Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 448
  • 4 star 25
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 477 Reviews
Lan   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2015 Reviewed: Aug 15, 2016

Email Lan

The review below is the personal opinion of Lan and not that of SafariBookings.
Disorganized
2/5

The safari was ok. Not the best safari but not the worst.
The problem with the company was they were not organized. There were errors such as in flight details that I pointed out before my itinerary was finalized. The worst of all was they forgot to book one leg of my flights even though they confirmed everything was booked and I realized that I don't have a ticket for the next flight on the plane. Really subpar.

Reply from Savannah Explorers
Reply from Savannah Explorers
Posted on Aug 19, 2016

We are really for what happened, we exchanged different mails and maybe we mis-understood something. We sent final safari program without the last flight Dar Es Salaam - Zanzibar, this was very clear in the safari program and in the tickets we sent you in advance for review, you didn't come back and report a flight was missing. We didn't include this flight in your safari and didn't charge you for this flight Dar Es Salaam-Zanzibar. As I have explained at the end of safari 1,5 years ago we are sorry for the problem you experienced but that service was not included in our program.

fiorella   –  
Italy IT
Visited: October 2014 Reviewed: Nov 9, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of fiorella and not that of SafariBookings.
Very old jeep
2/5

Jeep very slow, very old (20 years), that did not work well (the engine would not start). It 'a shame to have a ruined a trip so nice.

Reply from Savannah Explorers
Reply from Savannah Explorers
Posted on Nov 10, 2014

Dear Fiorella,
we are very sorry about the problem with your jeep. In last 2 days there was a problem with the starter and they had to push the jeep to switch it on. The problem has been fixed as well as we have done complete engine overall, check-up and re-painted this jeep. Our guide didn't report this problem to our office and we couldn't send another jeep. We have talked to our guide to make sure this will not happen again.
We are very sorry about what happened.
Best Regards,
Roberto

Francesca   –  
Italy IT
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: Feb 5, 2016

Email Francesca  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Francesca and not that of SafariBookings.
Nice guide, the jeep could be better
3/5

We had a week safari in Tanzania on Dec 2015. Our guide was excellent, italian speaking, very nice. The tour was ok, the jeep could be much better, it was old and not really comfortable for 8 days of safari. A couple of times we had some mechanical problems and we had to stop waiting for the repairs. I understand that this can happen but probably this jeep needs to be replaced.
Picnic lunch every day (except one) is repetitive and unappetising, at the end we preferred fruit and biscuits.
The first safari days we managed to get in the parks just around noon and this means seeing the park during the hottest hours of the day. Furthermore, the arrival in the various lodge took place in the late afternoon letting us run to take a shower and go to dinner. Probably a better organization of the journey and the travel time would have made us visit the parks at their best and enjoy a little relaxation once you get to the accommodations.
Again: our guide Peta was fantastic, we saw lots of animals.

Reply from Savannah Explorers
Reply from Savannah Explorers
Posted on Feb 10, 2016

Hi Francesca,
thanks a lot for your feedback and comments.
Rough roads are terrible in Tanzania especially inside the parks, despite our effort to prevent any breakdown you experienced a problem and it was necessary melt it at lunch time.
Our jeep is not a new one, but Land Rover is the best jeep for safari, all the different parties have been changed, we do regular maitenance at our garage, there is a lot of space inside as it's semi-extended, there is fridge with drinks and water, to my mind it's in good conditions and comfortable.
I have mailed different time to lodges and camps about pic-nic lunch, we hope they will improve but you have to take into consideration you are in the middle of the bush.
The first day you left Arusha to Tarangire and spent the rest of the day in the park, second day Tarangire to Manyara for game drive, then you were in Ngorongoro and Serengeti. We have followed your safari program and you have agreed program in advance and the timings with our guide.
It's common finish the game drive in late afternoon but you could ask your guide to drive to the camp/lodge earlier. I have talked to you and Peter during safari and asked Peter to make sure you have enough game drives so that we compensate the 2 hours lost for the jeep.
We are sorry we didn't exceed your expectations, we review again your safari in our office and see what we can improve. We apologize for what happend and thank you again for your feedback and time.

Best Regards,
Roberto

Samantha   –  
Ghana GH
Visited: November 2015 Reviewed: Jan 13, 2016

Email Samantha  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Samantha and not that of SafariBookings.
Not bad, but it doesn't feel like it is the trip of the life time
3/5

We had an OK time with our tour guide Anwar. He was good when we first meet him. He was explaining things while driving on the first day. From the 2nd day onward, our guide was more interested in looking at his phone . Instead of guiding, he would most just answer our questions.

The Olea Lodge and Kati Kati camps are the good choice for our 4 nights stay. We were delighted to see the Olea Lodge is actually a lot better than the photos. Kati kati camp was an interesting experience. They have a good crew to make sure the food is hot and good. Our guide changed one of the full day game drive to go back to camp for 3 hours lunch and then tried to drive fast to catch up in the afternoon. We were not impressed as we have a five year old girl in the car and would prefer steady driving.

We were there in the low season, so there are some animals here and there but didn't have the "Wow" factor.

We are not happy that we almost missed our flight on the last day as the guide was late for about 40 to 50 minutes to pick us up from the hotel. Maybe our experience would be better if our guide was more Enthusiastic and not focused so much on his phones.

Reply from Savannah Explorers
Reply from Savannah Explorers
Posted on Jan 19, 2016

Dear Samantha, I'm sorry to read our guide didn't provide the best service. They are not allowed using the phone while they are driving or on game drive, they are supposed to provide enough information, drive carefully and be on time.
I appreciate your feedback, I have already called him in the office and this won't happen again.
Once again we apologize for what happened.
Kind Regards,
Roberto

Loredana   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Aug 15, 2023

Email Loredana  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

well organized and professional
4/5

Machame route is confirmed the best way to reach Uhuru Peak, expecially for managing altitude.

Luca Navarra   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Aug 14, 2023

Email Luca Navarra  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful
4/5

It has been a lovely experience, we sow all kind of animals and we had great time

Jacopo   –  
Italy IT
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 1, 2022

Email Jacopo  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A great Adventure!
4/5

Me and my family made a 5days safari, starting from Tarangeri, then lake Manyara, two days in the Serengeti (and it was mindblowing!) to end in the Caldera of Ngorongoro.
We were with another friends family, so we were 8 in two jeeps with 6/7 seats for jeep. The Guides/drivers, Gerri(32) and Paulo(27) knew well italian and all the wildlife, paths or vegetations in all those parks! Very friendly, patience and kind. They made this holiday a marvellous living adventure!

Piero and Cristina   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 9, 2020

Email Piero and Cristina  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful safari
4/5

A wonderful Safaris trip, which was based on our requests, we choose all of the locations ourselves, alternating between lodges and luxury camps; since we wanted a fully personalized experience. All the locations were by the high-level WellWorth hospitality collection.
Savannah Explorers organized all our reservations, trips and park’s visits (Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro) in a very professional and enjoyable way.
The guide man has been competent and professional, able to find the animals. In January the vegetation is very thick with tall grass but this has not prevented us from seeing a large quantity of animals in similar but very different environments.
The rain of the previous days made the roads through the parks very demanding but the Jeep, although a little dated, was very reliable. Internal comfort can be improved.
The guide was very good at dealing with the most complicated situations.
It was really easy communicating with the staff, we never had such problem.

Elena & Furkan   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Sep 30, 2019

Email Elena & Furkan  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Good safari experience!
4/5

Guide Felix very knowledgeable of all the areas and fauna, we managed to see amazing lions and leopards in action, always going the extra mile even during game en route!
Hotels selection not satisfactory in Arusha, rest of the locations pretty fine.

valeria   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Aug 29, 2019

Email valeria  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

a good experience
4/5

efficiente guides and an organization able to solve very quickly the problems of jeep breakdowns.
Our safari was exciting and thanks to the excellent organization we were able to visit numerous park in a short time.
Good standard of hotel accommodations

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 448
  • 4 star 25
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Savannah Explorers, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Savannah Explorers are subject to their terms & conditions