Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 65
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 68 Reviews
Matthias   –  
Germany DE
Visited: August 2021 Reviewed: Jul 27, 2022

Email Matthias  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful, astonishing and beautiful Uganda
5/5

In August 2021 we had a two weeks holiday trip through Uganda with Big Apes Africa and Peter as a guide.
It was an astonishing experience, we have seen wonderful landscapes and a big number of the most beautiful animals including lions, elephants, zebras, gnus and a variety of birds.
Two of the most astonishing experiences where the walks through Chimbale National Parks to visit the Chimpanses and the trip into Bwindi Impenetrable Forest were we had the chance to watch a Gorilla family from close range. It was a breathtaking experience and one that we never will forget in our whole life.

Traveling Uganda we absolutely can recommend and the best way is choosing Big Apes Africa.

All the Best
Sandra & Matthias

G.P   –  
Zimbabwe ZW
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jun 18, 2023

Email G.P

Peter was an incredible guide! Very professional.
5/5

Had the most incredible time with Big Apes Africa! Peter is the most incredible guide, had a lot of fun on the road with him and of course visiting the most beautiful spots with him! Gorilla trekking was so well organised thanks to Peter as well as the Golden Monkeys and I was able to get a fantastic group for both trekking! Tour was so well organised and accommodation was fantastic! I am already looking at going again to do some of the other safaris which they do as loved every minute of this tour!

Thank you so much to Peter, and Big Apes Africa for the incredible service! I look forward to see you soon!

Sky   –  
Canada CA
Visited: May 2023 Reviewed: May 20, 2023

Email Sky  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic - helped me achieve one of my bucket list items and more
5/5

Big Apes was a fantastic selection for my gorilla trekking experience! The entire process was seamless thanks to Peter, from pickup to drop off to the gorillas to the beautiful Lake. Highlights of the trip that would only be possible thanks to this tour would be the seamless adventure to the trek, the food along the way, and both peaceful accommodations at the trekking site (which was very close to the trek starting point) and at the Lake.

Douglas M Scott   –  
Canada CA
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Dec 19, 2022

Email Douglas M Scott  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Lifetime Experience
5/5


The decision to travel with Biga Apes Africa is one I would do over and over.
I booked online and from the first email, I knew this was the company I was to travel with.
Perfect communication from their office and perfect organisation of the whole tour.
My guide made me feel at home and he knew literally everything from birds to the animals. I highly recommend Big Apes Africa without hesitation.

Edson Kananura   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2022

Email Edson Kananura  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

professional
5/5

*I highly recommend Big Apes Africa*
My trip to Uganda was well arranged without leaving a single detail. Our guide was friendly and knew many things. My experience was the best I could imagine. From the wildlife to the people and the food I had not tasted in a very long time.
During booking, my contact person Peter answered all the questions with a lot of patience.
I highly recommend Big Apes Africa for anyone planning to visit Uganda!

Callum lindsay   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 28, 2024

Email Callum lindsay  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing gorilla and chimp tour
5/5

Hi all, we went gorilla and chimp tracking with big apes Africa and it was amazing, from the start Peter was really helpful in planning and answering all my questions he also got back to me straight away every time. We was picked up by Sam the man are guide who was amazing, really nice guy and very knowledgeable, he was always going out of his way to show us animals while on the road and telling us parts of the history ect, the ride was a landcruiser very comfortable as it was a lot of driving between the national parks, accommodations were loverly as was all the food. I would highly recommend big apes Africa everything was arranged professionally and at a great coast aswell
We had an amazing times hanging with the gorillas and chimps one of the best experiences ever.

Alessandro   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Aug 25, 2023

Email Alessandro  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Gorilla, Chimpa and Golden Monkey Tracking
5/5

Big Apes Africa is a professional agency. The did a great job designing the tour accordingly to our expectations (both in terms of experience and budget). Roland was the best guide. He was supporting all our needs sharing his knowledge and providing valuable recommendations. We did Gorilla (Bwindi) , chimpanzee (karinzu) and golden monkey (Mgahinga) tracking. They were all amazing with a preference for Gorilla and Golden Monkey. We were a little bit unlucky with Chimpa. We saw 2 of them from distance and the track was quite short (just 2.5 hour). We started our Tour in Kigali and Peter made the transfer to Uganda during day one. We thought the first day would have been transfer only while Peter organized big surprises. We did a couple of stops in spot of interest including boating on the lake Bunyonyi on local canoe.

Szandra M   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 14, 2023

Email Szandra M  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very well organised and all we could wish for.
5/5

We did this tour with a group of 6 pax, starting from Kigali, Rwanda. Our tour guide Peter was already very communicative before the start of the tour and turned out to be an even nicer man in person. He was always on time, always atuned to our needs, and met all our wishes. When we had some hick ups due to our own groups lack of organisation, it was resolved quickly. Every single thing of our 3 day trip was organised in every small detail and extra wishes and changes were not a problem at all. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, we loved it.

Victoria M   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Aug 11, 2023

Email Victoria M  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Life-changing adventure, getting face to face with gorillas and exploring the gorgeous countryside
5/5

Just had the tour of a lifetime with Peter, our wonderful guide, and three of my friends. Cannot recommend Big Apes enough! Overall, the trip was a fantastic value and we got face to face with incredible wildlife including gorillas, golden monkeys, zebras, and impala. We also stayed at some very unique eco-lodges and tried some delicious local foods! Another highlight was just driving through the gorgeous Rwandan and Ugandan country-side.

From my first contact with Peter on Safari Bookings, he was very responsive and worked with us to tailor the trip itinerary. We had a super convenient and smooth pick-up from the airport and comfortable lodgings each night with the basic amenities (Wi-Fi, hot water, mosquito nets, comfortable beds). The restaurants we went to were also great and had options for local and Western cuisine. Some bonus experiences we had included trying some exotic fruits, swimming in a gorgeous lake, and visiting some local markets. Peter himself is also a highly knowledgeable guide who taught us a lot about the history and ecology of each country.

Federica and Shwetank   –  
Italy IT
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 16, 2023

Email Federica and Shwetank  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The best safari experience ever!!!❤
5/5

In June 2023 my husband and I finally went to Uganda! It was our dream to see the mountain gorillas so in March 2023 we started checking for some tour operators offering safaris in Uganda on safaribookings.com. The first one we contacted was Big Apes Africa. Since the first contact with Peter, we immediately liked his way of dealing with us: he was polite, honest, clear, and he never insisted or kind of forced us to book immediately, he was always telling us: take your time, choose what is best for you, no rush my friend, etc. We really appreciated him. Of course, we received also quotes from other tour operators, but we decided immediately to stick with Peter and the safari he planned and customised specifically for us to meet our needs (in terms of time, budget and experiences we wanted to make). We made the payment, everything went smoothly and in June we were finally in Uganda.
Our safari with Peter was simply amazing!

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 65
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Big Apes Africa, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Big Apes Africa are subject to their terms & conditions