Skywide. A safari followed by Mombassa beach to relax at the end.

The Safari was great but the relaxing part was anything but. We arrived at our so called 4* hotel in Mombassa and we arrived to a green swimming pool with mould everywhere, dirty bathrooms and flies on food. We called Skywide immediately to say we wanted to move to a hotel closer to what we had been promised without a mould and an out of action pool and their communication was quite frankly terrible- the hotel is FLAMINGO BEACH- (DO NOT STAY THERE!!!).
The hotel refused to move us to sister hotel with a clean pool in use because they said Skywide refused to cover the cost, two hours later and no news from Skywide after several calls and emails we took matters into our own hands and booked a trusted hotel and left as soon as possible.

We lost a whole afternoon (of a short 3 day break) sorting this out ourselves and Skywide would not reimburse the costs claiming it was far more expensive than Flamingo, they refunded us the stay at Flamingo and the price was half of what our new hotel cost.

On leaving we arrived at Mombassa airport to learn our flight to Nairobi had been cancelled and no one of Skywide had notified us, the consequences for this could have been massive as we had a connecting BA flight to catch to England. Skywide arranged the airport transfers and booked our internal flights therefore this was their responsibility, the flight was cancelled 9 hours earlier and they hadn't let us know, Kenya airways were shocked no one had contacted us from as they let the booker of the flights know about cancellations.

We got a flight with only 10 minutes to spare thanks to Kenya Airways running us through security, this was all due to Skywide's lack of communication and has we arrived at the airport on time and not early for our flight we'd have missed the earlier flight and our BA flight home.

So the Safari was great but I'd argue most safari companies out there would offer as good a service, after all the Masi Mara is it's own experience regardless whose arranged it, but the trip ended stressfully and as my mums trip of life time at 60 years old I was very angry she had to encounter this stress.

This was my third time to Africa and the worst company I've used I wouldn't recommend them.

Reply from Skywide Tours and Travel
Reply from Skywide Tours and Travel
Posted on Jan 31, 2019

Thanks Nancy for the feedback about your holiday in Kenya.

We are glad you enjoyed the Safari but at the same time apologize for last part of the trip which you did not enjoy.

We have booked many clients at Flamingo Beach Resort and the last family we booked only checked out a few days before your check in date. We have not experienced such challenges with the hotel before and we were confident it would meet your expectations. Unfortunately the hotel decided to close the pool and they failed to inform us otherwise we would have made an alternative arrangement for you.

We received your complaint about 30 minutes later and immediately we engaged the hotel's head office to make arrangements and move you to Pride Inn Paradise, this involved negotiation and approvals at their head office and fortunately within 2 hours we were able to confirm the upgrade from Flamingo Beach Resort to Pride Inn Paradise. This meant extra cost for us but we were ready to pay to ensure you have a enjoyable beach holiday.

In fact 2 hours was very swift as many hotels would even demand you stay for one night or forfeit your one night cost and some even charge 100% for last minute cancellation. It was a delicate situation which required special attention and swift action which we did our best to to ensure we get you full refund or at least an upgrade to Pride Inn Paradise.
Unfortunately you booked and confirmed Serena Beach Resort directly and when we communicated that Flamingo Beach Resort was ready to move you to Pride Inn Paradise their Superior sister hotel, you declined the offer and went ahead to check in at Serena Beach Hotel.
The rate you were given by Serena Beach Resort is not our negotiated contract rate and the reason why you feel Flamingo was cheap hotel. We communicated to you that we will refund what you had paid us for Flamingo Beach Hotel in full and as a good gesture we went ahead to make an additional refund of $ 200. our package was not based on Serena Beach Resort and we could not refund you for what you had not paid to us.
If you were a little bit patient, the issues would have been sorted out in a much better way.

Kenya Airways did not communicate any flight delays, we checked our system and it was showing normal departure time and sometimes they fail to communicate especially for delays, for early departures they always call and communicate to ensure the passengers arrive at the Airport on time. There was no other flight from Mombasa and that was the flight they put you in was the only option.

We even requested you if we upgrade the hotel in Nairobi and which we did at no extra cost as our aim is to ensure our clients enjoy their stay. We are always ready to resolve any issues that may arise to ensure our clients are satisfied and go back to their home with good memories.
99.99% of our clients are very happy with our services and we will strive to ensure we maintain high standards and exceed customer expectations.

Makoto   –  
Japan JP
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Dec 10, 2018

Email Makoto  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Well organized tour with an excellent driver/guide

It was an excellent experience for us to see a variety of wildlife, especially many herds of elephants, a large number of flamingos. Unfortunately, Mt. Kilimanjaro was mostly in the cloud, we could see the top of the mountain for a while. The driver/guide, Joseph is very good, His guidance was good, he understood what we want, and he behaved accordingly. Accomodation at Kibo Safari Camp was fine.
One point I should like to suggest is that it would be much pleasant if we could have picnic lunch at an open terrace or in the open field, not in the dark house of a souvenir shop.

George   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Oct 4, 2018

Email George  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great experience, Amazing time in Kenya.

We really enjoyed our package overall,

Received a very warm welcome at the airport straight into our drive to our first nights accommodation, Sawela Lodge, which was a great place, we saw giraffes from the grounds, food was good buffet style and breakfast was the same.

We then drove to Mara river camp, an amazing camp located right on the bend of a river where hippos actually do live its not just sales. the tented camp is lovey with plenty of room for two. we had a fantastic few days here seeing wildlife right from our bed. only issues we had was getting hot water some days as its from solar or generator and our shower did had a leak that stuff were aware of. Camp was spotlessly clean throughout our stay , staff were very attentive, anything we needed was possible.
The food at the camp was a basic set menu for all three meals, we only had breakfast and evening meals as we were out during the daytimes.

Our safari into the Masai Mara was fantastic, an amazing experience to remember. made better by seeing the big 5 throughout our three days.

Our guide and driver for our whole trip was Peter who was amazing, who i would recommend to anybody. Very knowledgeable and managed to be in the right place at the right time , allowing us to see everything we wanted. A genuinely lovely guide through our time in Kenya.

We would recommend this trip to anybody and were very happy with the package put together for us for our time in Kenya.

Pierre and Dawn   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Oct 2, 2018

Email Pierre and Dawn  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

One the best experiences, I will remember the sunrise at 6.30am thanks ‘ Diggy diggy amazing trip

We chose this safari for value for money and chose the basic accommodation 2 nights with 4 park drives. The tent was clean but in need of some improvements in the toilet and shower room, the hot water takes at least 20mins to start coming through but this wasn’t a problem. The bed was comfy but make sure you keep the zip down on your tent as monkeys can get in and rummage through your stuff, take a padlock for security. Torches are a must. The meals were very tasty, make sure you get an extra sausage at breakfast they were georgeous. The ritz it isn’t so make sure you are happy with basic because that’s what it is. We were very happy as we were there for the animals and thanks to our driver ‘Diggy’ we saw nearly all.... we decided to skip the last morning drive and stay out longer the day before which meant we could go further.... brilliant choice. I would definitely use skywide again but may upgrade the accommodation next time, the prices are reasonable so remember you get what you pay, if you what nicer accommodation pay more and choose a better one. Thoroughly enjoyed it

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 58
  • 4 star 11
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Skywide Tours and Travel, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Skywide Tours and Travel are subject to their terms & conditions